Balloon and Camera Launch

Brian Torres (a teacher at Springville K-8 in Beaverton SD) sent me a great video showing a balloon their school launched a couple weeks ago.  The students and staff put the whole project together; a great success too!

Capture

They attached a camera and it made it to 102,000′ before crashing back to earth in the Gifford Pinchot NF somewhere north of Carson, WA.

Notice the nice ice halos way up in the cold air partway through the video…enjoy!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

16 Responses to Balloon and Camera Launch

  1. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    I just looked and today is the wettest day of the YEAR at my station at 0.95″, beating out 0.76″ on January 19th and 28th. I’d love it if it stayed as the wettest day!

  2. Aleta-West Gresham says:

    Very cool! Good job! This will be one project that the kids will remember for a long time to come!

  3. Garron 1/3 of a mile from Hillsboro Airport says:

    Nice to have that kind of perspective, and actually see the curvature of the Earth. Would be fun to see the video in its entirety. I loved watching that crazy guy that ascended to 100,000′ (+) and jumped back to Earth a few years back, that was insane and fun to watch!

  4. Skies have cleared here nicely this afternoon. It ‘s supposed to be just a break before more showers move in tonight. Anyway, I now have 2.69 inches for the month- that’s average for June and I’m content!

  5. runrain says:

    Great job, kids! Was just wondering if you had to get FAA approval or something, just in case the balloon wandered into any of the airliner flight paths.

  6. WEATHERDAN says:

    Nice if we could see pix like that more often. Damp and mild today but the warm weather cometh. 4th of July weekend looks sunny with highs 87-92. Cooler than last year but still toasty. Re the last post. Matt was badmouthing Salem. True Portland does have more entertainment and museums. Of course they also have more crime and drug addicts. Every town has its good and bad points. Comparing Portland to Salem is like comparing New York city to Portland. I like Portland, it’s a great city. But I also love Salem. I was born and raised here. Salem/Keizer is big enough at 205,000. I go to Portland for the OMSI weather conference, or for a Blazers game, or one of the many fine restaurants. But I prefer to live with a little less hustle and bustle. And yes our local paper is kind of a joke. On the other hand the Oregonian is no New York Times either. Just trying to keep it in perspective. Enjoy the upcoming warm spell. Peace.

    • Boring Oregon says:

      Can you guys please stop arguing over two towns that singlehandedly ruin this state? I mean lets be honest, Portland is just really weird and disgusting, and Salem is what makes it that way. So stop arguing, you’re both right.
      Anyway… my rain total so far today is 0.57in. That brings the month total up to 3.22in. Anyway as far as next week, you’re right dan. Looks like some nice weather for the 4th with highs in the 80s close to 90.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      I can’t wait for this late fall and winter. I believe things will get back to a more normal state. Whatever that is now. But whatever that is, this isn’t it. La Nina will kick into gear and it seems to stay that way for 2, maybe 3 years. That will definitely get us back to normalcy. This Sacramentoish weather will all but be a thing of the past. My two cents, for what its worth.

  7. Paul D says:

    Very cool!

  8. Glad I wasn’t camping up there where it might fall on me. I wonder what/who it DID fall on? Is it just me or this a bit irresponsible?

  9. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful rain! Won’t be long and the seasonal drought will be here.

