Poll: Are We Done With Snow in Portland?

The past few days have definitely given the feeling that “the worst of winter is over”.  This happens every February in our mild climate; you’ve probably noticed this if you’ve lived here for awhile.

I can tell you that it’s extremely rare to get freezing rain in the Portland metro area after mid-February.  In fact during the 26 years I’ve been forecasting here in PDX, I’ve never seen freezing rain after Valentine’s Day anywhere in the metro area.  I have seen it maybe twice or three times in the western Gorge in early March, but even that is quite rare.  So we’re done with the ice threat in the lowlands west of the Cascades.

But snow?  What do you think…are we done with it in Portland this year?  Let’s vote:

I’ll give you my thoughts on possible snow the rest of the season on Wednesday.

images

39 Responses to Poll: Are We Done With Snow in Portland?

  1. Griffin Harrah says:

    I think we can still have snow here east of the Cascades. Here in Dufur we are getting a little freezing drizzle.

  2. Benjamin (West Salem) says:

    Tonight’s GFS says winter still has some snowy weather in store for us…. It’s in the unbelievable future, but still fun to see.

  3. JJ78259 says:

    Just sold 20 diesel driven flood control pumps for the Oroville Dam today made a brilliantly beautiful day in San Antonio even better. I find it funny the climate change experts are calling the California rain evidence. I was at the Oroville Dam in 1973 when it was overfilled at that point also. Maybe the Experts weren’t born yet at that time!!!

    • john.fairplay says:

      Congrats on the great sale. Good thing California government has been so incompetent over the years, making it necessary.

      One of the reasons the whole “climate change” meme has failed to convince a majority of the public is exactly what you state. No matter what happens – more rain, less rain, the same amount of rain in this instance – it is claimed as “evidence” of climate change.

      It is only our species’ arrogance that makes anyone believe what’s happening now has never happened before.

    • W7ENK says:

      Just FYI — Before 8am on February 11, 2017, Lake Oroville had never topped the emergency spillway. To say that “it was overfilled at that point also” in 1973 would not be a truthful statement.

      I just spent the last half hour searching Google trying to vet your claim, and I can’t.

    • ArcticHigh says:

      the assumption being made is that overfilled = emergency spillway being used. These are 2 separate things. The reservoir could have been overfilled in 1973 w/o requiring the emergency spillway.

      In fact – the emergency spillway was only needed this week because they slowed outflow from the main spillway because it was collapsing. No collapsing spillway in 1973, no need for emergency spillway.

      If you are doing historical research look for all the floods in the central valley in the 1800’s that were much worse than what is taking place now. … a little help, try 1862

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      John F
      Blaming the California Gov.? Hmmm…
      Though the project was conceived in the early post war days of the forties ( like so many other dam projects), I believe it was during Ronald Reagan’s watch when it was finally finished. And if you weren’t aware, there is a constant build up of silt in the pool behind ALL dams that eventually contributes to their ineffectiveness.
      Regardless of climate change or what Rush Limbaugh might have spewed, weather will have its way. Peace

  4. There could definitely be snow in the hills before the old man goes into hibernation, so I went with that option. I’m ready for days that consistently pass 60 F, and hoping for a dry, warm spring break.

  5. Weatherdudeincamas says:

    According to my research Feb 28 will be a snow day.

  6. Garron 1/3 of a mile from Hillsboro Airport says:

    “Most likely scenario” is B, maybe in the hills, lowlands may see splat test on windshield, nothing sticking. This winter, I’d say that we could see a night time quick stick in the lowlands, but I don’t see anything like that coming down the turn pike. I’ll actually say A, NO MORE METRO SNOW!

  7. Jake-(Gresham near Nadaka Nature Park) says:

    No week long event in my opinion will happen now. Mark as you’ve stated we’re on the back end of Winter. I do think we’ll see at least one messy snow day before we go into Spring weather. Far to much snowpack and cold ocean as others have notedly stated. The gorge looks more like the mountains and the mountains look more like the inside of a freezer.

    I’m actually quite curious what old man Winter could muster around this time with these conditions.

    PS: Very windy here in East county.

  8. Mokihana says:

    I have a photo of snow on our Flowering Quince bush in March…it was so pretty!

  9. GTS1K' says:

    Speaking for myself (said the ventriloquist) – I’m done with snow…

    …the question is – is snow done with me????

  10. W7ENK says:

    Another ICE STORM WARNING for the Gorge.

    https://inws.ncep.noaa.gov/a/a.php?i=9617156

    lol

    • Jake-(Gresham near Nadaka Nature Park) says:

      Yeah very gusty day today outside. Old man Winter isn’t done with us I feel for at least some fun down the road looking at the latest GFS (around Feb 21st). Right now, there’s kids outside playing basketball in t-shirts despite it, lol! This weather is mild now. 😛

  11. WEATHERDAN says:

    Crocuses, Daffodils, and Camellias are now in bloom. Our Winter of discontent is coming to an end. It was fun in December and January but now it’s time to think Spring. Spring training started today. Happy Valentines day one and all. Peace.

    • W7ENK says:

      That’s odd. It must be considerably warmer down there around your place in Salem than it is up here in Portland. Daphne hasn’t even bloomed yet, and that’s usually popping open right around the last days of January. Seems like everything is at least 2-3 weeks behind right now…

    • runrain says:

      Heading to spring training in March. Might even watch a couple of innings too!

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      No crocus or daffodils at my place. Some snow drops are blooming and the spring frog chorus has begun in earnest!

    • Windsday says:

      I also vouch for Weather Dan as we have had several highs in the 50s while Portland has remained cold thinking the whole state must be the same.

      Nope! Salem is usually a few degrees warmer then Portland in the day and a few degrees cooler at night in most cases.

    • WEATHERDAN says:

      It has been quite a bit warmer down here Eric. You have those cold East winds and 40-45 highs. While we have had more warmer South winds with highs in the 50.s. We are way behind last year but still a ways ahead of Portland. Or as Casey Stengel said you can look it up. Peace.

    • lurkyloo says:

      No squirrels around in my neighborhood — crows are scarce as well. I’m not thinking we’re done quite yet.

      BTW my Grandpa played for Casey Stengel when he coached the Oakland Oaks. So maybe I will look it up, Weatherdan!

  12. Roland Derksen says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised myself, if we saw at least another snowfall(measurable) here in the first week of March. It’s happened before several times.

    • Roland Derksen says:

      I’ve seen snow in April a few times over the years as well, and even once in May (2002). So I’m not counting it out yet.

  13. Mokihana says:

    I have photos of snow in March, 2012. So I think there’s a good chance we could get more of the lovely white stuff. I hope we do.

  14. W7ENK says:

    Seems “anything goes” has been a recurring theme this Winter. I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised if we got one more minor snow event (T-2″) around the end of this month, followed by a near-miss (or perhaps even another dusting) sometime before Spring Break…

  15. I doubt we’re fully out of the woods yet as far as snow and cold. We still have all that cold Canadian landmass just to our north to deal with, a chilly inversion and partially snow-covered Gorge, and at least a cool upper-level pattern coming in about 7 or 8 days. Also, ocean surface temps to our west now running significantly below average for the first time in several years?

    It seems unlikely that you’d make it from now through mid-March without some kind of wet marginal snow event showing up. Even if it’s just a dusting in the Portland West Hills and almost no sticking downtown. Whether it turns into something more significant, like a widespread 1-4″ in the lowlands? That’s where we get to roll the dice.

    And one last thing: don’t forget that a lot of our cold and snow outbreaks this winter were not modeled well in advance. I doubt we can suddenly expect the long-range maps to snap into clear focus, just because it’s after Valentine’s Day. This is a tough, tough pattern we’ve been in – and I doubt it will be over until about a month from now when the frigid airmasses to our north begin to disintegrate.

  16. Paul D says:

    I hope it does just so we can set another record!

  17. JJ78259 says:

    Nice thunderstorm rolling thru San Antonio this morning lots of quick hitting rain should be gone in an hour. We were getting kind of dry not much rain in a couple of months. Lots of lightning 2 inches of rain in about 3 hours

  18. michael hartless says:

    Mr weather man nelsen i just wanted to say that your awesome….i love weather alot and wish i could have been more involved with it…thank you for your awesome work you do a good job…..

  19. Brian Schmit says:

    I remember some ZR on March 1, 2014 east of I-205

    • Aleta-West Gresham says:

      I do as well. I have some pictures somewhere. If I remember right it wasn’t too bad but there was definitely ice on the cars and plants.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I knew about that one because I’ve never had as much tree damage as I did on March 1st that year. But I was thinking it didn’t extend down past Corbett. Apparently it did!

    • Aleta-West Gresham says:

      That one was interesting because depending where you were at the top half of the fir tree was frozen and the bottom wasn’t. Only time I’ve ever seen that!

    • Jake-(Gresham near Nadaka Nature Park) says:

      Aleta, your second comment brought the memory of that event back now. Yeah, I remember a few commenting on such occurrences.

      Here, all exposed surfaces were frozen with the exception of the sidewalks and roads. So a none event in regards to traffic and day to day activity but it was for sure weird from some. Did little to nothing to the trees too. That was an odd event indeed seeing the ice so late in the year.

  20. I wouldn’t be surprised to see a “low keyed” snow event, like maybe an inch or so. This season’s general pattern likes to repeat itself.

