Strong Wind Moving Onto Coastline

3:30pm…

Everything appears to be working out well so far…lots of gusts 55-65 mph at the usual coastal spots and of course the real exposed (higher) locations are stronger. I see an 81 mph gust at Meares Hill (1,400′) and 90 mph gust on top of Mt. Hebo (3,000′).

As mentioned yesterday, the storm is so far offshore that we won’t get damaging wind in the valleys. Maybe a few thousand power outages and a tree or two down somewhere, but that should be it. But the big story is at the coast.

COAST: High Wind Warning
Wind has arrived at the coast with lots of 55-65 mph gusts so far. Wind will ramp up another 10-20 mph for the next 4-8 hours. Gusts 65-75 mph are likely with a few exposed spots likely up in the 80-90 mph range.

VALLEY: Wind Advisory
Light wind so far (as expected). Breezy southerly wind picks up, mainly after 7pm. Gustiest wind in the middle of the night, like 10pm-1am. Gusts 35-45 mph. It SHOULD be a bit lighter than what we saw last week.

All wind backs off later tonight.

HURRICANE FORCE WIND WARNING: You have have heard about this. THIS WARNING IS NOT FOR ANYONE ON LAND. It’s a marine warning for the coastal waters, strongest wind out there since the storm is so far offshore.

Latest HRRR model run seems reasonable, showing strongest gusts at the coastline in the 6-9pm period:

hrrr_gust_portland_7

and inland around 10pm-midnight (note yellow spots showing gusts 35-40 mph):

hrrr_gust_portland_10

Hold on if you live at the Coast!  And enjoy a showery/breezy night here in the valleys.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

23 Responses to Strong Wind Moving Onto Coastline

  1. Josh "the snowman" from Gladstone, OR says:

    Pretty good hail in Gladstone, lasted 10-15 minutes. Turned everything white. More accumulation than at any time this winter. Lol.

  2. umpire says:

    Worked on a trail maintenance crew in Forest Park this morning. One tree across the Wildwood trail in the Springville Road area, another down across the Hardesty trail, both down overnight, and both now cleaned up. Lots of downed trees all over Forest Park, so be alert on your hiking adventures.

  3. The wind roared and the rain poured overnight. Power went out island-wide at 4:46 AM. No estimate of service restoral time. Storm total rainfall: 1.91″.

    • muxpux (Longview) says:

      What island? I see oak harbor had a gust to 64. Still gusting to near 50

    • Bainbridge. I think pretty much all the islands in the Salish Sea really got it from this one, from what I’ve been able to gather.

    • muxpux (Longview) says:

      I lived on Whidbey for about a year, and that place is a damn wind tunnel. 40-50 gusts were a pretty regular occurance

    • The first winter I lived on Bainbridge, the first storm made me realize “Oh, yeah, I’m living on an island. All the nearby water really lets wind velocity pick up.”

      The Fraser outflow windstorms are the really “fun” ones. Nothing like losing power when its in the 20s outside and windy as heck. Thankfully I have a gas stove and a gas heater that doesn’t need electricity to operate.

  4. Our strongest winds seem to be happening here over the past 60 minutes. Power outage numbers have really ballooned from 5200 around 5am to 86,000 at 7am- most of these out in the Fraser Valley. No thunderstorms that I know of, though, shortly before 2am I was awake to hear a very short but intense shower pass over my area, accompanied by sudden wind gusts.

  5. Jane-Forest Grove says:

    Loud wind…..

  6. JJ78259 says:

    Great Thunderstorms last night! Awesome actually fun to watch. On and off rain till Friday. Then up into the the high 80’s for spring break no airfare needed! Weather Dan Spring Break!

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Weird. We had t-storms last night? Must’ve been dreaming. Because I didn’t wake up. I did however have a dream of winning the Powerball. Then I woke up and thought I wad in Texas and then realized inc again I was in central Oregon. The nightmare was reinvigorated and once again. Hmmmm, was it real or have I once again fallen asleep? …………………………

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Was* and once*. Sorry, I’m sleepy

    • JJ78259 says:

      Yes when I lived in Milwaukie I dreamed a lot about 85 to 90 degree spring breaks. Then I woke up at the coast in a pouring rainstorm on spring break.

  7. W7ENK says:

    Enjoy, all. I’ll be sleeping through it. Been at home sick the last couple days with a ~102F fever. Planning to knock myself cold with a shot of NyQuil here shortly, so I won’t be conscious to witness this one.

    Right now, not one single wisp of moving air out there.
    It’s eerily quiet…

  8. Definitely a rainy afternoon up this way. Thankfully not terribly windy; that makes riding a bicycle with a poncho on quite the challenge.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the update Mark !

  10. Lurkyloo says:

    Lots of rain but really not much of anything I’d call windy here near Rose City Golf Course. We’ll see how it shakes down …

  11. JJ78259 says:

    First from San Antonio

  12. pappoose in scappoose says:

    I’m in!

