Winter Weather Conference This Saturday

I’m looking forward to seeing some of you again this Saturday morning for the 24th Annual Winter Weather Forecast Conference at OMSI.  That’s Saturday October 22nd at 10AM. I am part of the Oregon AMS board so I was involved in the planning again this year.

We are proud to have several forecasters joining us again this year. NEW — we will be raffling off a $250 voucher for accommodations at the Tolovana Inn Resort in Cannon Beach, along with the usual Davis Weather station raffle (it’s sitting in my garage right now). Storm season is coming! We want one lucky person to have a front row seat at the coast!

 

Please make sure you spread the word and arrive early to ensure the best seating possible. More than 300 people are expected at this meeting. All ages are welcome. Free admission and free parking for all guests.

What: 24th annual Winter Weather Forecast Conference

When: Saturday, October 22nd 2016 @ 10 AM.

Where: Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI), main auditorium, 1945 S.E. Water Ave. in Portland.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

28 Responses to Winter Weather Conference This Saturday

  1. Scooter says:

    Hope you all enjoyed the beautiful dry calm day, even the usual chronic complainers, chronic wish casters, and all of the rest of the chronically hopeful snow in the Cascades folks .

  2. JohnD says:

    Is the blog down? ‘Can’t believe there are no comments since the OMSI conference. I wasn’t able to make it this year–although I usually do. Would anyone be willing to summarize the winter forecasts by the various presenters?
    Thanks.

    • Mountain Man says:

      The video should be posted soon on the AMS blog page. It just usually takes them a few days. I’m waiting for it too.

  3. Paul D says:

    Some “dry” just started dropping from the sky in Hillsboro.

  4. W7ENK says:

    Happy Friday, folks!

    I’m so glad this God forsaken week is done and over with…

    Sorry I won’t make it to this year’s Winter Weather Meeting. I have something more important to take care of.

    Enjoy the weekend!

  5. WEATHERDAN says:

    I will be there as I always am. Hope to see Pete Parsons there as well. He has a wild forecast for us this Winter. Sunny and 64 this afternoon. 9.05 inches of rain so far this month. Another 2.13 and we will break the monthly record set in 1947. Peace.

  6. JJ78259 says:

    Glorious weekend at the race track in Austin for F1 USA Grand Prix shaping up! Low 80’s barely out of the weather Dan weather range, the next 10 days look the same.

  7. Jason Hougak says:

    Big arctic outbreak going to hit PNW in January

  8. 6.60 inches of precipitation here at my place in Vancouver,BC up to last night, and another day of showers on tap today. (I think I heard hail briefly early this morning). This October will probably end up being one of the wettest- maybe 4th or 5th on my list.

  9. This storm is shaping up to be another real soaker for me. 1.49″ since yesterday evening.

    (And I wish WordPress would fix the bug they introduced a few months ago. Before then, this site would consistently remember my ID. Now it consistently forgets it and makes my posts anonymous.)

  10. Anonymous says:

    This storm is shaping up to be another real soaker for me. 1.49″ since yesterday evening.

  11. pappoose in scappoose says:

    U.S. Winter Outlook predicts warmer, drier South and cooler, wetter North

    http://www.noaa.gov/media-release/us-winter-outlook-predicts-warmer-drier-south-and-cooler-wetter-north

  12. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    Can’t wait to see everyone there! I’ll be there like normal, peddling my calendars!

  13. GEO says:

    I WANNA WIN!

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Last time I went I won’t he Davis vantage vue. 3 years ago I think. Anyways I’m hoping to make it there but living in Redmond and having a two year old make it hard. Plus I’m hitting up Vegas next week and not sure if I can get two weekends in a row away.

      Funny how you said “some of you” Mark. Which ones of us aren’t you looking forward to seeing. Lol

