3pm Tuesday…Turning into a Scorcher Today

Wow, already up to 91 at PDX at 3pm. PLOT_Temps_Metro  I have a feeling we’ll end up around 94 degrees.  If you’re tired of hot weather, hang on, after tomorrow’s high in the upper 80s temperatures plummet and the 7-10 day period looks more like September.

24 Responses to 3pm Tuesday…Turning into a Scorcher Today

  1. schmit44 says:

    8/26/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:101 at ILLINOIS VALLEY(1389 ft)
    Low: 67 at ROCKHOUSE 1(1797 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:55 at Newport(30 ft)
    Low: 29 at Horse Ridge (US (4160 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 52 degrees
    ILLINOIS VALLEY (101/49 ) (1389 ft )
    CW5507 Camp Sher (89/37) (3020 ft)

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.07″ at DW4535 Cannon Be(23ft)

  2. cgavic says:

    Although, you said the system coming in will amount to 70’s, sun, clouds, drizzle or very light sparatic rain drops. Nothing major. I’m hoping to have a nice sunny September.

  3. cgavic says:

    We were 93 in sandy Oregon. I don’t know where the 86 came from.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Where did you hear it was 86? I looked on Mesowest stations and see a 92 a few miles to the SW (Eagle Creek), a 91 at Kelso Rd/Hwy 26, and 89 at Shorty’s Corner. 93 is possible, but a little warm. Those were current temps at 3pm up above

  4. John Liu says:

    I think July was record breaking, or at least record equalling, for heat in some Oregon cities, maybe including Portland.

    Any guesses on whether August will be similar?

    • AdamInAumsville says:

      August is running significantly warmer than average. This weekend will put a “dent” in things though. Will probably still make top five warmest Augusts for Portland.

  5. Shane in Vancouver says:

    bring on the rain! oh and wind and hail and whatever else! I wanna model ride!

  6. Boydo3 N. Albany says:

    Yep, another 90+ day down this way. How many? Lost count at 20. I think my sun batteries are charged and ready for some…..RAIN!. At least some cooler days. Seems like too many 85 to 90 something days. Much more than average. Usually we get lots of the 80 to 85 days but this summer is definitely hotter. Parched.

    • AdamInAumsville says:

      Number of 90+ degree days so far this year (through today):

      Portland – 16
      Salem – 25
      Eugene – 28

    • AdamInAumsville says:

      And max temps so far for 2014:

      Portland – 99
      Salem – 99
      Eugene – 101

  7. High Desert Mat says:

    Anyone know where Josh “the snowman” went? Haven’t heard from him on this blog in awhile. Maybe Seattle has him busy, with all the Seahawks fun stuff going on. Last I heard he is moving back to the area in about a week. Gladstone to Oregon city area to be exact.

  8. David B. says:

    It’s certainly been a warm summer. It would be personally more impressive to me if I hadn’t moved to a place so affected by salt water a year and a half ago (it’s cooler than Seattle here, which is in turn cooler than Portland).

    I’ve lost count how many 80+ days we’ve had. At least a dozen would be my guess, maybe as many as 18. Last year only a handful. Today is of course another one.

    I expect the fog season to start soon. Last year there were already regular morning fogs by this time of year.

  9. High Desert Mat says:

    Is it me or does it seem like KOIN kind of copies and pastes Marks forecasts? I mean, look at their 7 day, it seems like it usually is pretty similar.

  10. Mike says:

    So…. counting tomorrow how many days were 90 and above this year?

    T.I.A.

  11. Currently 92 here. Those upcoming 70’s look nice!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Yes!
      Help get rid of the drippiness I got going on, which is sweat!

      Working on a metal roof in this kinda weather is testing my
      drippiness producing abilities. Hahaah!

  12. W7ENK says:

    Weird, I clicked reply to my previous comment… o_O

  13. W7ENK says:

    Drippiness… 😥

    You’re breakin’ my heart, Mark!

  14. W7ENK says:

    Good! Probably the last 90 degree day of 2014, so I intend to enjoy every last moment of it…

    I’ll miss them when they’re gone.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      I agree. Mine will probably be tomorrow and or Thursday but I’m enjoying every minute of it. Its not too far away to where we’ll be seeing pants and jacket weather. Last year was brutal here when we had the arctic blasts. Highs in single digits and lows well below zero.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      You can remember them as you sit in the drippiness for the following 9 months 🙂

  15. MasterNate says:

    Cant wait for the fall weather and some rain. Any chance the moisture from the Hurricane gets brought up here by Saturday night?

