The “Heat” Is On Today

9am Thursday…

We’re all set for a historic day temperature-wise in the region.

A record warm airmass is overhead.  When the morning weather balloon went up over Salem this morning (it’s done twice a day), at the 850mb level (about 5,000′), the temp was 68 degF.  It’s never been that warm until the first week of May as you can see by the dot on the chart.  The squiggly red line shows each day’s warmest temperature ever recorded at that height. 

Capture

East wind is very strong, with 7 millibars easterly gradient between The Dalles and Portland this morning.  Actually a bit stronger than I would like to see.  If it were to gust 20-30 mph at PDX all afternoon that could hold the temperature down lower than the 86 I forecast last night.  We’ll see.  Regardless, it’s spreading across the metro area as the warm air above begins to surface and the overnight cool air ponded in the valleys warms.  That means a dramatic jump in temperatures between now and 11am.

Corbett, in the wind all night, stayed in the 60s; this in a place that has an average HIGH this time of year in the mid-upper 50s.  Tropical by April standards.  Eagle Creek RAWS between Sandy and Barton suddenly jumped to 74 at 9am! Several 70 degree temps at 9am in Damascus area too already as warming surfaces…crazy for April!  Sunset Transit Center at 217/26 has jumped to 69 as well in that exposed east wind spot.

There are a few locations in the Cascades and/or foothills that have already at 9am reached or exceeded yesterday’s highs…with 8 hours of heating to go!  Ariel near Lake Merwin and Brush Creek (2400′) near Eugene are both 75 degrees.

So I think we’re all set for 80s this afternoon.  Enjoy the record warm temperatures, at least the wind and dry air should keep it from feeling real “hot”.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

 

43 Responses to The “Heat” Is On Today

  1. High Desert Mat says:

    So sad about Russell Bird yesterday. He was so funny and quirky that he made the weather fun on tv again. Mark does too dont get me wrong but he did it in a way that I looked forward to his forecasts for a good chuckle. Offbeat, dorky, and likeable. So young too. Wish he was still here.

    Did you by chance know him Mark? He worked for Bob Shaw which you knew, so just curious.

    Made it to 81 yesterday and 78 today on my home station. Tomorrow looks like 80ish. Then a big cool down over the weekend to more seasonal temps here. Goodnight all.

  2. Jason Hougak says:

    Geez
    Most of you want it nice out and it happens and you all complain, except Weatherdan. I don’t get it???

  3. muxpux (Longview) says:

    Kelso hit 90!!

  4. Boring Oregon says:

    Too much pollen. Yuk.

  5. Jack says:

    Wind dying down a bit in Vancouver just north of the river.

  6. Boydo3 N. Albany says:

    And…it’s 52 in Fairbanks right now!

  7. David B. says:

    Cold salt water and sea breezes held it to 74 at my place today. Down to 69 by 4:00 pm so I think 74 will end up being the high. It’s the typical story of the warm sun and cool sea breezes battling each other, temperature seesaws by 5 degrees or so as the breezes pick up then die down.

    I’m now on the ferry and it’s positively chilly. Must still be in the 50s over the water.

    • Essentially the same story here, David. My maximum was 72.5F, which certainly is warmish for early April, but a nice SW breeze kept the temperature down somewhat. Had it shifted to a Northerly direction, however it would have been a record high.

  8. Paul D says:

    Was using my phone as a GPS in my car and I get this message saying 8 applications have been shut down because my device is overheating. Yep, it’s hot today……

  9. Lee Wilson says:

    My weather station said 88, I think kgw it’s broken.
    On the plus side wen to Harbor Freight, picked up a water pump, and some hose and an old battery and had some fun in the sun with our son.

    He helped put the pipes together and connected it to a sprinkler and had fun, then we connected it to a Nozel where he soaked me and I soaked him.it was a blast.

    But this begs the question, if this is April, what the heck will July and August be like?

    Looks like we are going to have a very hot summer, early crops too.

    Right now everything is off the grid, solar and a generator for running a NuWave Oven.
    Which is cooking dinner.

  10. cgavic says:

    Cliff Gavic Sandy…cold early past midnight last night, then it got warm suddenly, opened Windows to let east wind whip right through the house at 5 a.m. we had 70° at 10a.m., and ended up with a high of 93°.
    All windows open and oscilatting fan quickly SWITCHED BACK to summer conditions(??)

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      That’s crazy! Thankfully it doesn’t follow the warm, dry weather of last winter..

  11. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    I’M DYING. The heat is sapping my body of all moisture and I’m sitting in front of an AC with the cooling on.

    It may seem extreme since it’s only 84, but we’re not even remotely acclimated to this. This would be like hitting 107+ in even the hottest part of summer, but I’d argue it’s more than that, like hitting 110+ Why? Because by the middle of summer, we’ve had a couple months to acclimate to warmer temps, this is just out of left field from 500 feet above the diamond.

  12. Farmer Ted says:

    87.8 degrees here at Barton, most likely the warmest temp this early in the year for me and I have been living in the Portland metro area since 1953.

  13. WEATHERDAN says:

    Hard to think of this as extreme weather. Yes it is well above average for April. But 80 is hardly extreme. This would be an average day on July. I am really enjoying it. For all you cool weather lovers out there remember 1968. It was 72 in February and 84 in April and we had a cool and wet Summer, so who knows. Peace.

    • Paul D says:

      I’m predicting a cool July because I will be on the east coast for most of the month.

      The last time I was out of the state for multiple weeks was one of the coolest summer periods we’ve had in years.

      The weather loves to pick on me 😦

  14. Whoops- that was me in the “anonymous” file just now.:-)

    • Temperature currently here is 68F. I think there’s an approximate 3 hour window for me to get a new record maximum for this date. (present one is 75F back in 1977). it’s going to be close!

  15. Anonymous says:

    I’m thinking the warmest day here will be tomorrow , not today: A current temperature of 64F after a low of 42F. The widest range of a day’s temperature I’ve ever seen in my place is 36 degrees. My previous warmest April 7th was back in 1977 (75F). So, if you do the math, you can see it’s unlikely (but not quite impossible) that I’ll break the record today.

  16. Paul D says:

    Got my outdoor chores done before 10am while it was still nice. Staying inside this afternoon!

  17. CorbettTez says:

    This wind SUCKS!!!! Gusting to nearly 50mph here in Corbett and still only 69 degrees here at 11:40am! When will this off shore flow end?

  18. Warm 80 here currently. East winds are really kicking up the temps in this part of the county.

  19. donaleen says:

    Let’s not get too giddy about extreme weather.

  20. W7ENK says:

    Yesterday was my first bike commute of the year. It was 43 when I left my house, took me at least a mile and a half to warm myself up. Afternoon was a perfect temperature to ride home in long pants.

    This morning I forgot to check the temperature, but there was no chill to the air at all, it reminded me of a Summer morning — except for the face full of pollen all along the river. I packed shorts for the ride home!

  21. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    First!

    Also, there are a number of 70s already, in fact, I wouldn’t be shocked if it was already well into the 60s here in Oak Grove.

