Poll: Are We Done With Snow in Portland?

February 13, 2017

The past few days have definitely given the feeling that “the worst of winter is over”.  This happens every February in our mild climate; you’ve probably noticed this if you’ve lived here for awhile.

I can tell you that it’s extremely rare to get freezing rain in the Portland metro area after mid-February.  In fact during the 26 years I’ve been forecasting here in PDX, I’ve never seen freezing rain after Valentine’s Day anywhere in the metro area.  I have seen it maybe twice or three times in the western Gorge in early March, but even that is quite rare.  So we’re done with the ice threat in the lowlands west of the Cascades.

But snow?  What do you think…are we done with it in Portland this year?  Let’s vote:

I’ll give you my thoughts on possible snow the rest of the season on Wednesday.

images