Fresh NW Weather Podcast Posted

mthoodmeadows2009

The guys and Steph bring in 2014 with an episode dedicated to Oregon’s majestic Mt. Hood.

Plus, Mt. Hood Meadows Director of Marketing Dave Tragethon joins the show.  They’ll talk about this year’s lackluster start to the ski season and changes on the mountain over the past 20 years.

Find it here:  http://nwweatherpodcast.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/episode-36-mt-hood-with-guest-dave-tragethon/

27 Responses to Fresh NW Weather Podcast Posted

  1. RobWaltemate says:

    “Only” got up to 51ºF at my house (about 3 miles NNE of Long Beach WA), but down on the beach it sure felt warm while I was cutting firewood.

  2. W7ENK says:

    So apparently, God is visiting OHSU right now. Silly me, I thought he’d forsaken that wretched place… o_O

  3. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    Take this with a grain of pepper(or salt if you prefer)
    18z GFS shows a significant pattern change after Day 10 with retrogression and blocking in a favorable location. If 00z follows suit I might bite a tad, but not yet that would be fruitless.

    Discuss if you must

  4. WEATHERDAN says:

    What happened to my post? One minute it’s there and now it’s gone.

  5. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    Beautiful, sunny day out there. “May the best man/organization win” – nice call, Mr. Nelsen!

  6. alohabb says:

    60 and sunny on the beach. Wow what a day. Forget winter, bring on spring!!

  7. W7ENK says:

    Does anyone else realize, with 850mb temps this morning +15, +16C or so, if this were July we’d be talking low 90s in the valley today? This noon hour, we’d probably already be ~83-85 degrees.

    At least the sun is shining today, you’ll never hear me gripe about sunshine!

    • Brandan says:

      Schools should cancel classes for a sun-day!

    • W7ENK says:

      I’d be down for that, so long as I get the day off work, paid, but without having to dip into my PTO! Although that’s like asking for a snow day ’round here. Too much to ask for?

  8. Model Rider says:

    12z euro looking a little better with ridge retrograding a little to the west and the pv shifting SW as well.

  9. Vince Kemper says:

    This is going to be a wet spring. I hope so, better than a wet summer.

  10. David B. says:

    This is sure shaping up to be a great winter for ridge fans.

  11. dharmabum says:

    Let’s play more of “ain’t if awful”. Not!

  12. schmit44 says:

    1/15/2014 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:83 at FLYNN PRAIRIE(1543 ft)
    Low: 67 at FLYNN PRAIRIE(1543 ft) & RED MOUND(1753 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:26 at ALGOMA(4157 ft) & Modoc Point (US(4150 ft)
    Low: 3 at DIMLKE (4726 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 49 degrees
    COLGATE (67/18 ) (3231 ft )
    Horse Ridge (US (62/13) (4160 ft)
    CRAZYMAN FLAT (59/10) (6100 ft)

  13. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    00z EURO full run
    http://www.cascadeaccess.com/~mnelsen/Models/ecmwf500mb_ecmwf.html
    NO. Just no. So awful. I can’t sugar coat this or find anything real positive about this run.

  14. Steve Floyd says:

    It’s already down to 30.2° here in Beavercreek.

  15. Jason Hougak says:

    16 day GFS brings us to the end of January. It shows a pitaful .23″ of precip. Temps. on CPC predict above average… above the fog layer and precip. 60-70 percent below average. The more I think about it, the more I wonder what winter will make up for this 13-14 bizarre winter. If it wasn’t for our arctic blast this would be a record boring winter. Even last weekends storm was talked up more that it really was… I mean come on the snow changed to rain mid morning at the ski areas. It is suppose to snow, hello it’s deep winter January. Yadda yadda…
    Well at least the moon and stars are out over my horizon with frost and 31.8F. Fog level was just down the road at about 1200 feet. I love my elevation, at 1300 feet I never have fog in this pattern. I’ve said my peace…

    • Jason Hougak says:

      BTW I meant the snow to rain that happened Sunday morning… should have stayed snow, silly warm fronts mountains are for snow!

  16. Jason Hougak says:

    2nd sweet
    Still not 1st

  17. Sapo says:

    18z GFS Ensemble at least looking cooler and wetter at the end.

