Classic Spring Break Ahead: Cool Showers & Good Skiing

11pm Wednesday…

photo_cliffordpaguio

This is what it looked like in Salem today…what a beautiful pic!  This one (as you can see) is from Clifford Paguio.  I love the bright colors against the blue/gray sky; the pioneer man atop the capitol adds to it as well.

It’s pretty obvious now that Oregon’s Spring Break (begins Friday) will feature a cool-ish weather pattern with frequent weak systems giving us showers at times.  This doesn’t mean it’ll be soaking wet for the next 9 days but I think almost every day will have at least SOME showers.

The showery days are normal for late March,  but typically we see brief dry periods of 1-4 days mixed in with the showery days.  In fact in 2014, 2015, & 2016 March had above normal rain.  Yet each month had breaks in the rain.  This year we haven’t seen more than one dry day at a time.   Check out the rain stats:

JoeR_WetMarch

Add another inch or two the last 9 days of the month and that will give us a 6.50-7.00 inch March…another soaker!

Ski conditions do look good with this cool weather; I know Skibowl has their pond-skim coming up on Saturday and the weather looks just fine; snow showers and sunbreaks

MarkSkiWeekend_MtHood

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

15 Responses to Classic Spring Break Ahead: Cool Showers & Good Skiing

  1. sgtrock21 says:

    I just have a question concerning the current temperature display in the lower right corner. The temperatures have not changed for more than a week. I have been using McNary Field (KSLE). Display reads 48F for Salem with actual temp of 36F.

  2. Boring 550' says:

    It seems to me people get tired of cold anomalies quicker than warm ones! Took about 3 years for people to miss the snow and cold, and about 3 months for people to miss the warmth. Can’t say I’m any different.

  3. Boydo3 N. Albany says:

    Maybe, just maybe…

  4. Jason Hougak says:

    😆so funny
    My daughter…8… was eves dropping and read fox12 on my iPhone. She said Fox12… I asked what is that? She says they are the ones who tell you what’s going on and about the weather and when it’s going to snow and they’re never right!😆

  5. Jason Hougak says:

    Where is all the good attitudes for today weather fans… the sun was out and there was only 4 comments and none about how B-E-A-utifil it was. Bring on the mountain snow!

  6. Roland Derksen says:

    I can hardly wait for March to end!

  7. Jason Hougak says:

    This weather is the way Oregon was meant to be.., if y’all don’t like it then pack up and move south! I had baseball practice with my kids on Tuesday just as the Thunderstorms were coming in. It rained a bit before but the kids kept practicing. I think skiing for spring breaks sounds awesome.

  8. Lee Wilson says:

    Had some OK Solar to day hoping we get some nice sunny days…some time soon…all this rain is driving my family nuts.

    We would like to get to a park lol.

