Final Storm Update: Looking Slightly Weaker

11pm Friday…

It’s been a crazy day with tornadoes, flooding, and even a crack in the ground from lightning!  This from Timothy Dearden in Trout Lake

photo_timothydearden

All 00z (evening) models are now in and they are all slightly weaker (again) with windspeeds both at the coast and inland.

As a result I’ve lowered the forecast slightly:

  • Still a huge storm at the coast
  • Not quite as windy in the valleys
  • Still enough wind to bring us lots of outages and a few trees down in the metro area

Here’s my final “pre-storm” forecast, we’ll see how it verifies by Saturday midday/afternoon:

Stay safe tomorrow!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

36 Responses to Final Storm Update: Looking Slightly Weaker

  1. Jon says:

    Wind picked up in an instant just now in inner SE

  2. SortingHat says:

    Thanks sprayers!

  3. Looks like the only thing this storm knocked out was the NWS web site. “Could not connect : Too many connections”

  4. Dave_in_Troutdale says:

    BUST!

  5. Scooter says:

    A leaf just fell of my maple tree, oh now I see it was just a squirrel collecting seeds. Oh well maybe later…….

  6. flurball says:

    pressure should start rising soon. I’ve barely hit the low point on my baro that I had on Thursday nights “storm”.

  7. Andy says:

    Wind picking up here in Jefferson, Or…

  8. Good wind in Silverton Hills area.

  9. Jason Hougak says:

    Picking up a steady SW wind here 20-30 with higher gusts in the foothills during the past hour.

  10. Tom says:

    Last post yesterday… Were do I go to get up to the minute or at least hour reports on what is supposedly “biggest storm since…”? I guess it isn’t that big a deal?

  11. runrain says:

    Almost noon, and no wind yet on the Oregon coast. It was supposed to start there around 10 AM this morning. Looking at the satellite, it almost appears that the storm is stretching. I don’t think that would be a good thing for strong winds.

  12. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    As much as I joke about the storm and how I don’t think it’s going to be anything super major…

    …I’ve looked outside of my window about 20 times in the last 30 minutes and have yet to see even a single leaf move in the wind. Talk about the calm before the storm. Seriously, it’s kinda creeping me out.

  13. W7ENK says:

    If this low continues with this rapid bombogenesis at present rate, it’ll be sub-960 by 2pm…

    Just sayin’

  14. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    According to people I’ve heard on Facebook, this is going to be the next Columbus Day Storm. I’m hunkering down, telling everyone that I can on my social media to watch out for the worst storm in over 50 years and be ready for the storm of the century.

    I mean, others have told me it’s going to be Columbus Day Storm 2.0… And it’s on Facebook and Twitter. If it’s a fact on social media, it HAS to happen. So 110mph wind gust in Portland or bust!

    • Mark says:

      No, it will not. At least for those inland. Coast? mid-northern coast, yes, it will be a big one. But for the valley, this is just too far off shore, will be too north and didn’t develop as it “could have” for a Columbus Day event. Still, it’s during daylight hours, so most of the heavy winds will give us visual effects, which provided no one gets hurt, should be pretty fun, as it relates to weather.

    • marinersfan85 says:

      I thought the sarcasm was laid on pretty thick by EY.

      It’s a joke, Mark

    • EY (Oak Grove) says:

      Yeah, I was being insanely sarcastic. But doing it via text so tone wouldn’t be easily considered.

      I said what I said because I’ve been getting a TON of people saying “OMG! 150 MPH GUSTS?!?!” And losing their minds over this and when I say “Nope, not going to happen. It’s not going to be another Columbus Day Storm” they just go “That’s what I heard is going to happen” and it bugs me.

      On the opposite end, I’ve seen too many people calling this a bust way beforehand and that bugs me ALMOST as much.

      It’ll be between a bust and a Columbus Day Storm. Have fun with that forecast!

    • marinersfan85 says:

      The sarcasm was very obvious to me.

    • JJ78259 says:

      Great gutter cleaning weather coming up by the end of the week! I just cleaned up my yard from some of the fall leaves. We have a warm gulf breeze coming in about 85 degrees out, time to cool off in a mid October pool dip after a fall clean up!

  15. Joshua Downtown PDX says:

    For once, I a hope the weather doesn’t get too extreme today. I’m getting married. The rain is good luck. The wind is just annoying.

    • Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

      Congratulations, Joshua! I’m sure it will be a memorable day for you for all the right reasons.

    • EY (Oak Grove) says:

      Congratulations! I really lucked out for my October wedding several years back. I wish you and your’s the best of luck and hopefully we’ll be rainy, a little gusty, and you two will be set. ^_^

    • Mark says:

      Congratulations! Just consider the wind a good thing – as it will give you Bride that wind-blown look (just imagine it in slow-motion, that’s all)! Again, congrats.

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      Thank you all for the well-wishes!

    • Diana F. says:

      aw that is SO Awesome! At least you’ll never forget your anniversary

      Congratulations and here’s wishing you a NON-stormy life!
      😜🌪🌬

  16. Track looks almost perfect to make big winds up here to your north (Seattle area). Thankfully I’m pretty well-put to ride out a long outage.

    0.43″ overnight. About 3 inches in the past 48 hours. Woods should now be nice and wet for promoting mushroom growth.

  17. Scooter says:

    Well, here it is the “Big Storm Event” of 2016 and hoping all of you who need a big wind event get one and not your neighbors.

  18. Jason Hougak says:

    Snowing with accumulation at Timberline. What a crazy week with just about every weather event thrown at the PNW. Water vapor imagery over the Pacific Ocean looks like a giant conveyer belt wrapping from the tropics around Hawaii North to the Jet Stream back west to the PNW. Nice calm before the storm right now. Get your extra gas and have the chainsaws and generators ready.

  19. Anonymous says:

    But for my neck of the woods (Seattle area) the forecast track is near-perfect for maximizing winds. Looks like a repeat of the Hanukah Eve or Inauguration Day storms is on its way. I’m all but certain to lose power, but thankfully pretty well-put to get along without for a day or two.

  20. JJ78259 says:

    All this ANTI Weather Dan Weather and it is not even November!

  21. SortingHat says:

    I told the storm that it shall not pass. 🙂

  22. runrain says:

    Nothing to see here, folks. Move on along. Actually, I knew it was a bust when we stopped getting updates from Rob and Paul…

  23. kyle says:

    Bust is what I was thinking… Went to the east side to go hunting

