Windy Coast

Peak gusts were stronger than I expected on the central coast, but lighter than I expected here in the metro area.  Here in town most speeds were between 20 and 30 mph…not exactly a storm.

MarkCoast_PeakWindGusts

Just showers the rest of the night as we wait for the cold front to come in from the northwest.  Behind this cold front is the cooler and much drier air that will give us some sunshine and dry weather…for quite awhile as mentioned in the previous post.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

81 Responses to Windy Coast

  1. Already below freezing out here in BG. Going to be interesting to see just how cold it actually gets!

  2. Longview - 400 ft says:

    Currently 33.3.

    I am thinking upper 20’s for a low in the morning.

  3. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    Just stepped outside to sample the evening chill and noticed a beautiful 22° halo around the waning gibbous Moon. Worth a look if you have nothing better to do, not sure how long it will last.

  4. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    Colder, drier Canadian air has moved south into Washington and is now filtering down into Oregon. Dewpoints are starting to crash from the mid 20s to upper 10s about Tacoma north and also into the Columbia Basin between Moses Lake and Pasco. There is still onshore flow over the lower Columbia Basin and eastern Gorge from The Dalles to Pendleton it is still evident. The DLS-PDT gradient of +3.0mb tells us that this will continue for awhile. However, the surface pattern between Omak and Pendleton is now -2.5mb and increasing. This signals that colder, northerly flow is progressing south through the Columbia Basin and will reach Pasco within a few hours. As the night progresses and onshore flow weakens the flow will bend around to the northeast in these areas and eventually offshore flow will develop overnight – early AM in the eastern Gorge and work its way westward from there.

    Also, OMK-YKA(Omak – Kamloops gradient) has been over 12mb, and Oroville, WA gusting to 50mph. That’s a pretty strong arctic blast nearing the north-central Washington/Canadian border. There are even reports of light snow and/or flurries scattered about from Mount Vernon even down to Tacoma. Falling temps and dewpoints in the 20’s make this a possibility before the air mass dries out even further. Critical thickness around 1300 has reached down to roughly Seattle. I do see some blips on Radar loop moving W-E, so it seems legit.

    • Rob - Southeast Portland says:

      It is probably very brief minimal flurries…. Ash falling out of a chimney may be more impressive.

    • BoringOregon says:

      Thanks for the update rob. Sure do notice the cold chilly winds a’lot more the past hr or so??

  5. Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

    We may not end up with any windstorms this winter. Ahh what a shame. Although…… My CFS model does show something rather interesting.. Vigorous cold front that could produce a Squall Line with 60-70mph winds on 03/19/2014!!! And heatwaves in the late Spring / early Summer. Kiss the June Gloom gooo-bye!!!

    Later in the year may be a little on the cool/wet side. By August, more clouds than sun, then some pineapples by September. Batten down the hatches! But sorry, no snow. 2007 look like a possible repeat. 😛

    • W7ENK says:

      I’m putting all of this down in my calendar, Tim. We will go over it at the end of next year and see how you did.

      I’m holding you accountable!!! 😆

    • Lauraholic says:

      You know he will keep track of this, look what he did for Paul!

    • No snow, that would be awesome. Although it may finally send a couple over the edge. BTW does anyone have Kevin’s address? He stole the keys to the Wishtrain and never gave them back. Bastich.

  6. JJ78259 says:

    Heading up to Fort Mac Alberta for a meeting with Suncor Energy -30 should be fun tomorrow! Some of you guys are looking for cold weather lets go!

    • Lurkyloo says:

      JJ, what is your occupation? You get to experience the extreme cold and then go back to San Antone and jump in the pool? I’m starting to get jealous … 😉

    • JJ78259 says:

      I am a sales manager and supply pumps to the oil and gas industry. So I go to all of the shale plays around the USA and up to the tar sands in Canada. Yes all weather extremes!

  7. chris says:

    I am ready for a nice freeze and hopefully some sun too 🙂

  8. Josh "the snowman". From Everett, wa says:

    Mark Nelsen, chief meteorologist of kptv12.

    Mark Nelsen, chief comment eraser of the kptv weather blog, lol.

  9. Josh "the snowman". From Everett, wa says:

    Hope everyone has their water spigots covered. Go hawks!!!!

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Hawks? No need to say that anymore. They’re well on their way. I’m thinking a 14-2 season with homefield advantage. Almost a lock at this point even with winning half their games left even. Go Hawks!!!!

  10. Garron near Washington Square says:

    I will try this one more time….

    What day will the wind be the strongest at Vista House? When will the warmest day be to go for a hike in the foothills?

    I took a break from FB and BLOGRAMA from May through October. ( NO COMPUTER EXCEPT WORK RELATED, AND YET i SURVIVED!) I am still hopeful that the BLOG can survive through another turbulent winter of hate filled remarks. PLEASE out of respect for Mark, and all of us weather geeks, try to just stick to the weather facts. And, if you disagree with someone, or they are wrong about a fact. Simply say, I don’t agree, this is why. If it turns into an out of control inferno of words that are clearly going back to 2nd grade behavior, then take it to another forum….AGAIN PLEASE? Thankyou :}

  11. DP’s in N. WA have plummeted to the teens. lookin forward to some good freezes

  12. WEATHERDAN says:

    At noon Alaskan time Arctic village is -40. Coldest air mass of the season so far. So parts of interior Alaska may drop to -50 tonight. Where will that cold air go or will it just moderate in place. Ah the mystery of science. At Salem the winds have now shifted to the North. Thus the front has passed. Soon all residual precipitation will come to a stop. Now comes some beautiful crisp and cool Autumn weather. I hope it lasts until after Thanksgiving. Hopefully these cold nights will kill off most of the remaining yellowjackets.

  13. JJ78259 says:

    Up north in Pennsylvania 100 miles above Lewisburg in the Appalachian mountains some great snow flurries today!

  14. W7ENK says:

    Okay, it is now November 19th, and I’m sad to announce that o.c.paul’s forecast did not pan out.

    https://fox12weather.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/vacation-time-8?cpage=2#comment-233418

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Erik you should read some of your posts from that time. You may never grow up. I’m not sure what your deal is with people but you sure need some social skills. Not trying to fight with you on the blog so don’t take it that way just think before you type please. No one is perfect.

    • W7ENK says:

      Yeah, that wasn’t unnecessary or anything.

      This post was a light hearted reply to o.c.paul’s equally light hearted forecast for hour 6366 made all the way back in February. I said I would keep track (for fun), and I did. Not sure why that warranted yet another verbal lashing from Mat, but whatever…

      Kindly STFU, thank you very nice. o_O

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      Erik was trying to be funny and kind, however “big shot” Mat over here wants to push around Erik again. Okay, I’m not playing nice guy anymore. Mat, BACK OFF. Kindly back off. 😉

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Timmy, dont you still live with your parents? Detach from the cord please then try and stick up for someone that is rude to most on here. I’m done if u guys are.

    • ocpaul says:

      Erik
      I can’t believe you remember that! I was looking at the models thousands of hours out, It saddens me to be wrong about this, but you made me laugh out loud calling me on it!:) Cheers!

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      What is wrong with you people? Erik was making a joke. Did anyone actually go back and look at his link???

      Mat, or Josh?

    • Laura - West Gresham says:

      haha! awesome, Erik! I can’t believe you kept track of that!!

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      Everybody else thought this was funny. Mat, to be blunt, you’re alone on this one.

    • W7ENK says:

      Wow! Slams, personal insults, the whole gambit.

      I’m glad THE REST OF YOU could see and appreciate the humor in my post. My goodness…

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Mark, Erik, and whoever else, fine I’ll bend over and take it like the rest of the pansies. I like it from behind.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      Since I’m getting kicked off the blog now, lets go for it. Erik, be a man. Move out. And god I wish u were at the weather meeting u little pu$$y. Know about it bit$h.

    • W7ENK says:

      Two things, Mat:

      1) I’ve lived on my own since I first moved to Klamath Falls for college in 2002.

      2) I’m sure you’re a pretty nice guy in person, but your inner meathead takes over when you’re hiding behind your keyboard.

      I’ll tell you what Mat, next time I have a big BBQ at my house, you’re invited. You can either come and eat, drink, be merry, and see for yourself how well I socialize, host, grill, and how respectful I am in person, or you can come to kick my a$$.

      That decision is entirely up to you.

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Wow …

      We got the P-word and the B-word and insults and threats. How awkward. Folks should be able to post comments without a cyber beat-down. There *are* rules posted here …

      Dadgummit — act your age not your shoe size. Please? Thank you.

    • W7ENK says:

      Don’t forget Lurkeyloo, I’m the bad guy in all of this! 🙄

    • sds says:

      Actually it seems to me -amazingly- that o.c.Pauls’ 6366 hr. prediction wasn’t that far off with the dry modified artic air coming in over us a day later on Wed. and Wed. nite for the coldest temps of the season.

    • W7ENK says:

      Actually sds, you’re right! Not only that, but there were reports of snow flurries up in SW Washington last night!!

      My appologies to o.c.paul. Somehow — however you did it — you successfully called this event nearly 9 months in advance, which is not only amazing, I find it absolutely astounding!!!

      Well played, sir.

      Now, could you pleeeeeease tell me what Saturday’s Powerball numbers will be???

  15. paulbeugene says:

    GFS MOS numerical output is broken. Looking at 7 day forecast it has lows of 19F for Eugene on a couple mornings this week. That is not going to happen. Mid 20s more realistic

  16. Ben T says:

    Let it snow!

  17. runrain says:

    OK. I’ve swept all my leaves out into the street. Waiting on that NE wind to blow ’em all over to my neighbors!! By the way, has anyone noticed the heightened mole activity this fall? This is the first year in 11 that I’ve had them. One even snuck into my garage one night! I seen a lot more mole hills in the parks and yards around Happy Valley too. Thankfully the builders of most these homes put down plastic netting on the lawns before putting in the grass. That kept the moles to just the edges.

  18. schmit44 says:

    The first real brutal -40 degree temps of the winter occurred this morning in the Yukon Territory

    • alekslovesweather says:

      Yes I just saw that, and it’s supposed to be -43 Wednesday night in Fairbanks with wind-chill values as low as -65!

  19. pappoose in scappoose says:

    “With 0.03″ of rain, Nov.19 officially lived up to its rainiest day of the year in Seattle title– 90th time it’s rained since 1892 (74%)”

    http://www.komonews.com/weather/blogs/scott/Time-for-Seattles-strange-November-statistical-quirk-232358101.html

  20. Marcustheweathernut says:

    I think this is the first time I’ve seen this good of model agreement…… http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/MT8_Portland_Oregon_USA_ens.png

    • Marcustheweathernut says:

      +15c temps hoping for no fog and low clouds might get some warm temps later this weekend:)

  21. JJ78259 says:

    Up in Williamsport Pa heading out to the Natural Gas fields 39 degrees and winds blowing some cold in from Canada down to 24 tonight! That’s Fracking cold.

  22. Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

    Moderate steady rain up here. I’m guessing this is pretty much the cold front. .20 last hour. (12-1)

  23. schmit44 says:

    11/18/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:60 at DW0069 Ferndale( 840 ft)
    Low: 52 at Florence Municip(52 ft) & EW3638 Yachats(33 ft) & PACCTY-2 Pacific(28 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:32 at Timberline Lodge(7001 ft) & Mount Hood Meado(6601 ft) & Rim(7050 ft)
    Low: 14 at CRANE PRAIRIE (5500 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 32 degrees
    CRANE PRAIRIE (46/14 ) (5500 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    2.42″ at DW0237 Lees Camp(699ft)
    1.97″ at SOUTH FORK(2257ft)
    1.77″ at RED MOUND(1753ft)
    1.70″ at HEBOWX Mt. Hebo(3160ft)
    1.35″ at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183ft)
    1.33″ at CEDAR(2220ft)

    • snodaze says:

      Well Mark, since you’re at it … the blog could use less of this spam stuff too! ^^ before I (Winter) really get going — Who cares who likes it or not… there’s never a reply or comment on it… The data is always the usual predictable suspects & it’s not a discussion…– Just useless info available off areas your bright, sunny WX page that anyone can access if they want to… Meh… (rule 2 has obviously been compromised) — just my $0.02 before SNOMAGEDDON

      Be back in a week, — or two 😮

    • pdxgeologist says:

      If you put your finger on that little wheel in the middle of your mouse (or whatever your pointing device is) and flick it (your finger) towards you, the “spam” will magically scroll off the top of your screen and you won’t have to look at it at all.

    • EY (Oak Grove) says:

      …Other than the fact that this is actually useful, relevant and intriguing information. Especially during winter, it’s always awesome to see which places are incredibly cold, which places have huge temperature swings, which places get the most rain and which places are the hottest.

      Just because there’s no reply doesn’t mean it’s without purpose or merit… That’s not mentioning those who DO like seeing the information, as per your “who cares who likes it?” remark. It furthers the overall conversation (one of WEATHER) than a disturbing number of posts do around here.

    • 3StrikeMike says:

      My $0.02… this is one post I look forward to each day. Keep ’em coming!

    • MasterNate says:

      Nnodaze – Do us a favor and make it a year or two!!

    • weathernate says:

      Snodaze, must have little guy complex go get in your big truck and stop bashing those with real stats.

    • Posting actual stats for the day is more useful than seeing someone post about hours 240-384 on the GFS. You’re breaking rule #3 by being rude, Snodaze..lol

    • schmit44 says:

      I am glad people appreciate these daily stats. Will keep ’em coming.

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      I enjoy these posts! I have no idea what Snodaze is all about but forget HIM…. SMH

    • umpire says:

      I’ll chime in as well – I enjoy this post and read it whenever I’m on the blog. Having traveled across much of Oregon, I also enjoy seeing the extremes, especially when I’ve been to the hottest/coldest/wettest locales.

    • I enjoy these statistics as well. I have been to a lot of the strange places that see the extremes. When I see a place I haven’t been to, sometimes I look it up and learn something about it. Very cool, keep it up!

    • boydo3 N Albany says:

      I like his summary posts too. Keep em coming.

    • schmit44 says:

      I keep an archive of these extremes each day.
      http://brianschmit.com/blog/

    • Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

      Only thing I don’t like about it is when it includes the ski resorts and mountain locations. I mean doesn’t it feel kinda cheap when the coldest high is a place 7k feet up on a mountain?

    • WEATHERDAN says:

      I find these daily reports fascinating. I hope they continue. To those who contribute to discussing weather matters on this blog bravo. To those who troll or badmouth others on a personal basis don’t let the door hit you on the way out. Peace.

    • It may seem kinda cheap until we get an inversion like what’s coming for this weekend. That’s when those contrast in temps from the surface to 9,000 ft are cool to see.

    • MasterNate says:

      How about the largest 24 hr snow total? I would like to know that. If its not to much to ask.

    • Laura - West Gresham says:

      Thank you for posting this! I always find these statistics so interesting!!

  24. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    East Wind 😀

  25. momof2kiddos says:

    The wind was more of a breeze here in Cornelius, but it rained like heck! Maybe next week or the week after (so long as I don’t lose power on Thanksgiving) we will see something more exciting. I am crossing all of my crossable parts. 🙂

  26. BoringOregon says:

    Time to issue another *BoringWeatherAlert”!?!?

