Another Perfect Day

11pm Monday

For many of us this summer season has been just perfect.  Pete Ferryman even mentioned it’s the best summer he can remember recently.  I think there are 3 reasons for that.

  1. NOT MANY GRAY MORNINGS  We have seen very few gloomy marine layer days in the past month.
  2. COOL NIGHTTIME TEMPS  Wow, what a change from the last 5-6 summers!  This morning was another chilly one with lows down into the 40s in many parts of the metro area. Homes cool off quickly in the evening and air-conditioning is hardly needed.
  3. LACK OF EXTREMES In past 11 days…every single day has been between the lower 70s and mid 80s.  No showery 67 degree days, but no 90+ days either.

Look at the lows last night…as cold as 40 out in Colton, but low-mid 50s in the city

PDX Observed Low Today

This continues our summer theme; a real lack of “very warm” nights.  I doubt many of us are complaining

60 Degree Nights Portland

Those numbers are up through July 18th…remember how unbearable Summer 2015 was?  For sleeping this summer has been the best since 2011.  Little or no air-conditioning needed!

And of course our daytime highs have been quite reasonable since that brief hot spell back in late June

High Temp Last 13 Days

But what I’ve really noticed is the sunshine.  It seems like almost every morning I’ve been waking up to sunshine (or at least partly cloudy skies) since the 3rd week of June.  I don’t care if highs only make it into the low-mid 70s; a sunny start to a day really raises my mood!

I expect more of the same for the next week or two.  Other than a brief passage of a disturbance this Thursday, I don’t see a setup for rain showers.  Even then, the chance of getting measurable rain Thursday is looking quite low.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

 

18 Responses to Another Perfect Day

  1. oldwxwatcher says:

    Just wish we could bottle this summer weather and reuse it every year.

  2. Roland Derksen says:

    Yesterday was a bit too warm for me (82), but aside from that, this has been a near perfect July. Tomorrow could be a different story with showers in the forecast, but we need some moisture, so I’m not complaining.

  3. W7ENK says:

    I must say, these past couple of weeks have been absolutely perfect. Great for riding the bike to and from work in Downtown, not too chilly in the mornings, not uncomfortably warm in the afternoons.

    My garden is going bonkers right now. My tomato plants have never been so massive, I have an ungodly number of tomatoes coming on, all of them still green yet. I swear, I can actually watch my corn growing at this point. Beans are beaning, peas are still peaing, raspberries are about done raspberrying, garlic just keeps on garlicking… for over two years now, the greens just keep coming up. I’m letting some flower now. Blackberries are starting to blacken. It’s hard to keep up with the weeds though, they’re making a concerted run on my new soil. Thankfully, the grass seems to have gone dormant, so no more mowing until the rains return.

    Aside from a shot at a couple good thunderstorms, I really hope this pattern continues right through September!

    • ocpaul says:

      It has been a great summer for peppers too. That is always iffy for
      NW Oregon.. Our peppers are looking great! And my cannabis are over 6 feet right now.

  4. Jason Hougak says:

    Is it coincides that our summer is nice or could it be the sun is headed toward its solar minimum.

  5. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    Low of 47.9 this morning…my 10th day this month with a low in the 40s.

    Average low so far for July is 49.5, 1.3 degrees cooler than June.

  6. I imagine that by the end of the century, the temps we’ve had the past week or so will be perfectly normal for early October.

  7. John.Fairplay says:

    And it’s not been very dry in the mornings. Lots of dew which is surprising for July.

  8. Garron 1/3 of a mile from the Hillsboro airport says:

    Very interesting post during a dull weather period! I agree, the sunnier mornings make my mood much better than those that start on the grey side! I feel like there has been a decrease in AM cloudiness the last several summers’. Maybe that is just because of my location in East Hillsboro? (used to live in the hills of sw pdx) It just seems like there has been a decline in AM clouds herein the metro area in the last 20 years or so.

  9. JERAT416 says:

    Agreed on all points.

  10. Lee Wilson says:

    Ben making a killing of the sun..lol..but those 47 temps had us turn on a heater 🙂

  11. Donaleen Kohn says:

    My garden and I are very happy with this summer. This is what I call Portland summer weather.

  12. Paul D says:

    Looking forward to Thursday! Hopefully it stays below 75.

Leave a Comment

