10pm Tuesday…Unusually Warm Weather Arrives Wednesday

Believe it or not, I actually don’t have much of anything to add to yesterday morning’s post.  Models are in unanimous agreement on the weather pattern ahead:

  • Warm and sunny inland next 3 days
  • Warm and sunny coast through Thursday, then some fog/clouds Friday
  • High temperatures near 80 in the valleys tomorrow, then well into 80s Thursday
  • Coastal temperatures likely warmest Thursday, possibly before the noon hour only

Here are the Portland records and expected highs; I think our numbers here at FOX12 have only varied a couple degrees in the past 5 days.  Quite a consistent forecast for our little “mini-heatwave”.

MarkWarm_PortlandRecords

Forecast 850 mb temps are still around +16-17 over Salem tomorrow afternoon, and +17-18 over Thursday afternoon.  Tomorrow’s surface wind is more northerly than easterly (no east wind through Gorge), so I’m thinking it’s quite possible we only hit 77-78 at PDX, but decided to stay with the 80 since we’ve had it on there for days.  I also raised Thursday’s high temperature a bit closer to the 90 the WRF-GFS has consistently been forecasting.  That WRF has +19 deg 850mb temps over us Thursday with strong easterly flow over the Cascades plus southeast flow up above.  That’s a setup for an April scorcher!

By the way, when we hit 80 (tomorrow or Thursday), it’ll be the 2nd earliest on record.

MarkHeatWave_AprilUnusual

We’ll see how it goes…for now, let’s do a poll.  What do you consider HOT in Portland?  No, not what your favorite temperature is or what is best for working outside etc…but for me to use the word HOT on a 7 Day forecast May-September, how warm should the temperature be?

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

 

38 Responses to 10pm Tuesday…Unusually Warm Weather Arrives Wednesday

  1. Jason Hougak says:

    Cliff Mass is a skier, nice👍🏼👍🏼

  2. JohnD says:

    Just got timed out again. Boo Hoo!

    Thanks Mark for your input as always.
    For myself, all things being relative in weather as in life–80′ begins the “hot zone”. 85′ is another point. And 88′ –to me–is at the precipice of truly “hot”. Of course the media loves 90’+–me too. And 100’+ enters the zone of hot by ANY relative standard!

  3. High Desert Mat says:

    Its sad to say that the local meteorologist Russell Bird passed away today. He was only 27. He worked for the Bend station KTVZ and brought a lot of quirkiness and humor to the segment. I will miss him. RIP.

    • JohnD says:

      Mat: Condolences to Russell and family for sure. ‘Had no idea. We have close friends in Crooked River and keep in close touch with C. Oregon (also by way of your posts!)

  4. Jason Hougak says:

    Looks like NWS only has 80-85 for valley. Now just one warm day. Cooler weather next week with snow level dropping back down to 4K.

  5. Jason Hougak says:

    It didn’t feel much above 70F today anywhere where I worked. I covered Lake Oswego, Tualatin, SE Portland, Clackamas, Boring and Estacada. I hope for a big temp bust tomorrow. Let’s keep it below 80🙏🏼

    • High Desert Mat says:

      I’m with you Jason. Its too early in the year for this nonsense. We have plenty of time for these temps. Inside of my car was really hot today. Grrrr

    • Paul D says:

      Only 71 at my place in Hillsboro today. Hopefully Thursday stays below 80. Still too warm for April.

  6. rubusleucodermis says:

    NWS is going with 78 for me tomorrow which is super-warm for the first half of April. I hope this spring doesn’t turn out like last one and make for an early and abnormally dry summer.

  7. Quite a change here from noon: At that time, skies were overcast at 50F with a chilly breeze. now it’s almost clear and 64F. Personally, I don’t like summer temperatures at or above 90. Fortunately, I don’t see many of those days here.

  8. W7ENK says:

    Lots of high, hazy cloudiness all day.

    Currently 64 degrees at PDX.

    Noontime temp was 58F. +10 degrees for 5pm temperature at the height of Summer, probably more like +7 for this time of year, that puts the daily max around 68F at best.

    Looks like today’s high temperature is going to fall short of the forecast by a significant margin. Paul D should be so happy.

  9. WEATHERDAN says:

    Righteous weather indeed. Lovin every minute of it. Peace.

  10. Katie E. says:

    For me hot is when I want to turn my A/C on, and that’s mid 80’s for me, I’m totally a wuss where it comes to hot weather. But I grew up on the coast and 65 was a warm day ^_^.

  11. runrain says:

    My personal official hot weather mark is 87 deg.

  12. Paul D says:

    I was looking for the “65” choice on the poll, but since there wasn’t one, I picked 75.

  13. W7ENK says:

    Hey now, many of my ancestors are from Norway (both sides, I’m 50% Norwegian blood!) and I like it HOT! You won’t hear me complain about the heat until the temperature gets above 110 — so like, never.

    I also like my food spicy… go figure.

  14. pappoose in scappoose says:

    PUBLIC INFORMATION STATEMENT
    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PORTLAND OR
    619 AM PDT WED APR 6 2016

    …RECORD WARMTH POSSIBLE TODAY…THURSDAY…AND FRIDAY…
    …POSSIBLY THE EARLIEST IT HAS BEEN SO WARM SINCE RECORDS BEGAN…

    http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/total_forecast/getprod.php?wfo=pqr&pil=PNS&sid=PQR&version=0

  15. Paul D says:

    I like it when things stay around what the average is supposed to be. I don’t like August temperatures, but I tolerate them.

    The next three days are way too much because it’s supposed to be around 60, and so I feel ripped off. We seem to have 15-20 over normal a lot more than we have 15-20 under normal.

  16. 81F is the warmest temperature I’ve experienced in my city.(back in 1976 and 1987). I don’t want to see anything warmer than that for April. It just doesn’t feel right.

  17. Rexine says:

    Rockaway beach, does this mean more fog for us? We’ve already had fog. Kinda early Don’t you think?

  18. Jason Hougak says:

    Timberline hit 501″ for the season thanks to sum April snow!

  19. Jason Hougak says:

    I only like it hot when I’m in the wilderness floating down a river. The city life with heat and smog just isn’t my thing. I don’t like when temps are over 90 for countless days😝. This time of year it’s over 70, its way to early to be melting our snowpack that quickly.

  20. Aleta-West Gresham says:

    Made sure to get the lettuce and peas seeds in this last weekend in hopes that the coming heat will help them sprout quickly. I’m looking forward to a day of heat before the cool down.

  21. “Thirty is hot, twenty is nice, ten is chilly, zero is ice.” This Celsius parable implies that 86 degrees F must be “hot”.

    • Paul D says:

      86 is most definitely hot, especially if the sun is beating directly on you.

      For me, 15 is nice.

  22. At this time of year I would say 80+. In summer, 90 or better

