3.3 Magnitude Earthquake Jolts the Portland Metro Area

Earthquake_Local

 

Did you feel it?  The USGS is reporting a 3.3 magnitude earthquake hit 5 miles NW of Sherwood tonight at 8:33 PM.

At a depth of 12.9 miles, it was a pretty shallow quake, which is probably why so many people in the area felt it.  According to a PSU geologist we spoke with tonight, there’s a major fault line that runs from Newberg to Sherwood to Tualatin, but this quake didn’t hit on that fault line.  In this area, we get earthquakes this size once every couple of years, on average.

If you and your house got a good jolt, and you’re thinking, “Wow, that was scary!” here is some perspective… the earthquake that hit Chile on April 1, 2014 was nearly 100,000 times stronger than the quake that hit Oregon tonight.

An earthquake this small usually doesn’t cause any damage, but it’s a good reminder for all of us to be prepared.

Here’s a look at some of the recent big quakes to hit the Pacific Northwest.

Earthquake_PacificNorthwestRecent

 

 

16 Responses to 3.3 Magnitude Earthquake Jolts the Portland Metro Area

  1. Garron near Washington square says:

    The Nisqually quake was memorable. I had just gotten off work for the day, went to the Tillicum restaurant to meet my wife for breakfast. We had just gotten our food when it hit, then everybody got up and ran outside! We just sat there and started eating…lol The spring break quake woke me from a sound sleep, I looked outside, and you could actually see the pavement rolling up and down. I went to the bowling alley I worked at that morning, and most of the pins were knocked down, aside from that no damage.

  2. Aleta says:

    The Klamath Falls one was actually 2 quakes maybe a couple of hours apart. One was 6.0 and the other was 6.1. I was stuck on 97 south due to falling rocks after the first one. One boulder was bigger then the ambulance. That rock had hit a pickup and the driver was killed.Scary thing is I remember that pickup passing me earlier in the trip. After I got home the second one hit and my 3 year old daughter was so scared that she literally climbed my leg! Luckily almost everything was packed since I was getting ready to move to Portland so nothing broke.

  3. Lurkyloo says:

    Did not feel the quake. But I did feel the sun and caught the warm-weather fever today. Been running around hillbilly-barefoot for the first time since I don’t know when. Gorgeous day!

  4. 73 degrees folks! I washed the windows and reinstalled the screens. I take them out during the winter to allow more light in. Also, turned off the heat last night! Last year I turned it off on April 10th, so we are close.

  5. High Desert Mat (Model Rider) Redmond Or says:

    Approaching 75 here in Redmond. Tomorrow will add a few more degrees to that. Beautiful week ahead it looks like.

  6. The Nisqually quake was the biggest I’ve felt. I remember I was standing on my tip toes reading over someones shoulder and I just thought I was dizzy, then the stuff on the walls was banging back and forth. It lasted long enough to look out into the auditorium and see the lights swaying too.

    Meanwhile, the sun is out here after dense fog this morning. Temp is 69 and steadily headed up.

  7. umpire says:

    The Spring Break quake in 1993 was the one I remember most – set the dogs off pretty good. I realized they were downstairs barking, and the bed upstairs was moving pretty well without a dog near it! I also felt some of the Mt. St. Helen quakes. Nada last night in NE Portland. This is another good reminder to have the emergency kit ready for when the big one hits (or there’s an epic ice/snow storm).

  8. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Can you say clearing skies?
    Spring? Sun? Warm?

    http://sat.wrh.noaa.gov/satellite/alternative.php?wfo=pqr&area=west&type=vis&size=1

  9. pappoose in scappoose says:

    I think I feel earthquakes every day! Hahaah!

  10. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    I felt my room jolt randomly around that time. I was napping, woke up the moment I felt shaking and it was over rather quick. It was so short that my wife and I thought someone slammed a door in our house, or that something heavy fell downstairs.

  11. W7ENK says:

    I felt nothing.

    Been awfully quiet around here lately, as far as earthquakes go…

  12. Marlene Bickar says:

    I remember the 2001 earthquake. That one really hit the Ocean Beach Highway pretty hard. The Grocery stores that run along that stretch of highway had to close for a few days because of all the things that fell off the shelves and made such a mess.

  13. Taylor says:

    I remember the Nisqually Quake. But, oddly enough I didn’t feel it. Even though everybody else in the school I was in did. I definitely remember the news stories about that though with Microsoft’s building shaking really bad…

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I didn’t feel the Nisqually quake either. That’s even though I was outside painting some shelves while sitting on the ground! My wife came out of the house and asked if I “felt that”.

    • oldwxwatcher says:

      I remember the Nisqually Quake very well. I was working in an office building near NE 122nd & Marine Drive in Portland when it hit. Unlike other quakes I’ve felt over the years, which had varying degrees of “joltiness,” this one provided a fairly gentle up and down sensation. It lasted for nearly a full minute.

