Portland TV Weathercasters: A Mini-Wiki

I’ve spent some time over the past 2 years putting together a listing of all the TV weathercasters we’ve seen in this market over the years.  About a year ago I showed you my work so far.  But just this evening I’ve added a few names, updated a couple of folks that are no longer doing TV weather, and cleaned it up a little in general.

I’ve added the length of the Portland TV career for those that made it to 20 years.  It takes some real stamina, flexibility and likability to make it 20 years in any television weather forecasting job.

A few notes:

  • Jack Capell was the undisputed king, lasting 44 years at KGW!
  • Jim Little was the only one (that I’m aware of) of the “20+ year club” to make it to 3 different stations.  Another 3 years and you’ll join him Rod!
  • I’ve only included those that have/had some sort of regular weather shift, not free-lancers or occasional fill-ins.  There must be another 50 of those spread out over the years.  No insult intended if you are one of those folks.
  • The pre-1980 years get a bit more sketchy, probably quite a few missing names there.
  • Please let me know if you are aware of any errors in these charts.  Either via email or in the comments.

Click on each image for a larger view:

41 Responses to Portland TV Weathercasters: A Mini-Wiki

  1. braniff1 says:

    There was a gal at KOIN named Tauna Lang (Lange?) that did the noon weather. I think early 70’s? I was a kid, so I’m not sure! The reason I remember this is because she forecasted hardly any snow and the next morning we had about 4″ in Washougal! It covered everything and was awesome! I think it was KOIN because the anchor was Frank Kinkaid. Pretty sure he worked there?

  2. cliff watkins says:

    A few sprinkles in central Oregon Tue afternoon as forecast by some 06Z models.

  3. cliff watkins says:

    We had a few drops of rain near Redmond, Or this Tue afternoon. One of the 06Z model runs predicted a sprinkle at this time….well done!

  4. SR says:

    This is a great tribute to your many colleagues. For all of us weather geeks, many are very fondly remembered.

    I even remember your very first broadcast on KOIN way back– my wife and I started calling you “Doogie” since you looked so young, and I still call you that (even though you’re only a couple years younger than I am).

    As for the late,truly great Jack Capell, for those who haven’t heard it, head over to PDX Radio history at http://www.pdxradio.com/pdxhist.htm and scroll down to Archive #7 to listen to their Columbus Day Storm broadcast. VLC player works for the links, since Real Audio is pretty rare these days.

    Thanks Mark!

  5. Karol Pulver says:

    could someone please give me an idea of what we might expect weather to be in December and into January 2017

  6. Josh "The Snowman" from Gladstone,OR says:

    Spring chicken?? More like and old rooster. He reminds me of that creepy uncle you wish didn’t have knees.

  7. Gene says:

    Great fun seeing that updated list. Still amazing to think of Jack Capell’s 44-year run at one station, almost unheard of in this era of ever-changing TV News Personalities — especially considering he did many years of forecasts in a wheelchair, with very little use of his body due to a debilitating disease. My dad worked with him in his first two decades at KGW and said he was the nicest on-air person he had ever worked with. So he was a really good guy in addition to being the best weatherman in the business.

    • cliff watkins says:

      I worked with Jack Capell at the PDX Weather Bureau in 1948 and later and spent time with him on weather items over the years.. He was one of the best persons I met in a lifetime. Nice to have been his friend all those years. Cliff Watkins

  8. oldwxwatcher says:

    You know you’re ancient when you can remember seeing all the folks on Mark’s charts.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      One day in the future we’ll all be saying,”Remember Mark Nelsen? He was one of the better tv mets in his era, kind of like Jack Capell, but not as nice”. Jk Mark. You’ll make your mark as well. You’re no spring chicken either. Lol

  9. Mark Nelsen says:

    I just added two at KOIN. How I forgot Kristen over there I don’t know. But Claire Anderson was added as well.

  10. W7ENK says:

    The one thing that stands out most in my mind when taking a look back at this past Summer: A severe lack of thunderstorms. As in, like, none. I don’t think monsoonal moisture every made it up this way, not even once. Plenty of opportunity with multiple ULLs and storms on the East side, but no SSE flow aloft to slide them off the Cascade foothills and up the valley… nothing. Zip, zero, nada!

    Such a disappointment!

    • WEATHERDAN says:

      Was thinking the same thing. Not only in the valley but over the crest of the Cascades as well. Very little to talk about this Summer. A few ull,s in July otherwise very quiet. Maybe this Winter will make up for it. Peace.

    • Benjamin (West Salem) says:

      Yeah, both west and east of the Cascades had a lack of storms. Kinda sad. 😦

    • Jim says:

      Sad? No storms mean no lightning and no fires started. Keep it in perspective

    • jim emig says:

      No storms mean no lightning and no fires. How is that sad?

    • W7ENK says:

      Yes, I find the lack of exciting and interesting weather sad.

      Wildfires are good for keeping our forests healthy, it’s part of the natural cycle.

      Please, don’t disrespect my perspective, as it is shared by many on this forum.

  11. Foggy conditions up here at this time- I’m surprised actually how foggy it is, as we just had light showers (0.04 inches) yesterday. More typically, this kind of fog comes after a heavy day long rain.

  12. Great charts and even greater research Mark! Bringing back many memories!

  13. JohnD says:

    Thanks for the input Mark. Fun stuff. I remember the godfather Bob Lynott when I was a little kid. Always hoping he would use the “S” word–which he often did in winter. And after a sleepless night, typically no snow was to be seen. No one was more adept at the use of a grease pencil than he!

    And Jack, truly a saint.

    I know you rendered not so long ago a summary of the various criteria for the title “meteorologist”–which I printed and saved. Many of your one time peers have migrated on. Many in search of career fortunes–superseding meteorology per se.

    Thanks again.

  14. Anonymous says:

    How about a Southern Oregon tally?

  15. W7ENK says:

    Show’s over, folks…

    NCEP 6-10 Day Outlook

    Temperatures

    Precipitation

    Time to pack it up and head back inside for the next 8-9 months…

    • W7ENK says:

      NCEP 8-14 Day Outlook

      Temperatures

      Precipitation

      RIP Summer 2016…

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      Weekend CPC maps aren’t smoothed by humans, right?
      I’m willing to bet that that these maps will warm up and dry out once our people in the know check em out. Maybe a few cooler days later this week and then it warms back up to average or above. Thinking that summer returns for most of Sept…
      I’m not pulling my tomatoes just yet 😉

    • JJ78259 says:

      Right on time!

    • No — time to grab the mushroom basket and head outdoors.

    • MasterNate says:

      LOVE IT!! Early fall perhaps. My favorite time of the year. This was a great summer. Average in my book. A little something for everyone except very few donkeys.

    • Paul D says:

      It’s time to get outside and enjoy not being cooked!

    • W7ENK says:

      I wasn’t “cooked.” I’m still alive and well, are you still alive and well? You seem to be doing just fine, you’re still able to whine, so I take it you weren’t “cooked,” either.

  16. W7ENK says:

    Interesting research, Mark!

  17. scott says:

    I grew up listening to Jim little. loved him!

  18. Hi Mark
    You should also consider Univision Portland .
    We are the only Spanish Newscast in Pirtland/Metro

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      That’s really interesting, I wasn’t aware there was a Spanish newscast in the metro area. Is the weather done out of Seattle or does someone locally do it?

