A Quick Turnaround Tonight

September 2, 2009

We have tight schedule this week in the weather center, with two weather people leaving, one arriving, and several of us involved in the MDA Labor Day Telethon too.  Andy has a quick trip to the dentist tomorrow morning too, so I figure it’s time for me to do the A.M. shift.  I don’t think I’ve worked Good Day Oregon for about 3 years!  It involves getting up around 2:30-3:00am and then constantly being on TV and radio for 4.5 hours.  So tune in tomorrow morning and see if I look all puffy and tired.  Drew will work the late shows tonight so I can go home and get just a few hours of sleep. snapshot[2] Here’s a nice image showing why those Baja California hurricanes die so quickly offshore.  Notice the 80 degree sea surface isotherm only extends partway up the peninsula.  Hurricanes need 80 degree or warmer water to survive.  So any hurricane moving up the West Coast of Mexico dies before reaching California.  One Tropical Storm did make a direct hit on Long Beach in 1939.  Check out the Long Beach Tropical Storm at the link.  And back in 1858 a hurricane swung offshore just west of San Diego.

Chief Meteorologist – Mark Nelsen