Heat Wave Update: Monday Evening

9pm Monday

Today was the beginning of our heat wave, but at least it was just a “regular” hot day.  Temperatures moved into the lower 90s in the Willamette Valley:

Todays Observed Highs OrWa 2017

Forecast-wise nothing has changed the past 24 hours.  In fact our 7 Day forecast looks just the same as it did 24 hours ago for the next 3 days.

7 Day Forecast Graphic 2017

One change is temperatures remaining near/above 90 degrees through the weekend.  Models are much slower weakening the upper-level ridge hanging along the coastline this week.  As a result the cooler marine air will only slowly leak into the western valleys of Oregon and Washington.  This means we are in a stretch of as many as 8 days at/above 90.

Hot Headlines2

Here is our current forecast vs. records for each of the next 3 days.  The record highs for the first few days of August are pretty low hanging fruit as they say.  Easy records to break!

Mark Hot 3 Day PDX Forecast

By the way, here is a list of Portland’s 5 hottest days, notice we’ll have to get to 106 to make it into that list.

Mark PDX Record Hottest Days Ever 100.png

So hang on, we’re in for a hot ride tomorrow.  Models are in good agreement giving us 5-9 degrees of warming, which should put us into the upper 90s by 5-6pm.

One other note; there is quite a bit of smoke to our south and north plus northeast from fires in the region.

CODNEXLAB-GOES16-Visible-01-17Z-20170801_481-502-10-100

At this moment I don’t expect enough smoke over NW Oregon to have an effect on high temperatures.  But even just a thin veil of smoke any of the next 3 days COULD be enough to keep temperatures 1-2 degrees lower than forecast.  We’ll be watching that closely.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

21 Responses to Heat Wave Update: Monday Evening

  1. Herb Maxey says:

    I it is now 105 on our fence post in Hockinson

  2. Erika says:

    Can we just skip summer and go straight to fall already? Honestly I hate the summer and I hate even more this he, at wave, I am so ready for winter! At least you can add layers and stay warm, during summer you can only remove so many until it becomes illegal.

    • JERAT416 says:

      Other than this week , I say this summer is perfect. Pretty reasonable for the most part. I hate anything over 90 also but I’m glad this isn’t the South. As far as the clothing layers are concerned, it depends on where you are! Hehe 🙂

  3. Paul D says:

    I declare it an inferno out there. It is HOT – and this ain’t the worst of it yet.

    • Currently 79 here, max so far of 80 today. I don’t think the sea breezes are going to keep me from seeing 90’s on Thursday (and possibly tomorrow as well), however. I miss many things about Portland but the triple-digit heat waves are not among them.

  4. Roland Derksen says:

    Woke up this morning to a red sunrise. Lots of smoke in the air. This reminds me so much of early July 2015.

  5. With all this heat and dryness, the fire danger is going to be escalated from high to very high or extreme for pretty much all forest lands soon. I sure hope it doesn’t get to the point where the national forests get closed to the public (this sometimes happens if the danger gets high enough). Or for that matter simply a fire in the area that I’ve scoped out for camping. Would totally complicate my eclipse-viewing plans.

  6. Donaleen Kohn says:

    We have had heat like this before BUT have we had heat like this in the same year we had record cold? Our weather is getting wilder with greater swings.

  7. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    Starting off August at 52 degrees, not bad at all!

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      It was 67 out when I left my house at 6 am. Dis gus ting. I imagine Thursday and Friday mornings will be around 75 or us city slickers.

  8. Paul D says:

    This is by far the worst 7 day forecast I’ve ever seen for our area. It completely sucks. There’s just no redeeming value for triple digit temperatures. We can’t get back to normal soon enough!

  9. Salem was 95 today.

  10. Jason Hougak says:

    Here it is for all you hot weather people and it’s a tinderbox. I was in the high Cascades above Breitenbush Lake Sunday and had a beautiful day. I was scouting for a spot to view the eclipse. By the time I was headed down toward Forest Road 46 near SiSi Mountain lookout I noticed a smoke plume west of Jefferson. Too bad it’s happening there it is going to have a big impact on the eclipse. This week sure isn’t going to help and if easterly winds kick up it’ll take it right to Detroit Lake. I’m ready for a soaking RAIN!

    • lurkyloo says:

      I’m ready for a soaking rain too, Jason. And, to reiterate my comment yesterday, this forecast can kiss my backside!

    • Paul D says:

      I’ll add my backside in there too – kiss it you stupid temperatures 🙂

  11. W7ENK says:

    Wow, there are a lot of big fires in Western Montana! 😱

    Let’s hope Oregon and Washington don’t look like that by the weekend…

    • Currently there is extreme fire danger in Jackson and Josephine counties. I wouldn’t be surprised at all if the entire state, save for parts of the coast, also under extreme danger by mid-week.

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      Like a cold spell in the winter that often ends in freezing rain, T-storms in the Cascades might just rear their ugly heads to end this heat wave..
      Let’s hope not.

