Wettest Start To October

11pm Monday…

You are living through the wettest October we’ve seen so far…Both in Portland and Salem we’ve never seen a wetter first 17 days of the month.  Here in Portland we’re heading toward 6″ this evening:

markrainrecordoctober

The end of October record, the wettest month we’ve ever seen, is just over 8″ set in 1994, so were only 2″ away from that.

But that’s nothing compared to the wetter parts of the region.  Check out some other westside locations.:

plot_rain_7days_not-automated_fromcsv

and Coast Range…yes, that’s a foot of rain in just the past 7 days up there!

plot_rain_7days_not-automated_fromcsv1

But wait!  There’s more.  The biggest numbers are up in the usual spot just southwest of Mt. St. Helens…over a foot in a half in just a week!

plot_rain_7days_not-automated_fromcsv2

Apparently models weren’t crazy looking for 10″ or more in just 3 days.  There’s a good reason a lot of moss grows on the west slopes of the Cascades, no wonder trees grow so well here!

The rain lightens up quite a bit the next week compared to the past one, but it still looks wet off and on.  I wouldn’t be surprised if another 1-3″ falls by next Tuesday.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

27 Responses to Wettest Start To October

  1. Joshua Downtown PDX says:

    Crazy to think we are only running .2 degrees below average for October with all the grey and rain. Cool days and warm nights. I am excited for some real crisp weather. 40s for highs and 30s for lows.

  2. Lee Wilson says:

    “Bad News: Portland’s weather surveillance radar run by the National Weather Service is down for at least the next 5 days after a major failure. That means very little coverage over the metro area and pretty much no coverage for Eugene and Salem. Your weather app may show no rain over you for that reason. Here’s the note from the NWS folks. All Portland TV stations use the same radar.”

    What caused the major “Failure”?

  3. Lee Wilson says:

    I have a video that you simply won’t believe that occurred in my home area .
    It was a real show stopper.
    Mark, what can you make of this?

    yesterday at or around 2:30

    • That’s actually not all that unusual a hail storm. It’s just that this area doesn’t get much hail, so we’re not used to it. I saw far more severe hail storms when I lived in the Rockies. Trees (including conifers) defoliated, accumulations so deep the roads had to be plowed, golf ball to baseball sized stones, broken windows, damaged roofs, etc.)

    • The first time I went to Texas I saw repair shops specifically for hail damaged vehicles. Then I learned why, the day before I left a storm passed through that put a nice fracture in the rental cars windshield, not to mention the dents on the hood and roof. Fun times.

  4. JJ78259 says:

    Nice warm 81 degrees out in San Antonio at 9:30 tonight the Weather Dan Weather still is kicking!

  5. Walt H. says:

    I’m about a mile from the Hillsboro airport in SE Hillsboro and my 7 day total was 4.62″ as opposed to the airport’s 3.49″ reported here. I’ve checked my Davis station with a manual gauge right next to it an it’s right on. Hard to believe the airport would get so much less in this type of rain event.

  6. Jason Hougak says:

    I see us snow lovers have awakened from hybernation😆

  7. Boydo3 N. Albany says:

    Over 8-1/2″ of precip so far this month in Albany

  8. Jason Hougak says:

    Snow keeps piling up at Timberline. Closing in on a foot. Bring on winter!!! Keep the cool moist weather coming. La Niña is back😀

    • JJ78259 says:

      Looking forward to all the snow we have a week booked in Sun River this January for a ski Vacation! Keep the constant rain coming!

    • chris s says:

      Snow down to below 4000ft at Santiam Junction web cam, not to shabby considering still saying snow level was at 5500ft this morning on the news! oops. Bring it On!!!!!! 🙂

    • JJ78259 says:

      Jason the web has a lot of articles now about the returning La Niña you are so correct I guess the blob lost out !! 350 inches of snow at Timberline? ⛷

    • Nathan Place says:

      La nothing for pdx this winter, lets just hope the mountain’s get hammered.

    • JERAT416 says:

      Jason, we are on the same page for sure! I want there to be historic record snowfall in the mountains! I want 100 feet on the ground at Timberline by April1st! I want there to be 10 feet still by Labor Day at SkiBowl so they can’t open the Alpine Slide! I want a repeat of those old pictures of people Skiing over Timberline lodge. I want Mt. Baker to quadruple the snow record! I don’t care if we have any here though. Bring on winter!

  9. I’ve measured 5.53 inches for the month up to last night (if memory serves me correctly). That’s definetly wetter than normal for me, but I’ve got quite a way to go yet to beat my all time wettest October on record: 12.60 inches in 1975.

  10. Lynn says:

    Whoooo hooooo. Let’s here it!! I LOVE the rain! I hope we have more rain to come and SNOW in December/January. 🙂

    • JJ78259 says:

      Looks like you will get your wish granted! Could be a real wet season coming. A little moss adds character!

  11. Aleta- West Gresham says:

    Thanks Mark!! It’s certainly been a crazy month! I was in Wilsonville when the thunderstorm hit this afternoon. It went right over my clients place. Quite the show!! I do love a good thunderstorm!

    • Lynn says:

      I love thunderstorms too! It’s wonderful seeing a comment from a fellow storm lover! 🙂

    • Mike Hinnant says:

      If you like thunderstorms go to Tampa in the summer…lightning capital of the U.S. Thunderstorms happen there every afternoon. Yesterdays “thunderstorm” was nothing compared to what I use to see back home….but it was nice to see.

    • Aleta-West Gresham says:

      We actually went to Florida several years ago. It was amazing how every day at almost the exact same time the thunderstorms would start up!

    • Mike Hinnant says:

      yep…4pm everday.

    • runrain says:

      And seemingly out of nowhere.

