Dang, It’s Hot Today!

We are in the mid 90s at 6pm…wow, what a scorcher today!  We have hit 95 in Portland, tying the hottest temperature so far this year (last Friday).  It’s possible there has been a “between-hour” high temp of 96; we’ll find out when the climate report comes out around 7:30pm.  Check out the near-100 degree temps in the valley.

PLOT_Highs_ORWA

As of today we’ve hit the 90 degree mark 10 times already this summer.

MarkHeatwaveStudio_90DegreeTemps

Add in a few more over the next 4-5 days and we will have already had our normal yearly “allotment” of 90 degree days! The crazy warm weather continues…

50 Responses to Dang, It’s Hot Today!

  1. Colin says:

    I find myself wondering if we’re going to see this kind of hot weather lasting all summer. After all its been consistently above average for the last several months. The outlook for the summer from the weather channel was showing significantly above average temps on the west coast for both July and August. This truly seems bizarre in terms of its extremity and duration…

  2. High Desert Mat says:

    Cone on Mark, dont just reply to the lying king, reply to ockman’s port as well please. We all want to hear your thoughts on that. Lol

  3. High Desert Mat says:

    I’d feel like doing what Al Bundy would do in a situation like this if I didn’t have ac. He took his family to a grocery store with some lawn chairs and cooled off for the day. Just made me think of that episode, it was a good one, especially when he drops food next to a hot female and asks her to pick it up. Lol

  4. WEATHERDAN says:

    6 out of the last 12 months have been all time records. I find that a little scary. This may indeed have happened in the past but not since 1892. That is when weather records started being kept in SLE. And we didn’t just beat the record for June we shattered it. Now July is looking to be very hot as well. NWS has some “slight” cooling on tap for next week. But we are still forecasted to be some 7-12 degrees above normal. 85-90 vs.78. And no rain in sight/ Still I really am enjoying this sunny hot weather. And I do agree with Eric that it sure beats cloudy and cool weather. That said it’s 92 at 1:30 PM. Headed for 101. Upper 90,s for Friday and Saturday then about 101 for Sunday. Lower 90,s for Monday and Tuesday then 85-90 for the rest of next week. Much better than 68 and cloudy with some afternoon sunbreaks. Or we could be having the weather that most of the Midwest and East is having. Record rainfall and a very cool Summer. Have a happy and safe Independence day weekend. Peace.

  5. With today’s technology one would think that the forecast could be slightly more accurate than it has been, lately. Wasn’t it supposed to be 104° here yesterday?

  6. paulbeugene says:

    94F at Eugene airport at 1pm, 4 degrees ahead of pace that got us to 99F yesterday. Looks to me we will have high of 101F

  7. MELISSA MEACHAM says:

    WHEN ARE WE GETTING ANY RAIN MY LAWN NEEDS IT

    • Garron near Washington square says:

      Late October looks pretty good! Until then, we only average less than 3 inches…We won’t likely see enough rain to make your lawn matter much until then. Yes, this is very early, but most years the driest 8 week period is just starting right now…We’ve only had 1″ of rain since the middle of April. Driest April through June ever…I think?

  8. runrain says:

    Runrain reporting from the location of The Worse Weather in the World, the top of Mt. Washington, New Hampshire. 45 deg and wind only gusting to 40. Was hitting 85 mph earlier today. View is awesome.

    • David B. says:

      I was there in October once. 60 degrees, light breezes, completely clear. Everyone said that was very unusual and I was very lucky to be there that day.

  9. ockman says:

    Hi Mark Nelson.
    Im enjoying the summer month’s
    I like the Nice weather outside and staying cool with the aircondishing and going swimming to.
    I Would like to know what kind of a fall 2015 and winter 2016 are we going to have?
    ARE WE GOING TO HAVE A ELNO FALL THIS YEAR?
    if we do we will get miner windstorms in sepetember October November and December January also February also march to.

  10. W7ENK says:

    My goodness, so many whiners!!

    And I’ll bet these same people will be the ones b!+c#ing about how cold and wet and dark and cloudy and long and depressing the weather is the other half of the year… sheesh! Move North!!

    I’m loving this weather, this is why I survive our crappy winters.

    • Garron near Washington square says:

      Is there a “YES!” kitty? Agreed. These last two springs/summers’ so far, have been almost morning cloud free! I hear that the warmer water off the coast has helped us out in that department.

    • Paul D says:

      I live here because normally the hot weather is brief and it cools off nicely at night. Our typical winter weather doesn’t bother me at all. Now when it is unusually warm during the winter/spring/fall I feel ripped off because I like the cooler weather.

      Why don’t you live somewhere where it’s warmer more of the year?

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I’ve evolved to the “it is what it is” state of mind. Enjoy (or tolerate) the cold, enjoy (or tolerate) the heat. Neither lasts all that long. The endless days of rain, which we haven’t seen much of the past two years, are the only thing that can eventually get on my nerves. My garden is incredible! Looks like early August out there.

    • Paul D says:

      I think I should have been more clear in my previous post. When I said “Why don’t you live somewhere where it’s warmer more of the year?”, I’m just curious why. I wasn’t trying to be rude. Peace.

    • W7ENK says:

      I’m a third generation native-born Oregonian. I live here because this is my home. This warm weather is nothing out of the ordinary — save for the extent — for which I am grateful. You can all start whining once we break the 110 degree mark, that would be unnatural for NW Oregon.

      Mark, I whole-heartedly concur!

    • Sapo says:

      Ya I’m loving it!! I really like the hot weather, looks like we might cool down a bit mid july but not that much..No precipitation in sight really. Dry but enjoyable.

    • Paul D says:

      You said the warm weather isn’t out of the ordinary except for the extent, but it’s also not normal for June to be so warm. I feel ripped off because there were only eight days in June below 80. Now here comes July when it is normally at 80 or so, and we probably won’t even be that cool for the entire month. It’s bad enough to be above 80, but above 90 is just way too much for me.

    • Garron near Washington square says:

      I just appreciate how weather stretches the imagination. I was in Vegas in late August when a monsoonal event delivered a once in a 100 year event’s worth of rain and record low/high temps in the 60’s. I lived on the Arabian gulf where school only got cancelled during extreme temps or sand storm events. I visited North Dakota when you could throw a cup of hot water in the air and have it turn to snow before hitting the ground in the winter. I’ve seen so many things that nature has to offer, it’s like a drug to me. I can’t help but get excited when vary rare weather extremes visit our neck of the woods. Watching volcanoes blow their tops, hurricanes, earthquakes, I am just in awe. I think I speak for most humans that share this planet, that we don’t wish for the carnage that it causes. We just simply wish to understand the science behind it, and have a genuine respect for mother nature’s ability to amaze us, and do what it takes to prepare for the next one.

  11. A scorching wind yesterday evening- we had some pretty strong gusts with a temperature near 92F around 6pm. Didn’t feel like Vancouver(BC) at all.

  12. High Desert Mat says:

    104 in my car today. I’m over this heat wave that probably wont end until late August. Thanks ridge.

    • Paul D says:

      Come on trough!!! Chant with me everyone!! 🙂

    • Steven says:

      Yes, we really, really need a trough. I might die of boredom (if the heat doesn’t get to me first). :/

    • Paul D says:

      The hot weather day after day after day…. yes, that is boring! We need a good change in the weather to make things exciting!

  13. schmit44 says:

    7/1/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:109 at Medford Viaduct(1360 ft) & MERLIN SEED ORCH(1144 ft)
    Low: 76 at Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:56 at Newport(30 ft)
    Low: 43 at KIRK (4519 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 53 degrees
    CW5507 Camp Sher (101/48 ) (3020 ft )

  14. MELISSA MEACHAM says:

    WHEN ARE GOING TO HAVE SOME RAIN WE NEED IT DESPERTLY I FEEL LIKE WE ARE IN AN OVEN I HATE THIS HEAT

  15. Boring Oregon says:

    It’s so dry now that I think firework bans should be considered state wide.

    • Paul D says:

      They are banned at my house. Not worth the risk. Now I’ve just got to keep an eye out because there’s always somebody in the neighborhood that goes to WA and buys all the illegal stuff that flies up high and comes down everywhere.

    • Sapo says:

      Ya I’m definitely a little nervous about some of my neighbors..We won’t be home on fourth of July either, and we had some incidents last year.

  16. runrain says:

    Got rained on at the Montreal Jazz Festival. Not complaining!

  17. Paul D says:

    Please tell me this heat is going to stop next week – PLEASE!!!!

  18. David B. says:

    Wow, local effects really held the temperature down here today. High of 80 after a low of 56. But Boeing Field made it to 89. Didn’t realize how hot it was away from the water until this post prompted me to check.

  19. W7ENK says:

    Oddly enough, with the humidity back down it doesn’t FEEL as hot as it did over the weekend…

  20. Lee Wilson says:

    Yeah, you can say that again, and we have some gusty winds in the Longview Castle Rock Area..

    One sign read 98.

