6:45pm: Storm Dying Down

Real busy, but I’ll blog again in the next couple hours to wrap things up.

PGE outages appear to have peaked around 85,000, which is similar to the October storm but far short of previous windstorms over the last 20 years.  More on that later.

Wind is dying down slowly, but the speeds should really drop off the next two hours.

MarkWind_PeakGustPDX

Portland Airport had a peak gust of 67 mph, which is the strongest in that location since 1971, 1981, 1995, or 2000…depending on how you measure it and who said it!  Ahhh, social media…  That’s a meteorologically-loaded topic!  Should be a fun one to discuss on the blog on the post later.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

37 Responses to 6:45pm: Storm Dying Down

  1. Jake-(Gresham) says:

    So my neighborhood is adjacent to a park which has a ton of fir trees and I rounded the street bend literally just right into this side street just covered in limbs and branches. That woke me up…

  2. David B. says:

    So far, basically a garden variety windstorm up this way. Lights have flickered a number of times but still on. The outflow winds late last month were much more damaging in my locale (so far).

  3. Dramatic weather fan says:

    I unofficially had a wind gust in the 70’s in LC!!! Strongest winds Ive ever witnessed.

  4. Boring says:

    Im a new blogger

  5. W7ENK says:

    Winds tapered off quickly, all quiet in the Milwaukie Dome. Still an occasional gust, but nothing more than 30, and very few and far between.

    Quick hitter.

    I’d really like the kind of windstorm with peak gusts lasting 10-12 hours. Those are the really good ones!

  6. mistree says:

    troutdale has nothing going on… WHY????

  7. Shaun says:

    Power totally out in my little corner of Boring… About 20 minutes ago. Down the using the old Data Jack for internet, hehehe….

  8. PurpleHaze says:

    Nothing hardly at all on the east side here in Aumsville/Salem area. October was actually more impressive though I admit a few gusts got that strong.

    October had several more power blips then this one where I was playing arcades at a pizza place which the electricity reset everything but I didn’t mind as I knew it would likely happen and was neat to see.

    Funny how both storms peaked around the same time actually.

  9. I think I have a good handle on why the winds ramped significantly up despite a meager PDX-EUG peaking at -6.5mb and PDX-MFR gradient maxing out at only at -8.3mb. Typically the rule of thumb for gusts in the northern Willamette Valley of even just 40-45mph you need a PDX-MFR of -12mb. The pressure pattern between Portland and Medford was far less than ideal or impressive. Remember a few WRF runs showed a PDX-EUG of -12 to -14mb! NOW that would have been insane widespread damage would have occurred. This low was strong, but occlusion did not swing inland over us. The culprit, at least I believe so, was the strong jet streak modeled over 140mph that blasted up from the south-southwest(Many of the 250mb GFS images I posted showed this) moved right up over the Willamette Valley. Humidity values dropped significantly too under the very warm air mass. You can see this as well on Water Vapor Imagery this evening how it races up quickly as the low lifted northward. I believe that caused extremely efficient mixing of the very strong winds aloft(seen on several WRF 4km soundings) towards the surface. The winds aloft were aligned almost identically with the N-S isobaric field over the Willamette Valley too for good momentum transfer forced downward. At least that’s as much as my puny amateur weather geek mind can grasp. Feel free to chime in if any of this is incorrect.

    • ChiefWright (Marquam) says:

      I don’t disagree with your analysis. My amateur weather geek mind is significantly more puny.

      Though I think the surface mixing — though perhaps efficient– was not very uniform. My impression of this event is that the surface winds have been extremely choppy.

      I remember the wind at the surface was much less choppy in the ’95. And during the strongest wind, I recall there was complete cloud cover. I remember driving to Salem & back that afternoon, and the wind seemed extremely flat and strong. I could manage driving fine since I just needed to keep a constant compensation.

      Today, during my drive back home, I was all over the road trying to keep compensated with the blustery wind. And cloud cover has been quite variable all day.

      I bet, if someone could integrate average windspeed, this event had significantly less average energy than ’95.

      That’s not to say it was less damaging or exciting!

  10. After waiting and waiting the Wind Storm finally arrived east of I-205 around 5-6 PM! I was outside for about an hour experiencing(and enjoying)very strong gusts over 50mph and there was one particular burst of 63mph! that nearly snapped both my Fir and Elm tree in half! There is tree damage. It ripped some of my neighbors shed apart and pieces of the roof are in my back yard. I witnessed many power flashes off to my south-southeast also. I was standing in my driveway keeping an eye on our trees and wow that gust was incredible and a bit scary. I would hear the wind building to my south, then surprisingly to my east, then it just hit out of nowhere with incredible force and with a terrific sound. Comparing to the major wind storm of 2006 this was really quite similar. I would have to think this is now bordering on a Major Windstorm criteria? Just think we went from gust 45-50+, to gust 45-55 maybe 60mph, then back to 45-55, and ended up with 60mph+! A legitimate Wind Storm has again finally struck Northwest Oregon and Southwest Washington!

    …. So, why was it stronger than expected? My next post is about that.

  11. ChiefWright (Marquam) says:

    Mark, I think your analysis about spotty peaks is spot-on. You mentioned earlier that clearing skies with more daytime heating would produce better mixing at the surface. But the clearing wasn’t widespread, which left for, mayI say, a “lumpy” layer at the ground.
    Once the wind picked up, what clouds were there were just screaming by. And periodically there would be a monster gust at the surface. But mostly the average wind would be significantly lower. So I think the surface mixing was very spotty, leading to spotty peaks
    And when I look at almost any station’s windspeed, they’re all very choppy until sundown, then they’ve moderated somewhat.
    I remember ’95. Here in the valley, the wind was much more flat and constant.

  12. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Ya, let’s see, was that a 50mph 3 second gust, or was it a 45mph 5 second gust? 60mph instant gust perhaps?

  13. Eric says:

    I assumed it must have been windy somewhere because it was dead calm here in the gorge near Corbett, and it was sunny. If that happens in December, something is going on…

  14. I’m sure everybody will like me opinion!

  15. What’s the next post gonna be about?

  16. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Was the real deal here for a time. Wonder if you folks up north will get some of the wild stuff.

    http://weather.cod.edu/satrad/nexrad/index.php?type=LGX-N0Q-1-12

  17. David B. says:

    House just shuddered from the first gust moments ago. It’s here….

  18. Best south windstorm hands down here since Dec of ’95.
    What’s really amazing is that this is the 2nd one to follow the “classic windstorm” path this year. This rarely happens.
    Got to get back to cleaning up…..

