Heat Wave #2 Later This Week

11pm Sunday…

It has been a hot and sometimes sweaty 4 days!   Check out the PDX numbers:

PLOT_Highs_Metro

MarkTemps_6Days_September

At McMinnville, Troutdale, and pretty much all of the Willamette Valley it has been 4 days at/above 90.  Whew…time for a cooldown.  Sure enough, we are finally getting drier air/lower dewpoints along with a weak marine push this evening.  That should drop the valley temperatures a good 8-10 degrees tomorrow keeping high temperatures below 90.

The bad news is that we have another heat wave on the way later this week.  This one is a little different because it’s brought on by a bit more of a “fall pattern”.  A cool shot of air drops into Montana; that’s high pressure to our east Thursday and Friday.  Then we get easterly wind over the Cascades and through the Gorge.  Not a strong wind like mid-fall but enough to push our temperatures way up.  Right now it looks to me that we’ll see high temps in the 95-100 degree range both Thursday/Friday.

So much for a “cool” summer (which wasn’t cool anyway); it appears August is going to end up very warm.  As of now we’ve seen 8 days at/above 90 in Portland, and we have at least 3-4 more.

Mark_90DegreeSummerDays

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

 

35 Responses to Heat Wave #2 Later This Week

  1. W7ENK says:

    EXCESSIVE HEAT WATCH
    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PORTLAND OR
    204 PM PDT TUE AUG 16 2016

    https://inws.ncep.noaa.gov/a/a.php?i=5534772

    FIRE WEATHER WATCH
    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PORTLAND OR
    204 PM PDT TUE AUG 16 2016

    https://inws.ncep.noaa.gov/a/a.php?i=5535387

  2. My mean temperature for August 2016 (from the 1st to 15th) was 66.8F. That was 1.9F less than the same period for last year, but the month is just half over. It’ll be intresting to see how close these figures will be at the end of the month.

  3. Garron 1/3 of a mile from Hillsboro Airport says:

    That 92 D/F record (8/18) was made to be broken! I still believe we’re going to get a prolonged warm spell through September. We were overdue for warm spring weather and the last two have been warm. But, I believe we’re also overdue for a warm start to fall…

  4. Today and yesterday were both 78 for a max here, still about 5 degrees above normal for me. The most recent hot spell maxed out at 84, which is about what the next one is forecast to peak at. Hottest day of the year remains the 87 I recorded in early June.

    I have seen hot spells as late as late September, so there’s still plenty of time for hot weather to happen, and the August/September/October outlook is for above normal temperatures.

  5. Paul D says:

    Right on queue. I roll back into town and the heat wave hits. I’m sick of it.

    Go away hot weather!

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      I have family coming in town on Thursday and leaving on Sunday. Talk about bad timing. When they asked what the weather would be like a few months ago, I jokingly said it would be between 60 and 100 degrees. Joke’s on all of us since it might actually be over 100 degrees. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.

    • JJ78259 says:

      In Pheonix this week 109 to 111 on the car temp 85 for a low very pleasant! Weather Dan Weather enjoy it while you have it. Time to head to the river and drink some Cold Beer for Sandy Crew!

    • Gene says:

      Go away hot weather? This is summer — and in the summer, you get hot weather, just like in the winter, you get cold and rain

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      Seeing as how we are very likely going to break the record daily high temperature three straight days this week, I don’t think we can just chalk this up to “this is summer”. By nature of the all-time records, it is the definition of unprecedented for these specific days. So, us hot weather haters are naturally a bit cranky. We’ll survive. The average daily temperatures are already dropping. The days are getting shorter and shorter. Cool weather is inevitably lurking on the horizon no matter how hot it gets.

    • W7ENK says:

      Right on queue. You roll back into town and your whining returns. I’m sick of it.

      QUIT WHINING!

      And there’s absolutely nothing “unprecedented” about 100 degree weather in August, GTFO…

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      If it wasn’t unprecedented, then it wouldn’t be the all time record daily high. 3 days in a row. Possibly 4. Yes, it can and does hit 100 in August, but guess what… it never has from August 18th – August 22nd in 75 years of recorded history. Look up the word unprecedented. I think we have a match.

    • W7ENK says:

      No, I think you’re blowing said “all time record high temperatures in forevar and evar and EVAR!” way out of proportion. We’re only talking about a couple of degrees here — for the most part.

      When we hit 100 degrees in November thru March, then we can talk about how “unprecedented” it is. Until then, let’s just stick with it’s August, it gets hot in August, it sometimes get over 100 degrees hot in August, so either deal with the hot August weather as it comes, or GTFO.

      Stop being ridiculous.

    • Paul, maybe if you say the reverse, the hot weather will leave… 🙂

    • Paul D says:

      Bring on the hot weather! I love it! Hopefully it tops 100 four days in a row!

      I’ll be outside soaking it up every second of every day! Woo-hoo!

    • jim emig says:

      GTFO? Sheesh Eric calm down

    • jim emig says:

      GTFO? You should be banned!

    • Okay, Paul. Take it easy.. Look, I’ve seen this sort of thing happen to me before as well. I’ll bet in the future, things will eventually balance out for you. One day you’ll say, ‘every time I leave, the weather heats up!”

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Jimmy this isn’t church. GTFO!!! You’re one of “those” people aren’t ya? Complain about everything and get tv shows like Chappelles show or Married with Children on the rated “r” list. Get real. I’m really sick of having everything I watch or do be judged or be sensored. Be an adult.

    • JERAT416 says:

      We hit 100 in early June, which was about 2 weeks before the summer equinox. It takes a bit more east wind to get us to triple digits by now and later than it does in July.

      Sometimes Summer is a bit odd and not average. We sailed through the statistically warmest time of year with nothing special happening.

      I remember in mid February once, Mark said something about probably not having much snow or cold spell after this time. Guess what? It snowed several inches and got in the mid 20’s and much colder than any other time of that winter.

      What’s fun about this area is that weather doesn’t like to stick to averages and we can discuss it on this blog!

      I did have quite the cold bias the beginning of July though. I was all complaining that summer was a bust, because I had plans for river floating and had to cancel.

      I’m glad I have AC in my house and my car. Stay hydrated and cool, everyone!

    • W7ENK says:

      Meh… after the shitty-ass day I’ve just had, why the hell not.

      Jim? Fuck you.

      Oh look, a filter! Not mine, I haven’t have one for years, but…

      Let it through or don’t, Mark. That’s truthfully how I feel right now. If it gets me banned, well, I guess I won’t be able to share my “unprecedented” August temperature readings with the rest of these folks this weekend.

      Oh well! ¯_(ツ)_/¯

  6. runrain says:

    Mark has just taken the triple digit plunge…

  7. W7ENK says:

    Reed Summer just slipped a little bit closer to “moron” on my scale of Joe Bastardi to Mark Nelsen…

    http://www.countryliving.com/life/a36213/farmers-almanac-winter-2016/

  8. W7ENK says:

    Friday afternoon the temperature topped out at 100.2°F at my place, though the air was dry enough it didn’t really feel that hot to me. I was surprised to see the other stations around me all reporting just over 100 degrees, too.

    What a beautiful weekend to be in the High Cascades of Oregon. Spent the weekend at one of my favorite spots. Tried to watch the Perseids Friday night, but the leading edge of some Cirrus mixing with light from the quarter moon made for a messy, somewhat light polluted view. Saw a few satellites, and a handful of meteors, but nothing really out of the ordinary for any other Summer night.

    High clouds and filtered sun all day Saturday, which thickened as the day wore on and looked like it might drown out a potentially spectacular sunset with a drab blanket of battleship grey, but thankfully it didn’t and we saw a most amazing sunset!

    Crystal clear blue skies yesterday, but a stiff wind off the water with a bit of a chill, even at midday. It was warmer than I expected when we got back down into the city, I thought the forecast before I left was calling for highs back down around 80 on Sunday. Oh well, it was a welcome surprise.

    I saw Rod Hill’s forecast on my way into work this morning and almost shouted for joy out loud on the train…

    WOO HOO!!!

  9. Joshua Downtown PDX says:

    Rod Hill is going all in with 100, 104, 100 for Thursday, Friday, Saturday. Fat chance.

    • runrain says:

      The Weather Channel, mostly worthless in changeable, winter-type weather, has been pretty accurate this summer. They are going with 100 both Thur and Fri. Hmmm…

    • Joshua Downtown PDX says:

      Doesn’t the weather channel just spit out raw temperature data from the operational GFS run? I could be completely wrong about that. In any event, it’s going to be a toasty few days around these parts.

    • umpire says:

      Shouldn’the there be a devil, or at least devil horns, on those days? 😉

  10. Looks like a hot dry week ahead- especially on Thursday and Friday. However, I’m always a bit leery about the end of August. Last year, if you recall, we had that windstorm come up along the coast, and it got rainy for the last 3 days. So I’m just starting to think about that.

  11. Garron 1/3 of a mile from Hillsboro Airport says:

    I kinda had a weird feeling that we were overdue for a prolonged 2nd 1/2 of summer heat tsunami! Gonna be a hot September if this pattern holds. At least our heat gets tempered by decent overnight lows. It was roughly the same temperature in Washington, D.C. the other day ~93 D/F, at the same time that we were in the low 90’s. The “feels like” temp for Wash. D.C. was 107, vs the feels like temp of 92 here. The overnight low the night before in Washington, D.C. was 83, vs. mid 60’s here , and the dew points were in the upper 70s on the east coast, while they were in the low 50’s here. It is all relative I guess, but I would much rather deal with a 100 degrees here, than there!

  12. Gene says:

    First? Thanks for the update, Mark. Looks like those numerous blog predictions for a cool/rainy summer are buried once and for all by this warm/hot August

