3pm: Wind Hitting Hard

Stuff is getting real now!

Some big gusts out there in the last 30 minutes:  61 at Aurora and McMinnville airports!  49 at Forest Grove, 69 on Chehalem Mtn.  I see a 55mph in a neighborhood in Tigard.  So we’re getting random strong gusts surfacing at times.  Out on Mt. Hebo at 3,000′ a gust to 130 mph too.

Lots of damage reports coming into the newsroom as well.  And PGE power outages suddenly jumped up to around 20,000 customers.

Coast still underperforming compared to forecasts.

Hang on the next 2-3 hours during the peak of the wind…

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

37 Responses to 3pm: Wind Hitting Hard

  1. Wind just bent in the door of my garden shed and the started to lift it. Ran outside and weighted it down with bricks. We shall see if it lasts. Hope so. Otherwise I’m going to be hunting in neighbors yards for my garden tools. Yikes!

    • I live on the south coast of Oregon between Bandon and Port Orford and I was told yesterday ( I was coming home from being gone for 6 days) that the winds were at 85 at Cape Blanco, but looking at my trees I would say the winds were well over 70 here because I have so many large branches down. Anyone know the official wind speed?

  2. Tyler Mode says:

    53 mph at my station in Battle Ground. Highest I’ve recorded here in my 4 years.

  3. Sapo says:

    Very, VERY windy in Tigard, was walking on the street and got completely blasted by wind lol!

  4. Moosieman says:

    Power is out in downtown castle rock. Been out in the delameter valley for an hour

  5. mistree says:

    New to posting but have read here for quite sometime. You all are fascinating with your knowledge.
    I live in east county, close to 84 at troutdale. is this going to affect us too or just west of 205?

  6. Ron says:

    Breezy in Astoria, but nothing more than that.

  7. Wendy-Silverlake, Wa says:

    Power went out here for a few minutes, then came back on but the lights are really dim.

  8. PurpleHaze says:

    Is this going to be a west side only event of the valley? You’d think that outage totals would be higher for Marion County with 60mph winds.

  9. Tyler Mode says:

    45 mph at my house

  10. Sensor on the Interstate Bridge just hit a gust of 51mph.

  11. Jon SE/PDX says:

    A few pretty gnarly gusts just swept through inner SE. They seem to be steadily increasing in frequency and MPH. Bring it

  12. alohabb says:

    Reports from family…15th floor window blown out at Standard BLDG downtown and startin “sucking” stuff out the window into the street ..Evacuation of bldg

  13. Tyler Mode says:

    Whoa! Pressure is rising rapidly! 29.20″ Up 1 mb in 10 minutes

  14. goducks09 says:

    Damage to The Standard building in downtown. Fire trucks and police are blocking streets.

  15. andydthh@gmail.com says:

    A piece of the Pac West Tower just ripped off the southeast corner of the building and smashed into some of the windows in the Standard Insurance building across the street.

  16. Shawn says:

    I live for this weather, I hate being stuck at work!!!

  17. Tyler Mode says:

    WHOA…Clark County just jumped to 16,000 without power

  18. Tyler Mode says:

    36 mph at my house. 40,000 without power in Portland, 3,500 in Clark County

  19. oldwxwatcher says:

    Just a bit breezy so far here in E Portland. Winds running 15-20 mph with a high gust (so far) of 28 mph.

  20. I can’t wait to get out of the office for the day to go out and get into the storm and see what it’s doing outside of the trees blowing outside of my office.

  21. W7ENK says:

    I hope it’s not all over with by the time I get home… :-/

  22. alohabb says:

    Washington County 911 map lit up like a dang christmas tree! AMAZING

  23. Fred482 says:

    Trees & wires down all over the valley. Emergency calls are moving from south to north, just verifies the storm movement. Stay safe!

  24. Now we’re talking!

    3 PM – 3 hr Pressure Change Chart. Much better pressure rises now surging up from the south-southwest. A dramatic change from last hour.

  25. Tyler Mode says:

    35 mph in Battle Ground. Nothing major yet.

  26. alohabb says:

    Getting NAILED in Wash. County! 13k+ in outages

  27. Just over 30,000 power outages now

  28. Ryan says:

    A bust my a**!

  29. Paul D says:

    Already have a tree down a few blocks from my house (Hillsboro). Leaves blowing everywhere!

