Warmest September on Record In Portland

MarkMonth_September_Wrapup

September 2014 is going to be our warmest ever recorded in Portland.  The high temperature of 67 is in this afternoon and it sealed the deal as they say since we won’t have any more highs/lows to calculate before midnight.  This September just barely beats 1994 temperature-wise.  Add August, which was our warmest ever recorded too, and it’s been a heck of an ending to summer and early fall!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

15 Responses to Warmest September on Record In Portland

  1. orlottery says:

    I absolutely love this time of year here.. BUT, I’m sure ready for next summer, already. 🙂

  2. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    On this first day of the new water year I received .01″ in the rain gauge, after accumulating only 28.43″ in water year 2014. That’s 11.5″ less than I received in 2013. This year has certainly been warmer AND drier than normal.

  3. JERAT416 says:

    This isn’t a bad way to start October! Heat in the morning, and A/C (if I have to sit in traffic in the sunshine with my windows up) in the afternoon. Our real start to the rainy season will be here soon enough, so I say we can all enjoy the sun!

  4. W7ENK says:

    I thought this September was spectacular! Now Fall can arrive, thank you. ‘Tis the season for crisp cool evenings, cold foggy mornings, pumpkins, dried cornstalks and carpets of colored leaves blowing in the wind.

    FWIW, despite the handful of wet days I managed to maintain my 100% bicycle commute rate for the Bike Commute Challenge. I’m rather proud of that! 🙂

  5. schmit44 says:

    9/30/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:75 at AC7WN Hermiston( 497 ft) & ECHO(683 ft) & EW1140 Umatilla(364 ft) & JUNIPR(359 ft)
    Low: 59 at ECHO(683 ft) & BLALOK(277 ft) & BROOKS(187 ft) & John Day River B(305 ft) & RUFUS(185 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:36 at Timberline Lodge(7001 ft)
    Low: 25 at KIRK (4519 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 29 degrees
    CABIN LAKE (60/31 ) (4560 ft )
    KLAMATH NWR (57/28) (4531 ft)

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    1.42″ at DW9126 Brightwoo(1336ft)
    1.04″ at CW6318 Welches(1283ft)

  6. Next September, instead of having autumn leaves in the background images you should include images of ripened fruit trees. Save the foliage graphics for October!

  7. It’s been a great summer!! Hopefully this fall and winter aren’t too warm either.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      I have a feeling this will be a decent winter cold and snow wise. Weak el Nino or not things happen. I’m thinking this because of the high that has been with us for quite some time out in the pacific that keeps rolling over us and then retrograding a bit. In winter this kind of pattern can be money. So I think it bears watching.

  8. High Desert Mat says:

    First!! And a freeze warning for my area tonight.