Record Warm Atmosphere Overhead

The weather balloon released at Salem this morning found record warm temperatures overhead.  Yes, they still actually fill a balloon and track its movements twice a day.  When it reached the 850 millibar level (about 5,000′), the temperature was 21.8 degrees Celsius!  That’s 71 degrees F.

So what’s the big deal?  Well that’s one of the mandatory levels, one we frequently refer to in meteorology.  You can look at past climatology on the SPC website and see that it was the warmest temperature ever recorded at that elevation over Salem in the 2nd half of October.  This morning’s temp is the big circle.  The average for any date is the yellow line.  Or orange, or whatever it is…I’m a bit color blind.

Capture

Note there is one day it hit the same temperature the 1st of November in the past.  But this is the latest we’ve seen such a warm temp otherwise.  This nifty sounding tool from Jim Little’s website shows it was above 70 from around 2,800′ to 5,000′ this morning!  The blue line is the 4-5am sounding.

SLE_to_700mb

That’s an incredibly warm atmosphere for mid October.  IF we had solid sunshine today I think we’d have an 80+ day coming up.  But I think with the cloud cover and a bit weaker easterly wind we’ll stay below 80.  Or maybe I’m getting old and conservative.

Yesterday Vancouver broke a record (81) and Portland tied (80)

That’s it, have to plant my cover crop in the garden and ride the bike on the last day it’ll be 70 by noon.  Enjoy your Friday!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

15 Responses to Record Warm Atmosphere Overhead

  1. Lee Wilson says:

    Here is a weird orange stuff popping up in yards here.
    What is it? I have never ever in my life seen this.

  2. Lee Wilson says:

    We have a weird orange substance growing on the grass in yards all over. I am going generate a small slide show and post it.

    I have never seen this before, EVER!

  3. Notice the little “cool layer” around 2,000-3,000 feet on the sounding, even during the afternoon 00z sounding. This helps explain why October can’t get as hot as July, and is a hint of the opening stages of a whole new “season” in the PNW…..

  4. It reached 71F here at my place this afternoon. That should do it for the ’70’s in 2015. We should see the last of the ’60’s by November 16th- hopefully…

  5. Josh "the snowman" Gladstone says:

    Looks like mark is being pretty conservative with some of the temps too. I doubt we see 63/48 on Thursday, although it is 6 days away 🙂

  6. Josh "the snowman" Gladstone says:

    Per the Portland afd it does appear we will be breaking out of this persistent ridging all the way through next weekend with a progressive pattern setting up by Wednesday. Possible snow levels below 6000′ as well. Not anything to brag about but definitely nice to hear.

  7. Paul D says:

    Who wants to guess when our grass will stop growing this year? I usually do my last mowing around mid November. This is the first year I’ve had to mow before March, which really ticked me off because I enjoy not doing yard work. Stupid weird weather…… grrrrr!

    • Longview 400 ft says:

      I usually mow one last time in the beginning of November between showers to get the yard ready for possible snow accumulation. I don’t like seeing blades of grass above my two or three inches of snow. True? True. But during this warm and dry spell who knows. My first mow was in the first part of February last winter. Maybe we all will be mowing through this coming Spring. YIKES!!! I really do hope that some how some way the white stuff stays intacked all the down to the valley floor on several occasions for enough time to take in the sights while visiting. LOL

  8. W7ENK says:

    So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, adieu!

    It was a good run. 🙂

  9. schmit44 says:

    Here is another portrayal of the record warm airmass over Salem this morning shown in a table.

  10. Joshua says:

    First. And, hopefully the last time we see you post record and warm in the same sentence for a long time.

