A New First Live Local Weather Face

I have a new co-worker in the FOX12 weather center!

Liana3

Meteorologist Liana Brackett has been with us since early January; getting on-air just in the past few days.  She’ll be getting you all your weather information during the 8pm and 9pm shows on PDX-TV.  Of course she’ll be working on other shows as well.  Our company owns both FOX12 and PDX-TV and we produce newscasts for both stations.  It’s all the same in that the signal just goes to one transmitter or the other; the same graphics and FOX12 branding is used in all shows.  We produce 6 evening newscasts so that’s a lot of weather content to fill!  We do a lot of this:

Liana_chroma

There are generally two ways a person gets into broadcast meteorology (television weathercasting).  The first is most typical: you get a broadcast journalism degree, start as a reporter, get some weather knowledge, and become a weathercaster.  The second path is to get a degree in Atmospheric Sciences or Meteorology and then become an on-air meteorologist.

Here in the Portland television market there are 4 weathercasters with a degree in meteorology and we now have 3 of them!  Brian MacMillan and I both have degrees along with Liana.  She graduated from UC Davis with a degree in Atmospheric Sciences.  Liana spent the past 6 years working here in Portland right under our noses…at the Portland National Weather Service office.  As a result she knows our weather well which is quite a plus.  To be honest, it’s a bit of a pain to teach someone from another part of the country how our weather works; it takes awhile to get used to all our terrain and the effects it has on day to day conditions so we got lucky to find someone local.

I asked her a few questions…

What’s the hardest part of changing from a non-TV job to “on-air”? Using less technical meteorological terms! That was a tough one for me because I was used to using “orographic lift” and other terms daily. But, I love explaining weather terms so that will be fun to do on-air.

What’s the best part? I love explaining weather to people so now I get to do it every day! That, and the dressing up part and the fun people I get to work with.

Have you been surprised by anything/something? I didn’t realize how long I can spend looking at the weather! At the NWS, you’re constantly watching the weather so I can easily spend 3-4 hours just trying to get the forecast “just right.” But, now in TV, I have to manage my time between forecasting, getting camera ready, and actually doing the show. I just need to get some more programs on my home computer then.

What’s it like to tell a weather “story”, have a producer talk in your ear, change graphics, and smile all at the same time?  Tougher than it looks or no? Oh. My. Goodness. It is way tougher than it looks! There is an art to it all, and that’s when things go perfectly. It’s even more challenging when you throw in any malfunctions like you can’t see yourself, but you still need to talk into the camera and smoothly go through your weather story. But, I’m loving the challenge and know it’ll just get easier and smoother. I seriously love this job!

Anything else you want to add? 
This job is amazing! Well, I get to work with Mark every weeknight
so how can it not be? Lol, he’s sitting nextto me so I have to say that. J 

Because I’m such a mean guy…that’s right…
We’ve all enjoyed getting to know Liana over the past month and look forward to many more months/years with her!
Here is some contact info for you:

BIO: http://www.kptv.com/story/31094017/meteorologist-liana-brackett

Follow on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LianaBrackett

Like on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lianabrackett/?fref=nf

By the way, in case you are wondering who is leaving or getting fired?  No one.  Nora Hart has been doing weather for the past 16 months but is now a news anchor again.   She’s leaving us in the weather center and moving about…15 feet away.
Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

29 Responses to A New First Live Local Weather Face

  1. Garron 1/3 of a mile from Hillsboro Airport says:

    Wow, smart and stunning! Time for a new podcast Mark! Introduce and get to know her in a less structured setting than the TV one.

  2. After the excitement of the sunshine earlier this week, the next several days look pretty gray and wet here in Vancouver BC.-yuk!
    I’m also waiting for the next (and maybe last?) time I see a freezing temperature. Last February we had just one day below freezing- the 28th. Perhaps this time it will be the 29th?

  3. marinersfan85 says:

    She’s much prettier than you, Mark.

  4. schmit44 says:

    2/10/2016 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:76 at MERLIN SEED ORCH(1144 ft)
    Low: 53 at Port Orford(0 ft) & LINCON Lincoln C(187 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:28 at Joseph State Air(4120 ft)
    Low: 12 at CRANE PRAIRIE (5500 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 40 degrees
    CHRISTMAS VALLEY (62/22 ) (4360 ft )
    Sand Creek (US 9 (58/18) (4524 ft)

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.23″ at MEARES Cape Mear(1421ft)
    0.22″ at EW3918 Newport(141ft)
    0.22″ at LINCON Lincoln C(187ft)
    0.21″ at PACCTY-2 Pacific(28ft)

  5. Boring Oregon says:

    Is that a receding hairline I see Mark?

  6. Josh "the snowman" from Gladstone, OR says:

    Too bad she is married. I was thinking we were a match. Hot meteorologist paired with a weather groupie. Perfect!!

  7. Shawn Weagle - Garden Home/SW Portland says:

    So proud of you, Liana!!! Mix her smarts and her charisma, and she’s gonna take this world by storm!!! 🙂

  8. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Love it.
    Can’t wait to see more of you, Liana!

  9. WEATHERDAN says:

    Welcome to KPTV/KPDX. 62 so far today. Down low temps this Winter have been almost a carbon copy of last Winter. I haven’t done the math yet so I can’t say for sure just how close they are. As for what this means for Spring and Summer I don’t know. My gut feeling is that Spring is warm but a little wetter than average through March than normal for April and May. As for Summer I don’t see how we can be as hot as the last two years. But I suspect we shall still be quite warm. Just not record setting. Happy Valentine’s day everybody. Peace.

  10. Jake-(Gresham) says:

    Welcome to FOX12!

    ^_^

  11. Just a suggestion, Mark: Perhaps sometime in the future when you’re on vacation, your new TV partner could do a post for this blog? It might be intresting.

  12. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    Absolutely epic sunrise this morning! It’s hard to pick just one photo to show the contrasts and ever changing colors and textures, so here are a few…

    I was thinking it was going to be a good sunrise so I went to a good location. However, for a moment, I thought it was going to be a dud…boy was I wrong.

    • Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

      Whoops, sorry for the double pics, here is the correct one.

    • Longview 400 ft says:

      Wow!! Thanks for sharing and capturing!! Please continue to share!

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Yay, Tyler! I saw the clouds this morning before the sun came up and I knew that it would be beautiful! I was wondering if someone would capture that, and then I thought, “Duh, Tyler Mode will have that wrapped up.” Thank you for the picture!

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      Dude! Keep up the great work!

  13. Mike says:

    Who is the 4th weathercaster with a degree in the market?

  14. Made it up to 55 at my place yesterday, a full 7 degrees cooler than SeaTac. Yesterday afternoon I was looking at temperatures on the local NWS interactive map and you’d see bouys reporting mid-40s while a couple miles away on land some stations were in the low 60s.

    Shows what proximity to cold water can do. And you could see it as well; my office has a view of Puget Sound and there was a shallow layer of super-hazy air blanketing the water all afternoon.

  15. Jackfrost says:

    Things are more exciting here then the The Weather Forums which I hope their driving skills are better then their posting skills.

    They are totally on skunk drunk mode.

  16. muxpux (Longview) says:

    RELEASE THE HOUNDS!!! lol

  17. schmit44 says:

    2/9/2016 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:74 at YELLOWSTONE MTN.(3080 ft) & KB7QWZ Garibaldi(10 ft) & OCNSID Oceanside(22 ft)
    Low: 56 at BRUSH CREEK(2130 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:30 at OWYHEE RIDGE(4400 ft) & RED BUTTE(4460 ft) & CW3808 Enterpris(3927 ft) & YELLOWPINE(4600 ft) & KB7DZR Joseph(3984 ft)
    Low: 10 at CRANE PRAIRIE (5500 ft ) & CW0732 Seneca (4665 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 45 degrees
    COLD SPRINGS (58/13 ) (4640 ft )

  18. Welcome to FOX12. Nice having three Mets with degrees. Now FOX12 will have to live up to the fact! 🙂

  19. Mark bergal says:

    Exciting..Welcome!

