2013 Blog Numbers

2013 is drawing to a close, and I won’t be working Tuesday, so I thought you might like to see some numbers.  Plus WordPress sent me the info so it was an easy posting!

MarkPromo_HD_NewYear2

This blog was viewed about 2,100,000 times in 2013.

The busiest month was this one, December 2013:  558,000 views.  That is the 2nd highest month in the 8 year history of the FOX12 Weather Blog.  I think the highest was around 600,000 in February 2012.

Busiest day was December 9th with 62,000 hits.

The top commenters of 2013?

Pappoose in Scappoose – 1,226

W7ENK – 1,114

Rob – SE Portland – 921

Ben T – 579

Marcus – 552

85 Responses to 2013 Blog Numbers

  1. Wooly Bully says:

    OK, Don’t look at the 12z GFS is your looking for any sign of hope. January is looking very, very, dry.

  2. Jason Hougak says:

    National Weather Service has lower snow levels next week. I’m going to Tline Friday to get some fresh snow. Please tell me things are going to turn around.

  3. boydo3 N Albany says:

    Twas a beautiful fogless day down here on the coast at Yachats today

  4. ocpaul says:

    39 degrees, calm with fog in Oregon City
    14 degrees with snow showers in my hometown of Rockford, Illinois

  5. Lurkyloo says:

    I don’t know about anyone else, but that damn “Air Stagnation ADVISORY” creeper thing is about to drive me up a wall!

    On a lighter note, I saw a star in the sky tonight! 🙂

  6. BoringOregon says:

    Well the North East, is about to get hit hard with a “Nor’easter” 6-10” of snow!! Maybe we will get some thing next week….

  7. Euro 12z ops run suggesting transition to cool moist onshore flow with lower elevation accumulating mtn snows. Crossing fingers

    • Sapo says:

      Yeah, I saw that as well. It would be great to have the mountains get some snow. But for the lowlands it is over at least for January.

    • Wooly Bully says:

      The 18z GFS is looking a little better, I guess. Sort of falling in line with the 12z Euro, from what I can tell anyway.

    • Model Rider says:

      Funny you keep saying its over for Jan. but its only the first. I want your crystal ball, need to bet on the lottery.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Considering how well you’ve done with the “weather lottery” Model Rider, I’d like to use your crystal ball please.

    • Model Rider says:

      Its not a crystal ball, just knowing the right people I guess eh Mr. Pierce? Jk

  8. Sapo says:

    Both the GFS and ECMWF looking pretty bad. Looking like January is a bust.

  9. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    Some interesting climate factoids in the Portland NWS forecast discussion this morning:

    CLIMATE…AS 2013 WILL GO DOWN IN THE BOOKS AS THE DRIEST CALENDAR YEAR IN RECORDED HISTORY FOR MANY LOCATIONS ALONG THE WEST COAST OF THE UNITED STATES. OUR FORECAST AREA WILL BE NO EXCEPTION…THE 21.19 INCHES OF RAIN RECORDED THIS YEAR IN EUGENE WILL BREAK THE PREVIOUS RECORD BY MORE THAN 2 INCHES. IMPRESSIVE CONSIDERING RECORDS FOR EUGENE GO ALL THE WAY BACK TO 1890.

    SALEM…ANOTHER SITE WITH RECORDS DATING BACK TO THE LATE 19TH CENTURY…WILL ALSO SEE 2013 GO DOWN AS THEIR DRIEST YEAR ON RECORD. IN ADDITION…MCMINNVILLE FINISHED AS THEIR DRIEST YEAR…WITH 22.33 INCHES.

    ANOTHER ODDITY OF 2013 IS THAT SEPTEMBER WAS THE WETTEST MONTH OF THE YEAR FOR ALL OF OUR PRIMARY CLIMATE SITES. NORMALLY SEPTEMBER IS ONE OF THE 4 DRIEST MONTHS OF THE YEAR ACROSS NORTHWEST OREGON.

    • Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

      My weather station recorded 22.92″ of precip in 2013, with 6.13″ falling in September alone.

    • ShutUpandBeHappy says:

      Just think how dry it would be if it was a normal September. If I remember December 2012 was extremely dry too. I wonder if we’re heading into a drought. We have about 2 more months to get back on track before we’re all brown next summer.

  10. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    I hope 2014 brings us all a lot of exciting weather events. Snow, Wind, Cold, and Thunderstorms, YEP!

  11. schmit44 says:

    12/31/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:63 at EW4053 Myrtle Po( 417 ft)
    Low: 48 at RED MOUND(1753 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:27 at NYSSA(2172 ft)
    Low: 14 at NYSSA (2172 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 36 degrees
    Lorella (55/19 ) (4160 ft )
    Worden (53/17) (4080 ft)

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.32″ at EW0159 La Grande(2766ft)
    0.26″ at DW8887 Cove(2700ft)
    0.21″ at DW0462 Umatilla(390ft)

  12. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    Happy New Year! Here’s hoping we all get to enjoy our favorite weather in 2014, whatever that may be. Cheers!

  13. Heatblizzard says:

    Yay! Only two degrees shy of the 50F mark for the high today. 48F. Now 40F under clear skies with beautiful stars that I haven’t seen in weeks!

    Are the GFS models still on doggy poo mode or have conditions improved?

  14. W7ENK says:

    poke…

    Nuked by forced login??

    • W7ENK says:

      Oh good, I made it for once. YAAAAAAAAY!!! \^_^/

      Hey Rob. I need to talk to you… Bu the way I’m slightly intoxicated right now, so don’t judge me…

      I mean no disrespect here, seriously, bit this is the only forumbi have to contact you anymore. I’m blocked on FB, I’m blocked on email, so this is it.
      I got a message from a mutual friend this morning that said I’m harassing you on Western? For the record, I’ve never been on Western, so I don’t know where you got this idea. I don’t care enough to harass you, anymore, not on there, not on anywhere. Pleasestop wth your fantastical crazy ideas and just leave me alone. O don’t bother you, so do me the same and just stop.

      That s all I have to say.

      I hope everyone has a safe and happy bequest!!

    • W7ENK says:

      NEW YEARS!

      Goddamm autocorrect… :facepalm:

    • Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

      This is like watching a bad break up on Facebook. Ughh the drama. Say your peace, move on and let it go like adults.

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Party on, Erik!! Have a great New Year’s Eve! Hair of the dog might treat you right in the a.m. (a Bloody Mary, perhaps?). Happy 2014 🙂

    • Rob - Southeast Portland says:

      Um, hmmm nope. No one is harassing me on Western, or anywhere. LOL you must be drinking the good stuff.

    • Rob - Southeast Portland says:

      Drunk people are so amusing and entertaining, but please, Don’t Drink and Blog. 😀

    • Sifton says:

      Opps…to (too) late!

    • Model Rider says:

      Geez

    • I love you guys… erp.

  15. Lurkyloo says:

    Happy New Year everyone! Be safe! Might want to get your pets inside — I hear fireworks already …

    Wishing you all health, prosperity, and exciting weather!

    Cheers!

  16. Jason Hougak says:

    How dry I am…

  17. dharmabum says:

    Not an enviable list to be on for sure, probably have to be old and decrepit with no family, just kidding. Happy New Year to all!

  18. Punxsutawney aka HIOPHIL in Hillsboro says:

    RECORD DRY DECEMBER IN HILLSBORO!

    Driest on record with only 1.08″ of precip in 2013. Records go back to 1929.

    The following are the top 5 years…err bottom 5 for Hillsboro:

    Rank Year Precip
    1 2013 1.08
    2 1976 1.54
    3 1962 2.24
    4 2011 2.33
    5 1985 2.37

  19. Aloha Rainshadow says:

    Happy New Year everyone. Be safe!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      I’ll be safe enough,if I don’t run outta booze! Hahaah!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Just kidding, I have brought in enough alcohol to render myself unconscious before any possibility of consuming it!
      Happy New Year folks!

  20. PDX Weather Nut says:

    Really strange year climate wise in PDX. Much was far out of the norm.

  21. WEATHERDAN says:

    From Pete Parsons January-March outlook.

    Winter 2013-14 Highlights
    ENSO-neutral
    winters often produce Arctic outbreaks, with
    early January being the bulls-eye. The transition period.
    into and out-of Arctic air masses are the most likely times
    for low-elevation snow and ice.
    The chances for extreme cold spells decrease significantly
    by February, but cooler-than-average temperatures should
    persist through March.
    Analog years show above average precipitation in January
    but drier-than-average weather in February and March. If
    January should end up drier than normal, then the three-
    month period will also likely be drier than normal.

  22. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Precipitation for 2013 has been well below normal for most locations.

    http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/FXC/make_img.php?wfo=pqr&iname=Active_Screen1L&size=1&force=no

  23. gidrons says:

    The latest Euro has a sliver of hope for the Sierra snow pack, which has been dismal for a long time.

  24. gidrons says:

    If it takes 500 comments to make the list, I’ll never be on it

  25. W7ENK says:

    Second place, two years in a row… not bad. 😆

    At least I’m consistent. I guess I need to get out more? 😕

  26. runrain says:

    Shorts and t shirts all week, low 70’s and summery feeling in Phoenix but, alas, heading home Thursday. There ought to be a law against this kind of weather in December when it’s 20 below in Minnesota.

    • dothgrin says:

      I lived there for six years…yeah, it was nice (in December-March), but there are no arguments or wish casting in Phoenix! By July…yep, worse than the gloom, at least in my opinion.

  27. ocpaul says:

    Comon pappoose, 2000…2000…2000 🙂

  28. JJ78259 says:

    The ducks looked great last night. 66 and sunny coming up tomorrow for New Years Day in San Antonio that will help the hang over. Should feel pleasantly warm after a couple colder days we have had with the latest arctic blast that came down to visit. Happy New Year to All!

  29. schmit44 says:

    12/30/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:64 at BROOKINGS( 79 ft)
    Low: 48 at FLYNN PRAIRIE(1543 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:25 at NYSSA(2172 ft)
    Low: 5 at NPOWDR (3212 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 40 degrees
    Lakeview, Lake C (52/12 ) (4734 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.28″ at EW0159 La Grande(2766ft)
    0.24″ at Meacham(3724ft)
    0.22″ at J RIDGE(5180ft)

  30. Wooly Bully says:

    No wonder the GFS is free to all. You get what you pay for.

  31. Jason Hougak says:

    Wow Mark didn’t even knew you kept score! You busy guy… get rest and dream up a wonderful snowstorm to rock these grey dreary day away-haha
    Hope your enjoy the good high quality h2o. Happy New Year Nelsen

  32. Ben T says:

    We win free weather stations, right 🙂 ? Haha.

  33. boydo3 N Albany says:

    Poose is probably already in bed. This blog stuff takes alot out of a person. 🙂

  34. Kenny says:

    SCORE! The new 00z GFS has a snowstorm from atleast Salem northward.

    http://wxweb.meteostar.com/sample/sample.shtml?text=KTTD

    Temps cold enough for snow as OFFSHORE flow will do the job. Temps will stay in the 20s as we get hit. Lots of moisture. 0.91 for PDX so 9 inches of snow, I will take that. So 6 to 12 inches would be my forecast right now.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Kenny, I think you find a snowstorm on just about every run of every model

    • Wendy-Silverlake says:

      I don’t know too much about this stuff, but know enough to think it looks more like freezing rain. Granted this is for me up here, and not the Portland one, although Portland does have similar temps around the same time.

      http://wxweb.meteostar.com/sample/sample.shtml?text=KTDO

      Temps of 30 on hour 177 but the 500-1000 thickness is at 538. I thought those numbers needed to be low 520’s for it to snow down lower. Please correct me if I’m wrong on that one, as I really don’t like freezing rain very much. Sucks taking the kids to school in it, or worse having them home and not being able to sled. Inversion????

    • Jason Hougak says:

      I like you style!!!

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Actually you’re right on this one Kenny, GFS would gives us a snow, then ice storm starting next Monday night.

  35. boydo3 N Albany says:

    I lost my touch.

  36. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    1st Place: Pappoose in Scappoose with 1226 comments, including 613 “You In’s” 😉

  37. momof2kiddos says:

    Do they get prizes? 😀

  38. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    First time in forever I didn’t lead in the # of posts. I didn’t post that much though throughout the year.

    Congrats Pappoose! YOU IN!?

