Frozen Precipitation In Gorge Tonight

We’ve seen east wind blowing through the Columbia River Gorge most of the past week.  Now a cold airmass is sitting below about 1,500′ at the west end of the Gorge and 4,000′ at the east end.  The air moving in overhead has a freezing level around 8,000′!

As a result, a mix of freezing rain at the west end of the Gorge and freezing rain, ice pellets, and snow will fall once precipitation arrives later tonight.  It won’t be a lot, but just a few minutes of freezing rain can make I-84 an icy mess. There will be no switch to a warming westerly wind tomorrow, which means temps will only climb a notch or two above freezing.  The good news is that the wind should turn gusty westerly on Wednesday, so temps may jump to around 50 at that time.

MarkWarnings_FreezingRain_Snow

Here in the metro area we sure had a gray day today!  Quite a change from the bright sunshine over the past few weeks.

I don’t see a whole lot of rain coming up, maybe 1/2″ to 3/4″ before we dry out Thursday morning.  Still, we’ll take what we can get since it’s been such a dry winter!

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

17 Responses to Frozen Precipitation In Gorge Tonight

  1. Sapo says:

    12z GFS not the greatest, a little warmer with the operational and the ensemble mean. 12z GEM is bad as well, as is the 12z ECMWF. The 18z and 00z GFS runs and the 00z GEM and ECMWF runs should probably clarify whether this cold will really happen or not.

  2. Marcustheweathernut says:

    00zGFS looks cold until hr240 after that looks like mild ridge reappears… May be an outlier tho… Waiting for ensembles:)

  3. CorbettTez says:

    So not for nothing, but what happened to this?!

    “The pressure gradient will gradually decrease this weekend, allowing more reasonable windspeeds to return in the Gorge. In fact by Sunday the wind should be just breezy to light out there”

  4. Model Rider says:

    Still sitting around 21 degrees here in Redmond and dry. Freezing rain advisory just went up for over here til ten am. As cold as it is I would think a sleet advisory would be more appropriate but I know its what they mean by the zr advisory. I’ll keep u guys posted in case snow falls instead.

  5. Taylor says:

    Just saw the Crown Point, OR footage of the crazy east winds on Inside Edition!

  6. vernonia1 says:

    Wunderfulground lol has snow for me Thurs Fri Sat Sun Mon. how mean!!!

  7. W7ENK says:

    And of course nothing for us, here in PDX. It’s been to our North, it’s been to our South, it’s been to our West, now to our East…

    I give up completely. I’m moving, just as soon as I can afford to. This place sucks bawls. >_<

    • Paul D says:

      We’re protected 🙂

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Erik, you crack me the heck up! You’re not moving — who will watch your neighbor’s chickens if you go away???

    • WWM says:

      hahaha Erik only says what we all pretty much want to say, I swear I am saying half the stuff if not more in my mind after reading the blog updates and before getting to the comments. He is right about this stupid place, it drives me absolutely crazy EVERY winter. The famous saying “we dodged another bullet” has been used so many times by our local weather folks that I feel like we are in Iraq. I miss snow so much I actually watch all the Alaska shows just to see their snow. I pull out the old copies of the Oregonian (I know this reeks of pure desperation) just to read the build up in the days before the 2008 storm. We are all desperate fools, in a winter so boring we are actually excited to have the east wind for days on end. I don’t blame him one bit.

    • Jake-(Gresham) says:

      I swear all those old historical photos of barns and farmland being buried in feet of snow here in the valley during the 1800’s and early 1900’s must be fake. I mean they have to be fake. I don’t even know how that used to happen here. I don’t believe it anymore!

    • JJ78259 says:

      But it is a nice place to visit in August!

  8. Only freezing rain / pellets, or is there a chance of brief snow east of Cascade Locks?

    • Garron near Washington Square says:

      It didn’t look too good, but you get ANY excitement out your way, don’t be afraid to share. Pics are great, and I’m happy if anyone on this blog gets to see/enjoy winter like conditions. I’m going to go sweep the tumbleweeds out of the driveway. Those darn east winds, always making a mess…lol

