At Least It’s a Dry Heat

2013_Fireworks_Forecast

I’ve noticed the past few days have been very hot in the afternoon hours as the sun pounds down on me between car-work-store etc…

Yet in the mornings and evenings it’s not so bad…part of the reason is that we’ve had nice low dewpoints (moisture in the air).  They’ve been well down into the 50s most of the time.  That’s our classic “dry heat” here in the Pacific Northwest.  None of that sweaty stuff we had last weekend.

Due to the dry air, the Heat Index (a “feels like” temperature measurement) has been quite low over our area.  Compare that to some notoriously sweaty areas:

MarkHot_CompareHumidPlaces

Key West (Florida) was 8 degrees cooler than Salem today, yet the heat index value was 10 degrees hotter!  I can attest to the heavy and sweaty feel to the air down there; that’s where I spent a few days early in June on vacation.  One bonus down there is that there’s usually some sort of easterly breeze.

There was a fire today near Mt. Adams and Oca Hoeflein’s Mt. Adams camera captured the smoke plume nicely.

Notice how it died down around sunset.  It’s possible the fire ran into the burned out area from 2012.  All through  September 2012 the Cascade Fire burned out much of the south/west sides of the mountain, eventually reaching 19,000 acres:

Capture

When a fire moves into a recently burned area there isn’t much left to burn!  Just grasses and small brush.

You may remember another large fire, the Cold Springs Fire, which burned about 8,000 acres on the SE side of the mountain in 2008.

Fireworks weather looks great tomorrow, temperatures in the 70s to around 80 right as most fireworks begin at 10pm.  Have a fun and safe holiday!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

26 Responses to At Least It’s a Dry Heat

  1. umpire says:

    At the Blues Festival and the bowl is empty. Wonder if folks will come down tonight to see Buddy Guy. Went on a blues cruise this afternoon, and it was warm on the river as well.

  2. I woke up this morning to the sight of a red/rosy sun. Lots of smoke in the air, despite the breeze . And it’s hot- my maximum for the day so far has been 95.F I’m ready for a change.

    • Paul D says:

      Agreed! I we’re owed some below normal temperatures after all the 90+ temps we have endured. How about 70 for a week?

    • Joshua says:

      It is getting ridiculous at this point. I would be surprised if June’s historical averages haven’t been skewed somewhat noticeably from that absolutely abominable month we just had. Somehow, July is starting even worse.

  3. alohabb says:

    Keep it coming summer! I love this weather!!!

  4. Paul D says:

    The 70’s are gone from the 7 day forecast….sigh….

  5. schmit44 says:

    7/4/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:105 at Arlington( 449 ft) & DW5789 Eagle Poi(1463 ft) & Medford Viaduct(1360 ft) & ALKALI FLAT(2495 ft) & LAKE OWHEE AND O(2400 ft) & BOARD(290 ft) & UMATILLA(270 ft) & DW1597 Troy(1612 ft)
    Low: 82 at Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:61 at South Beach(0 ft) & Newport(30 ft)
    Low: 43 at MCKENZIE (4770 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 51 degrees
    CW9027 Ukiah (95/44 ) (3415 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.19″ at Lorella(4160ft)
    0.15″ at STRAWBERRY(5590ft)

  6. Jason Hougak says:

    I’m right with ya Jerat416, I’m ready for winter.

  7. JERAT416 says:

    Bring on July-Uary! I want snow! I want winter! This is such adult male cow excrement. I have AC at home, but i work outside. I made it through July 2009, but it didn’t last so long. Ok, I know I’m being a troll. Just wanted someone to rant to. Ok all done. Happy Independence day everyone! Be safe and stay cool!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Absolutely!
      I’m really missing the thrill of the hunt!

    • Paul D says:

      July-Uary sounds AWESOME! You’re not being a troll, just expressing your opinion, and I like it!

  8. WEATHERDAN says:

    80 at 11:00 AM. On the way to 96. Near 100 Sunday and Monday. 99 yesterday. Next weekend looks like 80-85 and partly cloudy. Then a slow warm up to the upper 80,s. No really hot weather in sight after Thursday but it will be back most likely by the end of the month. Happy Independence day everybody. Peace.

  9. Yes, I notice morning temperatures (before 8am) are nice. it’s just the long afternoon heat the bothers me. Sometimes I’ve seen the maximum temperature delayed til 6pm or later.

  10. High Desert Mat says:

    Happy 4th all!! Everyone stay safe.

  11. runrain says:

    What’s the record for longest period at 60 deg or higher? Must be getting close. Still cool and in the low 70’s here on the east coast. First time at Fenway last night to watch the Red Sox blow another one!

  12. Eugene Dave says:

    Yay! Earthquake in Eugene. Shook the entire house.

  13. Paul D says:

    I see the days where it was below 90 have disappeared from the forecast, and next Friday has gone from 75 to 79. I’ll be surprised if we get any days below 80 before September.

  14. alohabb says:

    Maybe this has already mentioned, but what is the record for consecutive 90 degree days? With the current forecast we have to be close to a record?

  15. Which is nothing compared to the dry heat of the desert southwest obviously. Humidity in the single digits is something else. You don’t even sweat.

  16. Paul D says:

    A dry heat sure it better, but it sure saps the energy out of you quickly. I’ve been riding my bicycle to/from work, and it’s really nice at 5:30am, but way too hot at 6:30pm. Looking forward to some cooler weather so I’m not covered in sweat when I get home.

  17. schmit44 says:

    7/3/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:107 at MEDFORD PORT #2(1900 ft) & Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft)
    Low: 80 at Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft) & BLALOK(277 ft) & MEDFORD PORT #2(1900 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:56 at Newport(30 ft)
    Low: 42 at MCKENZIE (4770 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 57 degrees
    CW5507 Camp Sher (100/43 ) (3020 ft )

