ECMWF Weekly Maps

I had the last 3 days off, but back just in time for some new weekly 500mb height anomaly maps from last night’s ECMWF:

Week 1

500za_week1_bg_NA

Week 2

500za_week2_bg_NA

Week 3

500za_week3_bg_NA

Week 4

500za_week4_bg_NA

This would imply the next two weeks will be cooler than average with troughing nearby.  The 12z also shows the same thing through the next 2 weeks.  Summer might “end” a bit early.  By that I mean we might see an extended period of normal to below normal temps…maybe.  Either way it’s obvious that the real heat of summer is behind us.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

9 Responses to ECMWF Weekly Maps

  1. Ellen Wallace says:

    End of the 90’s? Fine with me…70’s/low 80’s good for me. What’s the El Nino winter looking like? I asked on FB about winter of 1968/69…El Nino or La Nina? This summer is a lot like that one…Lots of snow and an ice storm on top of it…Please look up that winter. (I know you were probably hardly born then but I will NOT forget that winter!!)

  2. Paul D says:

    “Either way it’s obvious that the real heat of summer is behind us”

    Really? Guaranteed?!? I sure hope so.

  3. Oh YAY! I am so ready for some more permanent cooler weather for the rest of the year and all the way until next summer. As always I like 74 or less degrees more though Mark as you know already.

    What has been really fascinating to me sort of also Mark is the typhoon activity in the Western Pacific. I was not expecting to see as much this year with an impending strengthening El Nino pattern supposedly taking shape. I often have gotten more use to expecting all that tropical weather activity in the Eastern Pacific when a El Nino is building. I think too that just goes to show that the structuring of any El Nino builds differently over time thus leading to various affects to the El Nino or whatever ENSO pattern we get later.

    Although I only read it for fun, I do not put a lot of stock into the Old Farmers Almanac. There have been a lot of articles on Facebook that say there is going to be a cold and snowy winter here in the Pacific Northwest according to the OFA over three months of time in December, January, and February which would be our “normal” meteorological winter. I actually hope it is correct but I have a feeling somehow if Erik Holm stays home this winter the dome will short change him again. I am sure Erik would probably agree with me on that.

  4. Boring Oregon says:

    Just happened to look in the fun and weird email section. Those are some wackjobs but it was sure funny reading it. Especially your comebacks.

  5. Lee Wilson says:

    I hope you are right, I like the sun, but high heat is just bad for solar, good for fires and we need less heat for them, and people’s nerves are getting frayed.

  6. High Desert Mat says:

    Dan might have something to say about that Mark.

  7. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Behind us is OK with me.

