4pm…91 In Portland; A May Scorcher

Glad we didn’t weenie out and go with 88 or 89 today in Portland!  We have hit at least 91; that is the 3:53pm temp at PDX.  Most likely it’ll rise 1 or 2 more degrees so our forecast high of 91 will be slightly on the cool side.  These temps are the highs SO FAR as of 4pm…

PLOT_Highs_Metro

How unusual is this?  We have hit a record for the day, the old record is 88 degrees set this day in 2012.  Also it’s the warmest May day in 6 years!  Sometimes we go through several Mays without hitting 90.

Even weirder is the forecast screwup at the coastline today.  The onshore wind didn’t arrive until early-mid afternoon at most locations, which means temps skyrocketed until that time.  That means we’ve had two episodes in early-mid May with temperatures in the 80s or even lower 90s at the beaches.

It appears Cannon Beach and Tillamook both hit or exceeded 90 degrees.

Final high temps will be out within the hour.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

 

11 Responses to 4pm…91 In Portland; A May Scorcher

  1. NancyB says:

    I live in Cannon Beach. Weather station shows 90 as our high today! Starting to get filtered sun now.

  2. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    91.3° was my high temp this afternoon. I think you nailed the forecast this time, Mark – well done!

    By the way, do you know if Larch Mtn. Road is snow-free to the top yet? I called Multnomah County and was told the gate won’t open until late June. Have you biked up there recently?

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      That’s odd. Yes, I think the gate is still closed. Why I don’t know because it must be snow free all the way to the top. I have not been up there since last fall.

    • Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

      OK, thanks. I’m assuming it’s snow-free, too. The county road employee I spoke with hinted that the closure had more to do with budget constraints than snow depth.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I would say it could have opened way back in early April, much thinner snowpack than last year when it opened in early May or so.

  3. Paul D says:

    Forecast of 91 on the cool side??!?! Haha! 91 & cool don’t go together!

  4. Lurkyloo says:

    Wow. Too hot for my webbed feet and mossy back!

    • Paul D says:

      AGREED!! Way too hot!

    • oldwxwatcher says:

      And too muggy as well. Dewpoint was above 50° for much of the day at my location in E. Portland.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Its too hot, it rains too much, its too cold, its too grey!!! Jesus, Portlanders are the worst when it comes to weather. What would make any of you happy, 73 and sunny year round? Move to San Diego or something then. Sheesh

    • I don’t think we’re saying that, High Desert. I agree that 91 is too hot, and will join the others in complaining about it. But I’m perfectly happy with gray, cool, rainy, snowy, and/or cold weather.

