Warmest So Far Wednesday: 90 Likely in Portland

11pm Tuesday…

Okay, I’ll admit it.  A little warmer than I’d like (for May) late this afternoon/evening.  We hit the mid 80s in most of the metro area today, buoyed by the offshore wind flow.  Even most of the coastline was between 75-80 degrees.

MarkWarm_PortlandRecords

We didn’t hit the record, which is 92 degrees.  But tomorrow’s 88 degree record is definitely at risk.  I am forecasting a high of 91 tomorrow; in reality I wouldn’t be surprised if it was as low as 88 or as high as 93.  It should be in that range with cloudless skies, offshore flow, and an 850mb temp between 18-19 degrees celsius over Salem.  That means in the open atmosphere, the temperature around 5,000′ should be around 66-67 degrees.  We’ll see how that plays out tomorrow.  Today it was +15.6 degrees over Salem around 5pm.  The soundings are taken twice a day by balloon…old style!

So assuming we hit 90 tomorrow, how rare is that in May?  Well we haven’t done it for the past 5 Mays, although we have hit 88-89 at times:

MarkHeatwaveStudio_90DegreeTemps_May

The last time was during a heat wave in 2008.

Temperatures will cool dramatically Friday through Monday.  In fact you can see the below average temperatures up at 5,000′ (850mb) on the ensemble chart from the 12z ECMWF.  You may also notice one other thing; temperatures go back above average after next Monday.  It appears mild weather is going to stick around through most of the 2nd half of the month.

tseries_850t_000-360_Portland

The new 00z GFS chart is similar, showing the 2nd half of May looking more like mid June:

tseries_850t_000-384_Portland

So I’m planting my tomatoes and squash…looks like a good chance they can get settled in with the mild weather and handle a (hopefully) brief cool spell in June.  Around 2010-2011 I couldn’t do that until around the 4th of July!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

 

 

16 Responses to Warmest So Far Wednesday: 90 Likely in Portland

  1. Paul D says:

    Bring on the below normal!! I’m starting to melt.

    • Joshua says:

      But it’s so fun to be uncomfortbale.

      Seriously, my mood is so much worse when it is unbearably hot out. Is it Novemebr yet?

    • Sifton says:

      Joshua=Josie

    • Joshua says:

      I lived in So Cal for 30 years. I can handle the heat. I just prefer not to. Hence part of the reason I live 1,000 miles north of my old address.

  2. Garron near Washington Square says:

    Ok, so I weather-weenied out! I hooked in my 8000 BTU window air conditioner at 2:30PM when the air temp in my house hit 81. ( I work graveyard, so please don’t think I’m a heat hater…I LOVE THE HEAT!) So far, in the last 15 minutes, it has cooled the 1,060 sq ft area, the living room/kitchen/dining area, down to 79.1…

    • Garron near Washington Square says:

      It took about 1 1/2 hours to drop my inside temp from 81.3 to 66.8. Not too shabby for a lil 8000 BTU window unit!!!!

    • Garron near Washington Square says:

      …should add, that it was 74 in the kitchen that was not in the direct flow of a/c, but still not too shabby! Also of note, does anyone else have dreams about snow events that don’t make sense when the A/C is on? Probably just my uber-weather-geekyness, even while I sleep.

  3. BoringOregon says:

    It’s really Hot…… What about 90 now?

  4. vinnybob says:

    88 in Newport at 1:00. Bet that’s a record.

  5. Garron near Washington Square says:

    The Oregon coast in the mid 70’s already at 9:30am! Wish I had the day off…

    http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/mesowest/mwmap.php?map=pqr

  6. schmit44 says:

    5/13/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:93 at Medford Viaduct(1360 ft) & CW6811 Grants Pa(947 ft)
    Low: 66 at RED MOUND(1753 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:50 at Timberline Lodge(7001 ft) & CW7477 Lostine(7002 ft)
    Low: 21 at FOSTER FLAT (5000 ft ) & Horse Ridge (US (4160 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 48 degrees
    DESCHUTES PORTAB (76/28 ) (4495 ft )

  7. BoringOregon says:

    1stttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!

