81 in Portland Today, New 80 Degree Record

We did it.  Not only did we set a new record for 90 degree days this warm season; but now we’ve exceeded the all-time number of 80 degree days.  With a high of 81 that makes today day #85 this year.

MarkTemp_wCamera

For those of you tired of sunshine and above normal temps…at least you had a relatively cool September.  Here are the average dates for “Last” days in Portland.  Things cool off quickly in October!

MarkLast80_90_70Days

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

75 Responses to 81 in Portland Today, New 80 Degree Record

  1. Jake-(Gresham) says:

    Is it just me or are food ants particularly big for the end of this summer? Got one my computer desk that’s pretty beefy. O_o

  2. Kelso airport is back online! Yay! Haha

  3. WEATHERDAN says:

    Mainly cloudy with a couple of spots of blue sky. Not a bad October day all things considered. Weekend looks real nice. Maybe 80 on Sunday. Peace.

  4. Second straight foggy morning here for the start of October. I hope it’s not a sign of what it’s going to be like for the next few months. I don’t mind occasional fog- just can’t stand a long spell of it.

    • Well, some fog is typical for October. Here’s hoping it doesn’t get as bad as two years ago. That’s when the Puget Sound basin got a weeks-long inversion while the Willamette Valley had sunny warm days. It was really frustrating to hear Portlanders waxing eloquent about how nice yet another day was when for me it was yet another day of gloom with the temperature struggling to get up to 50.

    • Rubus, thanks for sharing recollections of fog in October 2013. That was pretty foggy here as well for a week. Usually, when it happens we hear of sunny ski resorts above 3,000 feet elevation while the rest of us drive around in the murk.

    • David B. says:

      Stayed cloudy and pretty gunked-in all day, though satellite images prove it’s general cloudiness and not just an inversion. Performed the annual ritual of lighting the pilot on the propane heater in my living room this evening.

  5. schmit44 says:

    10/1/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:83 at WARM SPRINGS BAS(1563 ft) & RUFUS(185 ft) & Wasco Junction ((1100 ft) & JOHN DAY RIVER A(1742 ft)
    Low: 61 at JUNIPR(359 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:52 at SUMMER RIM(7080 ft) & FISH CREEK(7660 ft)
    Low: 25 at KIRK (4519 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 47 degrees
    CW5507 Camp Sher (78/31 ) (3020 ft )

  6. Jason Hougak says:

    WATER!!!!
    Going to Mars and gonna start drilling wells, there’s water and no people taking each other’s lives… yet!!!
    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/jaw-dropping-images-us-first-211104638.html

  7. Jason Hougak says:

    Wild weather patterns, people killing each other… next more earthquakes and volcanic eruptions.
    I do pray for the families and souls lost in the shooting and the families hurting. More and more people are talking about end of times and I’m thinking we are not too far off. Better get that colony built and life on Mars cuz our society and planet Earth are going down the toilet!
    Guns don’t kill people, people kill people Mr. President!!!

    • Boring Oregon says:

      I really don’t understand why people do things that horrific. I don’t understand it now and most likely wont for the rest of my life. I just hope all those families down there are ok and that another mass shooting doesn’t happen for a eternity. Btw Mr. President is a joke. Everytime something like this happens he complains then says “more gun control.” I haven’t seen him do one affective thing about mass shootings yet he complains and complains about how horrible it is. Anyway, the weather was nice today.

    • Boydo3 N. Albany says:

      And you think the President can do anything about the loonies?
      And how dangerous would they be with a pocket knife?
      I’m sure Donald Trump has the answer.
      But I digress…
      Very nice fall weather indeed.

    • Boring Oregon says:

      I have a good reply to your comment boydo but from now on I will try and keep my comments only weather related… unless you want to see my comment of course…

  8. Josh "the snowman" Gladstone says:

    I have a feeling the winter weather meeting is going to be a buzzkill of epic proportions.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      They are more wrong than right at those meetings regardless. It’s a crap shoot, hence why Mark doesn’t give a winter forecast, he knows its impossible to make such things months out. Loving my Davis vantage vue I won there two years ago. Hopefully ill be there this year as well.

  9. WEATHERDAN says:

    If this system coming down from the the North on Saturday were to get here in 6 weeks we would be talking about the possibility of snow. However since it is early October we are going to be in the 65 to 70 range come Saturday and in the low 80,s on Sunday. Just a tease for all of you cold and snow lovers out there. Maybe some rain 7-10 days from now or maybe not. The way the weather has been this year who knows. Peace.

  10. This is a long shot, but as of today, what’s the consensus for conditions in about 2 weeks? Lol. Buddy’s boat windshield busted late summer and a new one is being shipped from the east coast. Should be ready to go in 2 weeks. Hoping to get on the water one last time. Hoping for a mid 70’s type day

  11. WEATHERDAN says:

    What a nice day outside. 70 and mostly sunny. So far this Summer Salem has had 30 days over 90 (record is 35 set in 2014), 97 days over 80 a new record, and 148 days over 70 (154 is the record set in 1992 and 2014). We will probably break the days over 70 record sometime next week. For the rain lovers however the rainy season looks to be starting in about 2 weeks. Great day today for a walk in the park or a barbecue and a cold beer. Peace.

    • Garron (1/3 of a mile from the Hillsboro airport) says:

      I am with you WEATHERDAN, I hope you break the # of 70s + as well this year, as we will all be able to talk about this for a generation. That is, assuming this isn’t a trend to be followed by a mini ice age! Hey, today starts the new water year. It will be interesting to see how that goes this year…

    • WEATHERDAN says:

      Oh was that supposed to be sarcasm? Well maybe next time old bean. Anyway I find all records fascinating, not just hot. And well we might be talking about this a generation from now. We talk about the hot Summer of 1967 and we talk about the Columbus Day Storm and those events happened 50 years ago. I am intrigued by fog and flood and wind and snow. Right now it is warmth. Hey garron did you forget this is a weather blog. See that means we talk about weather. That is the purpose of this blog. If I misread you I apologize but there a number of blokes who make sport of my posts. Even though it is their right I find it tiresome. Peace.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Wow.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Paranoia will destroy ya Danno!!!!!!!

    • GTS1K' says:

      Wow is right…

      Plus, it’s amusing reading the “tiresome” comment from someone who uses a dictionaryful of words to convey his every thought.

    • WEATHERDAN says:

      Hey Matt how ya doing buddy? Gee you sure must be real happy now that October first is here, Peace.

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Get real, WEATHERDAN.
      I’ve never seen Garron insult anyone.

    • Don’t allow that paranoia consume you, Dan.
      Garron is as harmless as it gets in these wx groups. 🙂

    • Garron (1/3 of a mile from the Hillsboro airport) says:

      WEATHERDAN, no offense taken as I know you’ve had a lot of heat from others on here, but I have always fully supported your commentary here. No sarcasm intended by my comment, I actually WANT to break records too! If it’s gonna be 105, may as well go for the gold and hit 108. I really appreciate your experience and historical perspective, as it really helps to see the changes in our weather from someone as weather savvy as you. And thanks pappoose, I appreciate your support and commentary too.

      I only comment when something is worth commenting on, and I rarely use sarcasm, but when I do I prefer “Dos Quotations” so the audience gets it….”sarcasm alert”…And PLEASE enjoy this weekend, cause we never know when the 80 degree day “warm bias Nelsen” is gonna throw in the 7 day forecast…lol

    • Weedeater says:

      Smokin’

  12. I remember getting a 78F maximum on this date back in 1975, and quite often see it in the 70’s here for the first week or two in October. however, my time for 80’s is over- I think.

    • David B. says:

      I’m pretty sure there’s no more 80s in store for me this year, too. Topped out at 72 F for me this week.

  13. Jason Hougak says:

    Hold onto your hats another contender has entered the ring… the Atlantic Cold Blob. El Niño, Pacific Warm Blob, Atlantic Cold Blob, Polar Vortex… Have these patterns been always occurring and we are just starting to see it because we are getting better at research or is this just starting?

  14. Jason Hougak says:

    Very bright star seen now in the east. Is that Venus?

    • Garron (1/3 of a mile from the Hillsboro airport) says:

      That is Venus. Ain’t she pretty? She is such a show off!

  15. schmit44 says:

    9/30/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:84 at MERLIN SEED ORCH(1144 ft)
    Low: 59 at GRASSY MOUNTAIN(4560 ft) & MORGAN MOUNTAIN(4200 ft) & HARL BUTTE(6071 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:54 at PATTON MEADOWS A(6780 ft) & SWAN LAKE MTN(6830 ft)
    Low: 20 at CROW FLAT (5172 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 51 degrees
    CW5507 Camp Sher (80/29 ) (3020 ft )

  16. Hal Jordan says:

    I just moved back to Oregon after 29 years in Phoenix. One of my Phoenix Facebook friends posted yesterday about their new high temperature record – 100 days this year with a temperature at or above 100 degrees. It’s so refreshing to be here in Astoria, where the high today was 64. Bring on the fog and rain – it’s better than melting!

    • Paul D says:

      Amen brother! I lived in Phoenix 5 years and that was 5 too many. That place is going to spontaneously combust one day.

  17. Garron (1/3 of a mile from the Hillsboro airport) says:

    Ok, soooooo, another 80 degree or two in the 7 day? Lets face it, that 78 could easily be another 80 degree day…I think Mark’s cool bias is still rearing into the 7 day forecast!

    • Garron (1/3 of a mile from the Hillsboro airport) says:

      …Cool bias yesterday was supposed to be around 70? I think we made it to 74, today probably another 2~3 degrees above forecast…

  18. leer` Geddy says:

    Wow, the18z gfs is extremely wet and very active but it is the 18z and a strong El nino so there’s no chance in hell this will ever pan out, lol.

  19. runrain says:

    Ok, so now we know those little white bugs are called Ash Whiteflies. The Fox12 story says they are increasing in number in Oregon. That has to be the understatement of the year. We’ve gone from almost none in the past to swarms this year. Out walking yesterday evening people out and about were all commenting and swatting at them. It was almost like some sci fi movie! My neighbor even said he thinks they are aliens. I had to keep my mouth closed during my walk and cut the walk short, they were so bad. Let’s hope they aren’t toxic!

  20. cgavic says:

    I live at just under 1k ft. in sandy.

  21. cgavic says:

    Currently 65° and sunny.

  22. cgavic says:

    Last weekend we had over night lows of 40°
    This week we’ve had 55° for a low and 85 for highs.
    Beautiful fall sun.
    We’ve got clear skies and mid to upper 50’s an hour ago.
    Beautiful fall sun right now.

  23. W7ENK says:

    Okay, so my personal weather station recorded what I though was an anomalous high temperature today of 87.4 degrees. Usually, my temperature is pretty in line with surrounding stations, which all run (on average) 2-4 degrees above PDX. If I get a reading that seems to be off, or if I miss a day (or more) of data, I’ll often refer to my local stations for replacement data.

    I see that my nearest station KORMILWA6 — which is usually very accurate — also recorded a high temperature today of 87.6 degrees today.
    http://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KORMILWA6

    I’m not sure how to proceed…

    • MasterNate says:

      Has the change in sun angle effected your sensor? Could it be that at some point in the day the sun hits the sensor where it didn’t before? Just some thoughts.

    • W7ENK says:

      At this point in the year, it is in full sun from about 9:30am to 2:00pm, but it’s a naturally aspirated all inclusive/enclosed unit, so it’s made to be exposed to direct sun. Yesterday’s high temperature was recorded at 4:38pm, while my station is most definitely shaded by large trees.

      I can’t speak to the placement or manufacture of the Wunderground station KORMILWA6, but I see they also hit their high temperature at 4:36pm.

      Odd little coincidence, and I don’t believe in coincidence.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      My Davis VP seems to read about 2 degrees too high in summer even though it’s out in the middle of my lawn. Could be similar situation to you?

    • gidrons says:

      Yeah, doesn’t sound like a coincidence. Maybe a freak compressional wind?

    • W7ENK says:

      Who knows, it could have been… I’d like to discount this as an anomaly, but with that other station just a half mile from me reaching the same temperature at virtually the same time? I just wanted to bounce this off you guys, see what you make of it.

  24. schmit44 says:

    9/29/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:90 at CW6811 Grants Pa( 947 ft) & MERLIN SEED ORCH(1144 ft)
    Low: 59 at BUCKHORN SPRINGS(2780 ft) & EVANS CREEK(3257 ft) & BRUSH CREEK(2130 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:53 at YACHTS Yachats(72 ft)
    Low: 21 at CROW FLAT (5172 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 57 degrees
    CROW FLAT (78/21 ) (5172 ft )

  25. Paul D says:

    Please remove that 80 from the 7 day forecast. Thank you 🙂

  26. Boring Oregon says:

    At this point Mt.Hood needs a public indecency fine. She needs to cover up a little bit.

  27. Harrison says:

    Dear Mark,

    Do you know if we are going to have an awesome snow year? What do the models say about when does the snow start falling and will we get the Pineapple Express in January as always?

    Hope you’re doing well.

  28. Isn’t 6 the record number of 80+ days at PDX in October? Based on the forecast pattern for the next 2-3 weeks, this year looks like as good a year as any to break THAT record too 😉

  29. Lee Wilson says:

    I hope this is the last 80 day, dang Box Horn Beetles cam in hoards.
    I want sunny but cooler weather.

    • Boring Oregon says:

      I had a few native WoodBoring beetles here in August. They’re actually pretty cool looking so I wouldn’t mind having more next year.

  30. timbers15 says:

    I hope this is the last day of 80’s. I am looking forward to foggy, crispy days.

