Cooler Today, Much Cooler at the Coast

11pm Thursday…

 

MarkTemp_SinceMidnightPDX_Bars_Hot_11pm

Quite a bit cooler today with temps only in the lower 80s around the metro area, although that was STILL 15 degrees above average!

But we’re cooling quickly this evening with temps already mainly in the 55-65 degree range in the metro area.  Cooler marine air is coming up the Columbia River and also moving in through gaps in the Coast Range.  Speaking of that, check out the temperature change from highs yesterday to the 5pm temperatures today!

MarkCoast_Hot_CoolTemps2

This continues tomorrow so high temps should drop about 10 degrees = unusually warm weather is over.

That said, after cool showers this weekend it appears we have another warmer period starting on Tuesday.  You can see that in the ECMWF meteogram from this morning’s run:

KPDX_2014051512_dx_240

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

49 Responses to Cooler Today, Much Cooler at the Coast

  1. High Desert Mat says:

    Was over in the Beavercreek area this weekend. Saturday night had some torrential downpours and frequent lightning and thunder. Then on Sunday in the early afternoon had a few more t-storms around Marks old stomping grounds, I was at the monitor inn. Remember that little place Mark?

  2. W7ENK says:

    What a wild weekend! Unfortunately, ALL the action missed The Dome, but I guess that’s to be expected. Fortunately, I wasn’t in The Dome for most of the action, so I actually got to experience some of it!

    Saturday night, that little storm that came up out of Salem stayed active right up until it reached the Southern edge of Milwaukie, where it abruptly stopped producing. That was incredibly lame, especially considering it now becomes the SECOND time I sat out with my neighbors across the street waiting patiently for a storm to arrive that failed, so now their grandson doesn’t believe in thunderstorms, he thinks they’re made up and only in movies… o_O

    Yesterday however, I spent the day in the direct line of fire near 120th & SE Market. Over an hour of continuous thunder and DUMPING rains for the better part of 3, big fat drops and at times with a little hail mixing in. Made it hard to perform our concert! I swear we had close to two inches of rain come down in the three hours we were there, considering several vehicles in the parking lot became inundated with nearly a foot of standing water. Only 0.17″ in my gauge when I returned home, doubled in the 20 minutes immediately after I pulled in my driveway. Closed out the day with 0.38″

    Hoping for some action in Milwaukie before this pattern disappears!

  3. chiefWright (Marquam) says:

    Biblical downpours, indeed. I was out most of the afternoon, but the driveway was a creek when I got home. And 1.16″ in the bucket! Guess I don’t need to water the garden this morning. If there’s anything left after that battering…

  4. schmit44 says:

    5/18/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:74 at Hermiston Munici( 636 ft)
    Low: 58 at HEPP(311 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:35 at Timberline Lodge(7001 ft)
    Low: 27 at DIMLKE (4726 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 29 degrees
    EW1140 Umatilla (73/44 ) (364 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    1.64″ at DW0160 Turner(308ft)
    1.61″ at WH6KO St Helens(79ft)
    1.58″ at YELLOWSTONE MTN.(3080ft)
    1.53″ at EW3720 Lebanon(535ft)

  5. Max in Fairview says:

    Dumping buckets of rain

  6. Dringus says:

    3 or 4 claps of thunder and some biblical downpours out here near 160th in Beaverton.

  7. Mike (Orchards 255') says:

    Nice little 0.35″ of rain between 2:30 and 3:30 this am.

  8. Karl Bonner says:

    I hope you all planted plenty of corn and tomatoes and peppers and melons and whatever else does well in warm weather, because this looks like an ideal year for such stuff:

    http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/predictions/long_range/seasonal.php?lead=1

    • Ted Berry says:

      If you haven’t planted your vegetables yet, you can come out to Arbor Del Farm for your starts.

  9. schmit44 says:

    5/17/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:83 at LAKE OWHEE AND O(2400 ft) & Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft) & ONTARIO(2260 ft)
    Low: 62 at HEPP(311 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:45 at Timberline Lodge(6001 ft)
    Low: 22 at Horse Ridge (US (4160 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 45 degrees
    Horse Ridge (US (67/22 ) (4160 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.39″ at WILLAMETTE RIVER(50ft)
    0.28″ at DW6123 Beaverton(295ft)
    0.24″ at EW1914 Portland(151ft)
    0.22″ at DW2889 West Linn(650ft)

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Schmit, I can’t wait to see the rainfall totals for today. Gotta be close to a record — if not here in PDX then somewhere …

  10. pappoose in scappoose says:

    “Does Seattle have a weekend weather curse?”

    http://www.cliffmass.blogspot.com/2014/05/does-seattle-have-weekend-weather-curse.html

  11. umpire says:

    That explains the flash I was sure I saw around 9:45, leaving the Portland Fred Meyer on NE Glisan.

  12. chiefWright (Marquam) says:

    Looks like the game is nearly over. It’s sutside my spotting range, but no sparks or booms for the last 10 min. Looks like the core is fizzling out between Canby & Wilsonville, as is the rest of the mess on radar.

    • chiefWright (Marquam) says:

      It’s outside my spotting range.

    • MasterNate says:

      Do you have a link to the lighting map? We live about 5 miles NW of Molalla and had a strike that made the lights flicker and was almost instant light to sound. Very loud! We checked structures for fire but nothing burning. Hit somewhere very close.

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

  13. chiefWright (Marquam) says:

    Get ready, Wilsonville– you’re next! It’s getting too far north for me to reliably spot, but it’s still sparking every 30 sec or less.

  14. Taylor says:

    This thunderstorm looks to be heading towards Happy Valley…is that correct?

    • chiefWright (Marquam) says:

      The core is tracking up 99E. Most of the activity right now is around Hubbard and moving NNE. It will be out of my spotting range when it nears Canby, but I doubt it will go as far East as Happy Valley. There is a bit of mess in the same band nearing Estacada, but there’s nothing on the lightning map correlating to it.

      Still getting sparks & rumbles every 15 sec or so from the main core near Hubbard.

    • runrain says:

      Hope so. I’m here in the valley and watching! Hope it doesn’t last too long, though. Have to get my sleep for the RocknRoll half marathon tomorrow!

    • chiefWright (Marquam) says:

      Clarify- I can only see that mess near Estacada on radar– it’s outside my spotting range. Foothills in the way.

    • runrain says:

      Looks like its weakening, but another popping up near Tigard.

  15. Hal In Aims says:

    ‘Poose!! Wake up!! The donkeys are getting out!!

  16. chiefWright (Marquam) says:

    That little albino donkey moving NNE of Salem has really shut the lights out here. Saw a couple of sparks, but it’s rather modest. Bet the view from Mt. Angel Abbey would be pretty nice!

    • chiefWright (Marquam) says:

      It’s a persistent little devil. The core is mostly west of here moving North, and sparking every 30 seconds or less! However, the lightning map isn’t showing any CG strikes in the last 30 min, and nothing North of Salem. Weird, I could swear some of those strikes I’m seeing were touching down.

    • chiefWright (Marquam) says:

      OK, a CG finally showed up on the 2055 map. The strike rate is really picking up, every 15 seconds or less. Hubbard is gonna get smacked…

  17. W7ENK says:

    Random little rogue thunderstorm just exploded over South Salem, headed NNE.

  18. Jason Hougak says:

    So last Saturday I went to Tline to enjoy a foot of May snow. My last run
    I decided to video with my new iPhone5… why not I saw others doing it and I don’t have a go-pro… yet. I was going down Kruiser in and out of the trees. I ended up dropping my phone. With all the fresh snow it disappeared. I searched relentlessly for over an hour in a 50foot area. Several people tried to call it but no sound was heard. I skied away fearing the worst. I went to their lost and found and filed a report.
    This morning I awoke with determination to find my iPhone if someone else hadn’t already. Timberlines lost and found didn’t have it either. I loaded the magic mile chair and ascended to the top. Small snow was falling with a moderate NW wind turning the upper half into ice. I headed for Stormin’ Norman. The main runs were closed due to terrain park events. I skirted through the trees and under the lift toward Kruser. I tried to retrace my previous Saturdays path and came to the spot where I thought I lost it. I stopped and spotted it happily waiting for me on the edge of the run. I shouted for joy and thanked God I had found my work phone. I told my phone while I was working hard and burning the candle at both ends it was having a week long hyaidis enjoying the snow and a beautiful mountain week alone… lucky phone! I wish we could have traded LOL.

  19. JERAT416 says:

    Wasn’t it supposed to be raining by now?

  20. pappoose in scappoose says:

    We definitely need to monitor the “COMMA CLOUD BAND”!

    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PORTLAND OR
    901 AM PDT SAT MAY 17 2014

    WILL MONITOR ANY CHANCES OF SEEING THUNDER LATER TODAY OR THIS EVENING BUT WILL LEAVE OUT FOR NOW.

    THE COMMA CLOUD BAND AROUND THE LOW CENTER ITSELF
    IS FORECAST TO SWING ONSHORE INTO SOUTHWEST WASHINGTON AND NORTHWEST OREGON ON SUNDAY AS THE LOW CENTER DRIFTS INSIDE 130W AND CLOSER TO
    THE COAST. WE SHOULD SEE TEMPS ALOFT AT 500 MB FALL TO MINUS 22 OT MINUS 23 DEG C ON SUNDAY…AND EXPECT A BETTER CHANCE OF THUNDER OVER OUR AREA SUNDAY AFTERNOON AND EVENING.

  21. A few sprinkles falling up here this morning. The warm air feel is definitely out of the air this morning.

  22. schmit44 says:

    5/16/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:88 at Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft)
    Low: 68 at HEPP(311 ft) & JUNIPR(359 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:46 at Mount Hood Meado(6601 ft)
    Low: 30 at DIMLKE (4726 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 44 degrees
    PROVOLT SEED ORC (82/38 ) (1180 ft )

  23. Benjamin (West Salem) says:

    I’m hoping for some convection Sunday and or Monday, and looking forward to the return of dry, warm weather next week.

  24. N3EG says:

    Anyone else not seeing the rain this weekend? I don’t see it coming on the visible satellite or the water vapor loops.

  25. WX Ninja says:

    First!!!

  26. Dave in South Salem (500') says:

    Today is perfect, thankfully the 80’s are over.

  27. Jeff says:

    Was there thunder last night in Portland at 1:30?

  28. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    Here’s hoping for clear skies over Oregon a week from now, for the possible Camelopardalid meteor outburst May 23rd-24th. I plan on being somewhere east of the Cascades for this one.

    http://www.amsmeteors.org/2014/05/posssible-meteor-display-on-may-2324-2014/

    • W7ENK says:

      I’m thinking about heading out into the desert toward one of my favorite secret spots for the night, after watching the Rose Festival fireworks downtown next Friday. 🙂

  29. gidrons says:

    What?!? Its been almost 9 hours and no one wants to be first?

