Cold Temps = Icy AM Commute For Many

11pm Thursday…

Temperatures have cooled off quite a bit this evening and now we have that liquid rain coming in the next few hours.  It’s pretty obvious that we’re going to see some ice on roads in much of the metro area for the Friday AM commute.  That’s because temps have cooled off more than I expected.  Still, with temps only dropping to right around freezing overnight for much of the metro area, we should be able to get that ice off the roads relatively quickly midday with more rain arriving.

If you live east of I-205 near the Gorge of course the ice is going to be slower to melt, as we see in just about every freezing rain event.  The east wind will finally end tomorrow night and then a warming south wind pushes us above freezing Saturday.

marksnow_pdx_2periods

More tomorrow!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

17 Responses to Cold Temps = Icy AM Commute For Many

  1. Garron 1/3 of a mile from Hillsboro Airport says:

    OK, I know I am dreaming when I hear talk of a foot of snow for sometime Sunday evening, and nothing sticking below 1000′ is forecast. If I am dreaming, please don’t wake me until I can play in the dreamy foot + I am hearing about for this weekend! Soooo, what is going on?

  2. marinersfan85 says:

    Still no mention on sunday!

  3. JJ78259 says:

    Sure seems like a dead summer blog in winter even with frozen precipitation. Schools are closed again. Everyone must be having fun with the kiddo’s.

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      This “event” is boring. No snow. .1″ of ice overnight that will thaw shortly or already has. Nothing to really get worked up about.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Still 30 degrees 10 miles SE of Salem

  5. Erin Lee says:

    We are at 27deg in Mt. Park. Everything is encased in ice. Weather app says no wind, but there is. Not sure how strong, but that makes a scary combo when you live amongst trees!
    LO is 2 hour delay, but I doubt our road will be clear by then. 😢

  6. John says:

    close in east Portland – roads and sidewalks iced over, thinly but enough to make walking tricky. haven’t managed to de ice my car yet. cars are driving out there but slowly. 30 car crash on I5 earlier.

    • JJ78259 says:

      30 car crash wow the Portland Body shops most likely booked till summer they are loving this winter weather! Winter is just half over!!!!

  7. 32 degrees and sleet mixed with a few snowflakes here. Been sleeting off and on since about 4AM. Ground is dusted white, streets vary from slushy to wet.

  8. JJ78259 says:

    KGW live feed showing all the salted highways are drivable. Sand and salt doing its job but that mixture sure get cars nasty dirty quickly! Car washes will be busy.

  9. Man…it’s 5:28 am…on NE 63rd & Glisan…a sheet of ice, and slightly wet over the top of it…I gave up on even taking out my recycling!

  10. GTS1K' says:

    Power out at 4:30,. Too icy to walk on my gravel paths. 26.6 and still windy as all get out. Generator serenade for a while, methinks…

  11. Jake-(Gresham near Nadaka Nature Park) says:

    Yeah we’re in for it. Getting some homework done while I still got power! 😛

  12. JJ78259 says:

    I see lots of Pink over Portland Ice Ice Baby

  13. TAG69 says:

    Hey Mark, what’s your suggestion for East county school districts. Will a late start be enough or a full cancel?

  14. Joe says:

    I notice you only say above freezing saturday😉

  15. Longview 400 ft says:

    Currently 32.4

