ECMWF Monthly Run Maps

The usual…4 maps, each showing one week of average 500mb heights (warm colors are above average, cool=below).

Pretty much what I said in last night’s post.  Mild spring weather next week, then cooler as we head toward Oregon’s Spring Break.  In fact the coolest week (compared to average heights) IS that last week of March!

500za_week1_bg_NA

500za_week2_bg_NA

500za_week3_bg_NA

500za_week4_bg_NA

37 Responses to ECMWF Monthly Run Maps

  1. Jason Hougak says:

    Late Sat. night into Sunday major flooding and debris flows off Mt. Hood. I’d say that it’s very likely that Lolo Pass road may again be washed out. Hwy 35 will also be impacted by this system. The storm coming in is very wet and warm with the snowlevel around 9K feet. Heavy precipitation with saturated slopes combined with rapid snow melt will lead to hazardous conditions in the mountains.

  2. David B. says:

    First 60 degree day of the year up here!

  3. Garron near Washington Square says:

    Today = W.O.W!!! “WONDERFUL OREGON WEATHER”

  4. BoringOregon says:

    Does it feel good out side………………………..

  5. Jason Hougak says:

    Yo Mat, we should have been extreme weather storm chasers. Don’t get me wrong but 70 and sunny is nice, however it can get mighty boring!

    • High Desert Mat (Model Rider) Redmond Or says:

      70 and sunny is kind of blah, not hot enough to go swim and too warm for any type of “snow chances”. Give me extremes and I’m happy. I’ll have 70 and sunny for next three months almost over here then it gets too hot and I’ll be begging for a cloud in the sky.

  6. WEATHERDAN says:

    57 and mostly sunny in Salem at 11:00 AM. It has been partly to mostly sunny all morning long. Going for 64 this afternoon. Good time to open up the windows and air out the old homestead. According to the NWS Salem hit a peak gust of 50 MPH yesterday. If the rain holds off on Saturday till the evening we might hit the upper 60,s. That would certainly be nice indeed. Peace.

  7. Jason Hougak says:

    Nice out here in OC!

  8. W7ENK says:

    From a couple posts ago

    …we have two very nice days coming up Friday and Saturday…

    So much for that idea. WTF happened?? It’s been foggy and raining all morning, and judging by the thickness of the clouds and darkness of the grey, I don’t see that changing any time soon. 😦

    • boydo3 N Albany says:

      Nice here!

    • umpire says:

      Hey, Eric, I’m heading up to Forest Park for a morning hike. The rain will end!

    • Sifton says:

      Hope next weeks predictions aren’t a bust as well too!!

    • W7ENK says:

      Finally, the sun has broken through! Still quite a few clouds over downtown though…

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Today was a great day! I see the last drizzle/sprinkles were 9-10am, then the clouds broke up and we had a mostly sunny afternoon. What are you bitching about? Clouds/sprinkles to mostly sunny and the warmest day of the season so far (tied) isn’t good enough?

      Now Saturday of course that system is coming in earlier than expected, so wet at some point after noon. But still dry in the morning.

    • runtmc says:

      I really enjoyed the weather today. “Beautiful” came to mind as I stood on my deck in the late afternoon. Yet I resisted the temptation to indulge in such superlatives, waiting patiently for W7’s confirmation. So, buddy, please validate the feeling that I thought I felt today. All blog weather emotion must get your stamp of approval.

  9. Jason Hougak says:

    Frozen Great Lakes trying to break 1979 record… will they make it to 95 percent?

  10. High Desert Mat (Model Rider) Redmond Or says:

    Well my total so far this season is 38″. I say so far because I know accumulating snow can happen here up until May. I’m hoping for no more chilly weather tho am ready for warmth and t-storms.

    Oh and I’m having my first baby on Saturday. It was now or never. Her name will be Madeline and I can barely wait….cant eat or sleep now. I’m sure she’ll be beautiful and healthy.

    • Jason Hougak says:

      Congrats high desert Mat on your daughter to be! You and I have similarities in our love for weather. I’d love some good “thunderboomers” as I called em’ when I was a kid.

    • David B. says:

      Ah, snow in May. I remember that from when I lived in the Rockies. Those late snowstorms can be particularly disruptive, because the trees are leaved out and all that heavy, wet snow can cause lots of broken branches and downed trees.

    • High Desert Mat (Model Rider) Redmond Or says:

      Yes Jason, if I cant have extreme cold and snow then I want either hot and sunny or thunderboomers. Bring em on!

  11. schmit44 says:

    3/6/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:66 at HEPP( 311 ft) & Butler Grade(1789 ft) & ECHO(683 ft)
    Low: 51 at PACCTY-2 Pacific(28 ft) & Brookings Airpor(459 ft) & EW4604 Waldport(164 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:27 at Mount Hood Meado(6601 ft)
    Low: 22 at HOWARD Mt Howard (8150 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 25 degrees
    Pendleton /McKay (64/39 ) (1100 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    2.60″ at SADDLE MOUNTAIN(3250ft)
    2.42″ at HEBOWX Mt. Hebo(3160ft)
    2.32″ at DW0237 Lees Camp(699ft)
    2.31″ at CEDAR(2220ft)
    2.20″ at NORTH FORK(3120ft)
    2.11″ at CANNIBAL MOUNTAI(1939ft)
    2.04″ at TIDEWATER(2035ft)

  12. karlbonner1982 says:

    Maybe in late March after all this warm weather brings the flowers out, we’ll get a damaging freeze from a chilly but mostly dry upper-level trough nearby 😉

    • EY (Oak Grove) says:

      YOU can have that! You and your… Like, east of the Cascades… Chickens? Hot springs? Yeah… Hot springs!

  13. Jason Hougak says:

    Hey Ted, what’s TMI?

  14. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    Of course Oregon Spring Break is going to be cold. Growing up, I remember more cool/showery Spring Breaks than even modestly dry and mild ones. To me it’s kinda like the Rose Festival Low; cool and showery weather that seems to like to hit roughly the same time each year.

    I could be wrong though, just remembering the worst of the Spring Breaks or something.

  15. Jason Hougak says:

    Those 90 percent frozen over Great Lakes should help keep the midwest a bit cooler in the coming months. The arctic ocean hopefully will continue to expand. ICE AGE… come on!!!

  16. Jason Hougak says:

    When we going to get out six month harsh winter. The rivers freeze and the snow piles up! 

  17. Jake-(Gresham) says:

    All I can say is poor people in the North East part of the country – what a harsh winter indeed for them.

  18. W7ENK says:

    Mappity mappity!!

    Looks like some pretty decent weather next week! That’ll be nice. Certainly well deserved! 🙂

  19. gidrons says:

    These maps are one of my favorite things on the blog.

