Sunday…A Spectacular Day!

Bright sunshine and temperatures well into the 70s on October 19th; no wonder I saw a lot of people outside today as I found the end of the Springwater Trail!  At 3pm the temperature is 74 at PDX, likely headed for a high of 75-77.  The record for the day is 78 so we probably won’t hit it.  Still, it was great to bicycle outside in the sunshine as if it was summer.  At least this will make winter come a bit faster mentally.

As for the Springwater Trail, that’s the paved bike/walk/hike path that goes 22 miles from Downtown Portland to Boring.  The last 2 miles or so were just paved withing the last couple of years and were especially smooth.  My son and I rode from Gresham out to Boring this afternoon.  Officially the trail ends there…for now, and the trail becomes the Cazadero Trail at that point. The next 3 miles of the old railroad bed are an improved gravel surface which was really easy on mountain bikes, actually a bit better than my driveway.  IMG_0593  It heads downhill along the north fork of Deep Creek.  You only pass 2 or 3 homes otherwise you are in the woods.  At the 3 mile mark the trail suddenly ends at a dropoff.  There used to be a railroad trestle at that location; all that’s left is the concrete abutment.IMG_0592  At this point you are only 1/4 mile or so from Hwy. 224 at Barton, just above Barton Park.   Obviously it’s not going to be cheap to get the trail down to the highway, but from what I read online, the plan is to finish the trail to Estacada or a little beyond to one of those dams.  For now you have to turn around and go back uphill to Boring, which was only about 300′ up in elevation.  It’s also interesting that when bicycling the 6 miles from Gresham to Boring, you really don’t notice that you’re going uphill, but you can sure feel it coming back…significantly faster.  Reminds me of my big bicycle ride last year from Elgin to Joseph.  In 35 miles you climb around 2,700′, yet it’s just barely noticeable…mostly you just feel like you’re getting a little lazy and pudgy.

I hope you all were able to get outside and enjoy the beautiful weather because the chance of us hitting 70 degrees again is pretty slim.  Take a look at the 12z ECMWF meteogram…lots of wet and much cooler as temperatures really fall off over the next 10 days.  KPDX_2014101912_dx_240

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

36 Responses to Sunday…A Spectacular Day!

  1. Tyler Mode says:

    It was a rainy and windy day Monday, and Mother Nature is way behind on color, but still, it was a great day to get out and take some pics 🙂

  2. schmit44 says:

    10/20/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:78 at LAKE OWHEE AND O(2400 ft) & MALHEUR RIVER BE(3305 ft) & Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft) & GRANDE RONDE RIV(1594 ft)
    Low: 58 at EW1135 Yachats1(32 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:42 at IRISH TAYLOR(5500 ft) & Lagoon(6370 ft) & SWAN LAKE MTN(6800 ft)
    Low: 23 at HEREFORD (3599 ft ) & CRANE PRAIRIE (5500 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 49 degrees
    HEREFORD (72/23 ) (3599 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    2.51″ at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183ft)
    2.23″ at EW4856 Brookings(1365ft)
    1.85″ at RED MOUND(1753ft)
    1.55″ at BROOKINGS(79ft)
    1.50″ at BIGELOW CAMP(5120ft)
    1.24″ at BUCKEYE(2264ft)
    1.14″ at Brookings Airpor(459ft)

  3. Jason Hougak says:

    Radar showing a steady solid heavy band passing through Eastern Washington stretching from I-84 in Oregon all the way into BC. Weather sure is starting to get much more exciting to watch!
    I worked in the coast range cleaning out a well for Keening Campground and installing a hand pump. Had a nice day with only a 30 or so minutes of steady rain. Heading back at 2pm and were inundated by a monster cell. Hwy 26 was a pond and it nearly turned dark. Was very surprised not to see any lightning.
    Now if only we could shake this blasted warm air mass!

  4. Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

    .76″ in one hour at Castle Rock

  5. schmit44 says:

    I decided to put together a Weather Contest Archive since we have been doing these for 2.5 years now. Its not complete yet but most of 2012 and 2013 are listed.
    https://www.facebook.com/Portland.Weather.Contests

    • Garron near Washington Square says:

      Who’s Nicole P? She’s consistently in the top 5! I crack the top 10, I’m literally on cloud nine! Especially if I beat big dogg Nelsen!

    • Lauraholic says:

      That’s Brian’s woman. He obviously helps her 😛

  6. dharmabum says:

    Mark, glad to hear you liked the Cazadero trail, and yes they did finish most of the trail from Barton to Eagle Creek, I take the dog on that part of the trail frequently during the winter months as the wide gravel trail keeps our feet mostly dry! Fisherman have been bringing in the Coho’s near Barton Park. (There are several (undeveloped) Metro areas for hiking and fishing and can be accessed from Eaden Rd. which is the road my farm is on. Come out and enjoy the Clackamas River!

  7. schmit44 says:

    10/19/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:82 at CW5302 Roseburg( 410 ft) & CW6811 Grants Pa(947 ft) & NATRON(518 ft)
    Low: 61 at Gold Beach(16 ft) & Florence Municip(52 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:51 at Timberline Lodge(7001 ft)
    Low: 21 at Lakeview, Lake C (4734 ft ) & CW0732 Seneca (4665 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 51 degrees
    Lakeview, Lake C (72/21 ) (4734 ft )

  8. schmit44 says:

    The Springwater trail holds a place close in my heart. I owned a house for nearly 14 years at the base of Powell Butte Nature Park and it was always a blast to ride all the way past Boring to the end of the trail. I bet I did that at least 250 times. My record time was 38 minutes from 156th and Powell to the end of the trail 2 miles or so past Boring.

  9. vernonia1 says:

    Mark..if you ever decide to take the fam camping…there are camping cabins @ Stubb Stewart State Park & 21 mile bike trail (starts in Banks,OR & continues to Vernonia) paved & shady for the most part. If you start in Banks you cross an amazing trestle 🙂

  10. I’ve never needed a bike ride to tell me if I’m getting a little lazy and pudgy…

  11. josh "the snowman" from everett, wa says:

    Anyone see the lightning in wilsonville? What the?

  12. Joe says:

    It starts up again in Barton, the section from Barton to the Eagle creek trestle is already finished

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Did they just do it in the past year or so? Because on Google Maps it doesn’t show up. I bet that’s the other high dollar fix. That’ll be an expensive bridge too. By the way, I found that the bridge at the location my picture was taken burned before WWII. So it’s been gone for 80 years.

  13. JohnD says:

    Good stuff. During our 16 1/2 year “end of growing family” years in Troutdale, we biked the Springwater many times from Gresham Main Park on down to OMSI. Now the kids are grown, we have moved back into town–and we occasionally make the ride in reverse. Fun stuff for sure!

  14. Partial inversion in the eastern Gorge today! Low clouds and fog didn’t break up until about noon, and The Dalles topped out at 72-73 instead of the 76 I was thinking…For a few hours this morning it was actually a bit scary.

  15. I had two big lawns to mow but it was a very beautiful and warm fall day. I won’t miss it though…..I am more than happy to see the cold rain moving in. My kind of weather. When others post about getting outdoors because of the gorgeous weather I’m happy for them but I look forward to getting outdoors in the cold, wind and rain. I stay indoors when everyone goes outdoors and I go outdoors when everyone heads indoors. I spend FAR more time outside when it’s snowing than any other time. Weird eh?

  16. W7ENK says:

    I’ve never been up to the end, but I keep meaning to ride it all the way one of these summers. I guess it ends where an old Portland Traction Co. Railroad trestle used go be, washed out and basically ended the railroad.

    Great day for outdoor activities! We found ourselves driving past your house, Mark. Took the kids to the top of Larch Mountain, then down the back way to Bridal Veil. Accidentally stumbled upon a couple chantrelles on a random stop to wander the woods. We had our fill of those yesterday, Boringlarry took Laura and I on a little excursion up his way and we hit the jackpot. Chantrelles and oysters, and about 50 other species we didn’t know… and a fantastic little creek.

    What a great weekend! 🙂

    • Garron near Washington Square says:

      I am envious! That whole area is such a magical garden in our back yard! Next summer, I must hike from the bottom of the falls to the top of Sherrard Point again, (Larch Mtn). Just got my bbq going, and the best summer/fall continues like I am dreaming! Don’t worry rain lovers, the alarm clock is about to go off again! We just hit the snooze alarm for a couple more days…

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Did you go down Palmer Mill Rd. Erik? That’s about as steep as it gets. In fact I’ve tried to ride it uphill twice on the mountain bike but it’s a waste of time because you keep slipping on the gravel. I have walked about 1/2 of it each time.

    • W7ENK says:

      No, we went down Alex Barr Rd. We passed a massive Doug Fir “Ent” that could probably tell us stories of the days when Lewis and Clark came through, bark at least 12-18 inches thick and a trunk no less than 8 feet in diameter.

      We also found DJR’s house about 2/3 of the way down… that was creepy!

      I have been down another steep, windy and bumpy gravel road in that area before, it’s the one that drops you right into the parking lot at the Angel’s Rest Trailhead — not sure of the name. I can’t imagine riding a bike up that, no thank you!

    • Brandan - Damascus 675ft says:

      One day, W7ENK will get a harassment charge filed against him by DJR. Lots of evidence on this blog. ORS166.065

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Haha! It’s the scary house at the bottom of Alex Barr Rd. There has never been writing on that house though, must be someone having fun for Halloween. That is a real creepy road to drive up or down in the dark in dense fog! Riding a bike up that rode isn’t nearly as bad as Palmer Mill.

    • Tyler Mode says:

      I remember driving down Alex Barr in my truck…lowest gear I could get into and I was slumped forward the entire way down because it was so steep. Couldn’t imagine going up!

    • W7ENK says:

      Brandan, if you’re so confident, then go ahead and get those charges going ASAP. I can’t wait for them to be dismissed after a very brief session in an interrogation room…

    • High Desert Mat says:

      DJR?

  17. runrain says:

    The Springwater Trail is awesome! You just have to stay clear of some of the homeless encampments near Foster. The stretch from Sellwood over the three bridges to 45th is very scenic, as is the part near Powell Butte near 152nd or so.

  18. paulbeugene says:

    Warm rains, blustery winds. Rough surf here in Poipu. I might never get closer to an eye than I did this morning.

