Great American Solar Eclipse: 6 Months Ahead

We’re only 6 months away now from the most anticipated astronomical event of our generation in Oregon.  The total solar eclipse will soon be here; I hope you have a plan to see it.  It will NOT be visible in any cities listed on this map:

markeclipse_2017_a

It’s unlikely the idea that “I’ll just drive down to Madras or Salem for the day” is going to work.  I’m quite confident US 26 over Mt. Hood, US 97 through Central Oregon, or I-5 Eugene to Portland can NOT handle hundreds of thousands of people converging on the center of the state at once and then leaving a few hours later.  Picture that December 14th snowstorm traffic disaster in the metro area, but spread over half the state plus you should add a few hundred thousand cars from California and Washington.  Get the idea???  Most campgrounds and hotels have been booked for months/years within the path of totality.  I have a plan to start camping at a certain somewhat remote mountain lake (lakes) starting Wednesday, 5 days ahead of time.  We’ll see how that works since it’s first come-first serve at that campground.  If that doesn’t work, I have one more backup plan.

You need to be in the shaded area to at least have a brief glimpse of a totally covered sun at midday.  The closer to the center line you are, the longer the eclipse:

markeclipse_2017_1

 

markeclipse_2017_2

Here’s a great website https://www.greatamericaneclipse.com with even more detailed maps like this one:

tse2017_oregon

 

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

29 Responses to Great American Solar Eclipse: 6 Months Ahead

  1. Dave in South Salem (500') says:

    I’m thinking of renting my house for it. We are right near the best line and have unobstructed views of the sun part of the sky.

  2. Not made specific plans yet. I’m worried that if I do, wherever I choose to watch it from will be clouded out. I plan to dispersed camp somewhere near a good spot, then ride my bike to where I’ll do the actual viewing. That should let me escape parking issues.

  3. JohnD says:

    Definitely a few flakes mixed in while driving home from work. Won’t amount to,anything but nice to see–upper 30’s here now in inner SWPDX. Maybe something organized will transpire at some point amid the cool airmass over the next week or so. Enough to brush off a half inch of slush from the car or something at least!

  4. JJ78259 says:

    We may hit 90 degrees tomorrow first of the year it’s truly amazing how nice it is this week after four little twisters touching down about 10 miles from my house. It is usually nice weather after a Tornado!

  5. Joshua Downtown PDX says:

    Rod Hill is going with 1-4″ of snow on Friday. Not going to happen.

  6. Alohabb says:

    Really weird snow/hail mix falling in Hillsboro.

  7. runrain says:

    I have a lot in Madras on a hill with a great view. I wonder if the HOA will let me camp overnight on it – ha!

  8. HAWKEYES23 says:

    Will this be visible from the Portland area.

  9. Nathan says:

    I am SO excited for this event. It will quite literally be in my back yard, as the center line path of totality is only a few hundred feet from my house in Monmouth! This will be an amazing event, and the fact that it is right over the top of us makes it that much better

  10. Maybe it’s just me but I don’t get the hoopla. I know it’s a rare event and I know it’s sort of cool to watch for that two whole minutes but it’s just a shadow. I can definitely understand people going outside to see it as we will be but anything beyond just walking outside I don’t understand. If I didn’t live in the path I would be just fine seeing a replay of it on video.

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      I’ve seen two total eclipses and I can say that it’s incredible! Get the right viewing equipment and check out the sun at totality. Watch the shadow zoom toward you as it goes total. Truly amazing! I’m really happy to be in the path and have a big group coming to enjoy it together.

  11. Windsday says:

    Hopefully it won’t be 100+ weather everywhere.

  12. Yep, have everything mapped out now for the past 2 years. Remote is the key and don’t wait til the day of the event.

  13. I can tell you from experiencing the one on the morning of February 26th 1979 that it will be well worth your time and energy to pick out a spot and see it. Even though it was cloudy that day, it was still awe inspiring.

  14. Paul D says:

    I already have a room booked in Kadoka South Dakota the night before. When the eclipse hits I’ll be near North Platte Nebraska on I-80.

    It just happens that we planned to drive my oldest daughter to her college in Indiana this fall, and the eclipse is happening while we’re on the road and we’ll be right there in a prime viewing spot. 🙂

  15. Adam in SE says:

    I’m gonna go scouting for mid-elevation dispersed camping spots in June or July. I’m not saying where. 🙂

  16. …jkust waiting for the snow to melt so i can go scout my viewing spot up on Dooley Mt, south of Baker.. 🙂

  17. High Desert Mat says:

    I drive a commercial truck and was just told yesterday that commercial traffic will be stopped between Maypin and Lapine for the day. I usually start my route about 4am and was told I will be starting it 10pm the night before that day. Not looking forward to it. I may rent my house out for it though, any takers? Someone I know rented their house out in Madras to a person from Australia for 3 nights at $7500. Crazy people. Airbnb.com for those of you interested lol.

  18. dlrGardenHome says:

    With it being prime wildfire season throughout the area too, expect some unhappy evacuated campers somewhere. I figure every wide spot of 26 from Mt Hood to Vale will be filled to the brim. Hopefully all will practice tolerance.

  19. Anonymous says:

    I live in Aumsville which is 4 miles away, from the center line, and our high school, a Cascade is DIRECTLY IN THE CENTER LINE I can’t wai

  20. If I can JUST get from The Dalles to the fields west-southwest of Maupin, the evening before! Sleep in the Toyota and then get my eclipse glasses out in the morning….

  21. JERAT416 says:

    Well shoot, unless I’m at a different job by then, I’ll be working that day and not able to go down where I can see it. Funny I remember an at least partial solar eclipse back in the 90’s. At school, we used boxes with pinholes in them to watch it.

