Those Funny School Kids

Every once in a while after I visit a school with my “weather roadshow” I get a bunch of “Thank You” letters from the class. It’s always great fun to see what the kids think of my visit.  One package arrived today so I read through them while I was downing some lasagna.  Funny stuff…the things kids say and write!  Here are two great examples of how those great minds work.  The first shows some serious creativity. schoolpic1 Check out the sun and cloud that pops up when I open it.  Then notice the very accurate 7 Day forecast down below.  Nice TV cabinet down below too.

The 2nd is cool because this girl obviously has something else on her mind…JELLYFISH!  school2  She squeezed a thank-you, a question, and an educational page/pics all into one 4×5″ space.   Check out that multi-tasking.  And no, I didn’t know you shouldn’t put a moon jellyfish with a spotted jellyfish…interesting stuff.

I go to 20-30 schools each school year, and one year I somehow made it to 55.  I really do enjoy visiting and I know a lot of these kids will remember that for the rest of their lives.  You might think I’m being a bit dramatic, but listen to this:  I still clearly remember a woman from 7-UP visiting my 4th grade class down in Monitor telling us about “citric acid” and she even brought free samples…quite a luxury in the 1970s.  And I also vividly remember missing out when Jeff Renner (KING-TV Chief Meteorologist in Seattle) visited my high school (W.F. West in Chehalis) around 1986.  I was so mad about that; didn’t know he was coming until after he had left.

I think any change from the usual routine sticks out in kid’s minds.  And hey, I get them out of spelling or math for 45 minutes so they probably like it when I show up.

By the way, if you’re a teacher, we do have a sign-up form on the weather page at http://www.kptv.com.  The bad news is that we’re full for this year.  We’ll be signing up classes again in August/September.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

47 Responses to Those Funny School Kids

  1. Jason Hougak says:

    That Pit 36 fire was 4 miles from my house. This winter is much worse than last year. At least we had typical winter weather except for “June”uary. The winter snowpack is dismal with no snowpack and warmth continuing Oregon is going to be a dry tinderbox. Never would I have expected two very unusual winters back to back. I only pray that this is a once in a lifetime event. If this continues the Cascades will not have glaciers much longer. The Swiss are working hard to preserve what’s left of their glaciers. I enjoy summer but come on… it’s winter and we need mountain snowpack badly!

  2. WEATHERDAN says:

    GFS meteograms go out to Feb 7. No sign of cold and very little moisture. In fact it looks real warm. Stick a fork in Winter it’s done. Really it never got started. Just one long extended Autumn this year. Isn’t this great. My heating bils are down by more than 20% over last year. It’s looking more and more likely that an early Spring is on tap.Along with cheap gas prices this warm weather is a real bonus. Peace.

  3. Garron near Washington square says:

    Future theoretical physics majors I am sure thanks to you Mark! Maybe she’ll be able to use jelly fish to predict weather patterns? Life altering speaking events should be used more in schools. I think I learned about 10% of my American history from teachers’, 90% from the history channel. Special guest appearances in classes made WAY more of an impression on me in school! That and a field trip to Mt. St. Helens, or watching Jim Little do the weather in the studio when I was 13. I never read so many books until after such events…

  4. Brian Schmit says:

    1/21/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:58 at TOKETEE(3360 ft) & DW1265 Newport(164 ft) & YELLOWSTONE MTN.(3080 ft)
    Low: 49 at RED MOUND(1753 ft) & QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:22 at MORGAN MOUNTAIN(4200 ft)
    Low: 3 at UNITY DAM AND BU (3757 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 34 degrees
    CRAZYMAN FLAT (47/13 ) (6100 ft )

  5. If golbal warming/climate change were to be true would that help out the honey bees? With the warming the winters would be warmer so more would survive the winter right? Just a though what do yall think?

    • Jake-(Gresham) says:

      More spiders and wasps as well which kills bees I’m afraid.

      Btw, global warming is a measure of the average temperature change of the globe due to green house gases. Climate change refers to the long-term change in the Earth’s climate. Two very different things, just fyi. 🙂

    • That should say thought**

    • Well people are saying this crapfest winter is because of global warming and it has been calm and warmer than normal.

  6. W7ENK says:

    Daffodils in January??

    FORK OFF!!!

  7. Jake-(Gresham) says:

    http://www.msn.com/en-us/weather/topstories/major-snowstorm-may-hit-i-95-corridor-from-dc-to-nyc-boston/ar-AA8reiK

    “Unlike many storms this winter, this particular one has the potential to bring a foot of snow to some locations, where rain fails to mix in.”

    Sigh….. cries

  8. W7ENK says:

    45 minutes of this morning’s sunrise over the Willamette River from Downtown Portland compressed into 15 seconds.

    Enjoy! 🙂

    • MasterNate says:

      That has to be one of the most beautiful sunrises I have ever seen. I would bet that would rival any other, anywhere in the world except maybe from the space station. Great job Tyler!

  9. LongtimeLurker says:

    What about preschool visits? Do you think 4-5 year olds are too young?

  10. Brian Schmit says:

    Check out this mornings GFS model.

    • pdxgeologist says:

      Jeepers!

    • W7ENK says:

      With an 850mb temp of +18C, I see a massive inversion setting up. I don’t see those 60s verifying at PDX. 40 degrees and fog down in the valleys should be fun, but Government Camp will be getting a taste of Summer this weekend! 70 degrees, maybe?

    • Bryan in Beaverton says:

      So Sunday is going to be 40 and fog in Portland? Was hoping to BBQ in some nice weather…

    • W7ENK says:

      This time of year, when it’s that warm up above, generally that’s the case, yes. But, as always, I guess anything can happen, so we shall see…

    • Bryan in Beaverton says:

      40 and fog sounds more realistic than 60 and sun. Either way it won’t stop me from BBQing I guess.

      #fox12unstoppable

    • Boydo3 N. Albany elev. just under 500' says:

      Depends on the offshore gradients if we get socked in or not. Get some mixing and….BAM! Sunshine here we go……I hope.
      The south coast will once again be the right destination for a road trip.

    • Brian Leroy says:

      What goes up must come down and march madness is right around the corner.

  11. Terri Nelsen says:

    Very cute, but teacher needs to spell check “NelsEn” lol

  12. pdxgeologist says:

    I’ve done a few geology talks for elementary kids – mostly at my kids schools. I did one for my daughters class at the International School in Amsterdam (4th or 5th grade, I think). Had it all planned out, but about 30 seconds in, the hands started going up and it then became an 2 hours (it was supposed to be 1) of “are there volcanoes where I live”, what’s the biggest earthquake ever in my country”, “is quicksand for real”, etc.. It was so cool to see them engaged, and, it being an international school in the true sense, dozens of countries were represented. About a week after I returned to the states, I received 3 over-sized, laminated class murals (there were 3 classes at the talk) with drawings of volcanoes and mountains, and many thank yous in several languages. I still have them after 15 years. Kids are great!

  13. Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

    I seem to remember an astronaught visiting my school in Longview when I was in elementary. Don’t recall details or anything like that (I have a pretty crappy memory. I like to blame it on multiple concussions) it would have been late 80’s early 90’s.

  14. Brian Schmit says:

    1/20/2015 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:58 at EW4856 Brookings(1365 ft) & Yaquina Bridge W(120 ft)
    Low: 44 at LINCON Lincoln C(187 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:23 at CW7477 Lostine(7002 ft)
    Low: 7 at ANEROID LAKE #2 (7300 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 31 degrees
    CRAZYMAN FLAT (45/14 ) (6100 ft )

  15. Bryan in Beaverton says:

    Awesome you do this Mark. It does leave an impact on kids.

    I remember going on a field trip to KGW in the early 80’s and meeting Jim Little. He showed us weather maps and how they made their forecasts. It got me interested in weather for the rest of my life. Now I’m posting on your blog so you can thank Mr. Little for that! lol

  16. Great view of the comet tonight! It’s hard to see with the city lights, but if you are looking, grab some binos, look for the Pleiades (currently straight up in the sky) then go a little to the right and down from them. It’s just a green glow, but still cool to see!

    http://spaceweathergallery.com/comet_gallery.html

    • Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

      Fogged in here in kelso. Totally forgot to look earlier when it was clear. Burning some brush I noticed the stars were looking vivid, totally “spaced” on the comet though. Woops.

    • David B. says:

      Saw it last night myself, too (using binoculars). Maybe if I had gotten out of town and let my eyes get fully dark-adjusted I could have just barely made out a smudge with my naked eyes, but I didn’t think that worth the effort. Hopefully we’ll get something like Hyakutake, Hale-Bopp or West again soon.

  17. dharmabum says:

    I remember in grade school back in the early ’60’s that the Gladstone Police Chief came to a school assembly and yodeled. Impressed me enough that I remember to this day!

  18. Lindsey predicts better than you Mark!:)

  19. Sapo says:

    Lol! Love the jellyfish one. Those are kids in my brother’s class!

  20. Dringus says:

    ahahaha awesome! Lindsey already beats me down in artistic talent and I’m gonna assume Kendra already knows far more about jellyfish than I ever will. Let’s see em interpret the GFS at 280 hours though!

  21. Seahawks Fan - East Vancouver says:

    Pretty awesome. Any cost to the school or do you guys volunteer your time?

