2nd “Storm” Over

Time to go to bed…just showers and breezy the rest of the night.

Peak gust was only 41 mph at PDX, in the end a weaker storm than the first.  It just went too far north.  But at least there were fewer power outages.

 

87 Responses to 2nd “Storm” Over

  1. Sandi (Wilsonville) says:

    Returned today from camping in Central Oregon the last 10 nights. It was like western oregon over there. Snow on the sides of the road and mixed snow/rain on the Santiam Pass this afternoon about noon.

  2. W7ENK says:

    NWS Seattle labeled this morning’s tornado an EF1? Ridiculous! Per their own standards, it takes a MINIMUM EF2 to overturn railcars!!

    Someone up there isn’t paying attention… o_O

  3. We are approaching 8″ (7.96″) of rain here for the month of Sept. That equals all of Sept and Oct averages plus half of November rainfall!

  4. Garron near Washington Square says:

    Finally got a new computer…That was fun last night, had to pick up someone at the airport at 9:30, traffic jams due to all the accidents. Yes people, your car is lighter than water. Especially when you are doing 70 around the Terwilliger curves! One Suburu apparently took flight on the Banfield just before the 33rd exit. He/She almost cleared the median taking out about 50 of those green dividers. Welcome to winter driving…

  5. Newbie says:

    My forecast beat everyone’s! I beat mark and JESSE!

  6. melissa says:

    storms are just beauitful and the rain watered ther grass trees which they needed it badley now they can grow and the grass will be greener now i love rain =) and storms

  7. 12Z ECMWF has some decent weather starting this Fri. and building heights after the weekend.

    • umpire says:

      Yeah, so we can pick up all the tree branches littering the yard!

      While the second storm ended up being weaker than the first, I still find it amazing to get this kind of stormy weather in September, not the usual November – January time frame. Not only have we smashed Sept. rainful amounts for most locations, the calendar year rainfall amounts are nearing average, after being significantly below average all year.

  8. WEATHERDAN says:

    Rob so glad to see you posting again. I like to see people posting that know what the heck they are talking about. You know who you are so I don’t have to name names. Then there are the TROLLS. You also know who you are so again I won’t name names. Let’s not lose sight of the fact that meteorology is an inexact science. So nobody will ever get every forecast right, nobody. Mark does pretty damn good and I respect his forecasting abilities. Same goes for Rob and Steve Pierce. As far as the trolls go I won’t waste my time getting into that. However there is an old saying. Those that can do, those that can’t teach, and those that can’t do or teach become trolls on Marks Weather Blog. Peace.

    • Rob - Southeast Portland says:

      Thanks, ya I’ll chime in from time to time. You do a great job here a big contribution to the Blog. As far as the trolls go or people looking to cause problems, it puzzles me to be honest. When you’re here for the same thing, the same collective interest, which is weather discussion, then there is no need for other nonsense. Also, being mentioned along with those of the credentials of Mark or Steve is a real compliment, but I’m not quite on their level. I strive to be there one day. I do enjoy analysis I have a real passion for it.

  9. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    A tornado touched down in Fredrickson, Washington around 7:30 – 7:45 AM this morning.

    I just found a few videos showing the tornado and other debris videos of the “aftermath” Awesome rotation and this was no typical PNW skinny, rope tornado either!
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-tornado-touches-down-in-pierce-county/vCDfX6/
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-debris-from-fredrickson-tornado/vCDfd2/
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-roof-debris-spread-across-lot/vCDfgW/

    More info
    http://www.kirotv.com/news/news/possible-tornado-spotted-pierce-county/nbBZD/

  10. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    A tornado touched down in Fredrickson, Washington around 7:30 – 7:45 AM this morning.

    I just found a few videos showing the tornado and other debris videos of the “aftermath” Awesome rotation and this was no typical PNW skinny, rope tornado either!
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-tornado-touches-down-in-pierce-county/vCDfX6/
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-debris-from-fredrickson-tornado/vCDfd2/
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-roof-debris-spread-across-lot/vCDfgW/

    More info
    http://www.kirotv.com/news/news/possible-tornado-spotted-pierce-county/nbBZD/
    Additional images and pictures of damage to the Boeing Plant
    http://www.kirotv.com/videos/news/raw-video-roof-debris-spread-across-lot/vCDfgW/

    Where is Fredrickson?
    For those of you who have not heard of Fredrickson I grabbed a Google Map of the location.
    https://maps.google.com/maps?q=Fredrickson+washington&hl=en&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&hnear=Frederickson%2C+Pierce%2C+Washington&t=m&z=12
    It is just east-southeast of Spanaway, Washington.

    My relative live in the east side of Spanaway and my Aunt called me just a bit ago and said the funnel went right over their house around 7:30 AM. My Uncle said it touched down immediate east of them. They are in far east Spanaway. She also told me it blew over rail cars. It takes a lot of power and force to do that. Definitely EF 2 to do that. Uncle was in the garage with the door half way open reported winds blowing in every direction so strongly he had to shut the door.

  11. schmit44 says:

    **OCT 2013 WEATHER CONTEST ENTRY FORM HERE**
    http://www.directpaintsaleswa.com/OCT2013/add.php

    I will keep entries open till 11pm on October 3rd

    I will release Sept 2013 contest results tomorrow and thanks for playing everyone.

  12. David B. says:

    Less rain, too. Seattle didn’t break the monthly record. There’s still a chance if we get lucky with the showers today.

  13. paulbeugene says:

    Montly precip record for September just plain old getting smashed down here in Eugene…September bucket at 6.73in and still pouring outside. Perhaps can get to 7 inches on the month before all is said and done.

  14. yevpolo1990 says:

    For a second you had me excited about the “major storm” (atmospheric wrath)
    But then the other second reality hit, oops.

    • MasterNate says:

      I thought Rob did a great job of model riding. Reality is weather is unpredictable. I didn’t see you sticking your neck out for ridicule.

    • jumper2306 says:

      Some people just can’t let go of their adolescence.

    • Rob - Southeast Portland says:

      Very poor effort of trolling me, Yevgeniy Kostenko, but I’d expect nothing less of you guys.

      I didn’t post anything differently with wind estimates, or model info compared to Mark or anyone else.

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      My thoughts as well, Rob. We’ve seen some real low quality Trolls lately.

    • Rob - Southeast Portland says:

      Unfortunately, but if I show up even once, we have almost come to expect this….. and we move on.

  15. JohnD says:

    Does anyone have the “official” September 2013 rainfall totals for Portland? Have the precip values now entered “all time” record territory–not just for PDX but downtown as well? If so, doesn’t get any better than that! Are you kidding all time?!?!?!?!?

  16. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Preview of coming attractions. Thundersnow!

    MOUNT RAINIER RECREATIONAL FORECAST
    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE SEATTLE WA
    426 AM PDT MON SEP 30 2013

    …WINTER STORM WARNING IN EFFECT ABOVE 4000 FEET UNTIL 6 AM PDT TUESDAY…

    .TODAY…VERY WINDY ACROSS THE HIGHER SLOPES. SHOWERS. A CHANCE OF THUNDERSTORMS THIS MORNING. SNOW LEVEL NEAR 5000 FEET.

  17. alohabb says:

    Judging by the amount of steady rain all morning, I should add much more to the total for Hillsboro in September.

  18. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Really glad I didn’t have to dodge any farm animals yesterday!

    Was a fun event for this kid, but I’m easily amused when it comes to weather. Speaking of which…LOOK!

    Can you say frequent showers! Think a Stray will wander off the beach?

    http://www.atmos.washington.edu/~ovens/loops/wxloop.cgi?ir4km_enhanced+12

  19. Jesse-Stevenson says:

    Looks like my forecast this weekend did pretty well. 66/53 at PDX Saturday and 58/51 Sunday, as opposed to the 67/58 Mark had for both days. Today will see highs in the 50s as well, as I predicted last week. Mark had scattered showers and 65/55 for today.

    • W7ENK says:

      Congratulations Uncle Jessie, you’re a genius and a God. I’m so glad your forecast was the best in the Northwest, even better than all those uneducated dolts on TV! I’d pat you on the back, but you’ve already done that for me. I’d hate to double the efforts of someone so superior, it might look like I was just riding your coattails by copying you…

      Way to go! *\^_^/*

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Jesse, you sure like to twist the numbers.

      I went for a low/high of 55/64 Saturday on the 10/11pm newscasts. Did you look at the observations? It never went below 56 Saturday morning, in fact the temperature ROSE during the night. It was 56/66, so how is that wrong? In fact I BEAT YOU on Saturday, so there. You said 53/63 for Saturday.

      Yes, you did well on Sunday…53 am, 58 pm.

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      I usually go for highs/lows within the calendar day. I figured Saturday would drop into the low-mid 50/ before the midnight reading. I guess we just do things a different way. Same with yesterday. The 51 was an evening low. The NWS tallies days that way. Why shouldn’t we?

      Feeling pretty good about my forecast today. I said 59/50 vs your 65/55. And please don’t take this personally. I find it fun. 🙂

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      And to be fair, Mark, you only dropped the forecast high for Saturday to 64/55 after I pointed out your subtropical 67/58 forecasts for both weekend days looked optimistically warm. 🙂

    • marinersfan85 says:

      Good thing you’re a meteorologist, Jesse Clearly Mark could learn a thing or two from you. Seriously. It’s a good thing you make the big bucks for being a chief meteorologist….. Wait a minute, that’s not right.

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      You guys need to calm down. I am not trying to ruffle any feathers here. This conversation involves Mark and myself. No one else last time I checked. I’m not looking to piss any of you guys off. I don’t want to get a fb friend request from another death threat filled page, thanks. 🙂

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Wait! I just about fell off my chair laughing after that little drama queen (sorry, king, but the saying isn’t as good that way) comment.

      You said: “This conversation involves Mark and myself. No one else last time I checked”.

      You little trolling Skamania County backwoods freak! Ummm, that’s called EMAIL. If you put it here in a public place, then it involves anyone who reads it and they are free to comment.

      But that’s okay, I still kinda like you Jesse. My 7 Day numbers are always meant to be the overnight low then the daytime high. That’s how a regular person would interpret it. Otherwise I totally agree that normally we would use midnight to midnight data. When is the next Jesse-Mark forecast contest?

    • W7ENK says:

      *PFFFFFFffffttt*

      Oh sh!!, I just spit my coffee all over my monitor…

      LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

    • Tina * Ridgefield * says:

      I just spit my soda all over my cell. That was to funny. I now know not to piss Mark off! LOL

    • marinersfan85 says:

      Jesse = Fail

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      Good stuff Mark! 😆

      I don’t know when the next contest is. When do you want to do one?

      And if living in Skamania County because I am working as a reading tutor at a low income school makes me a freak, then I guess I’m a freak!

    • schmit44 says:

      Here is the next forecasting brawl:

      OCTOBER 2013 CONTEST LINK
      http://www.directpaintsaleswa.com/OCT2013/add.php

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      I really like it out here. And if Stevenson is backwoods I shudder to think what Corbett qualifies as. 😉

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Very good…nice comeback. We need to wait until we get some significant weather…either cold or warm. I’ll do the October forecast though.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I put in my October numbers

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      Sounds good Mark. I’ll do mine later tonight.

      See? We’re all friends here!

    • marinersfan85 says:

      If you only knew Uncle Jessy

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      What does that even mean, marinersfan? Lighten up and stop being a creep.

  20. chiefWright (Marquam) says:

    But no doubt that low was remarkable. Best station I could find was Pt. Estevan on the West side of Vancouver Island, that bottomed out at 971 mb at 9 PM last night!
    Besides, I’ve come to realize the hard core on this blog aren’t satisfied until they’re a) burnt to a crisp by massive lightning b) blown into Canada by massive wind c) buried under massive drifts of snow or d) washed down the Columbia by massive rain.
    Me, I’m thrilled I got to track a very interesting storm the whole time since the power never went out here in spite of 15-25 mph winds!

  21. W7ENK says:

    Not bad overall, but could have been better. It could always be better!

  22. Pretty stormy this am here some serious heavy rain thunder lighting

  23. alohabb says:

    Crazy to think that just 2-3 weeks ago i was sitting on my patio chair drinking a perfect beer, now my patio is a washout and my furniture is all over the yard, and its only September! Should be a fun Fall

  24. Rob - Southeast Portland says:

    This storm never really had a chance to do much. When models show wave development to occur near 45-47 N that makes it exceedingly difficult to see a big wind storm in northwest Oregon. It’s possible sure, and it has happened several times in our past, but 9 time out of 10 the storm intensifies too soon outside of the important critical 130 W line and re-curves harmlessly to the north. What we need is initial development down near 37-40 N, 135-140 W a true “Sou’wester” with a much more south to north trajectory inside 126-127 W.

    We just might see that this October – December. Better chances this year than in many previous ones.

  25. What a bust last night storm. Just a normal dec storm that just happen to hit in late sept. This first storm better then the joke of last night storm.

  26. EY (Oak Grove) says:

    It wasn’t the incredible storm that people wanted it to be. But it was still a great event… I mean we did see plenty of good gusts… I don’t think it was a complete bust at all. This weekend only showed why I wouldn’t want to live in any other region in the US (and maybe the world) than here… Regardless of potential storms, snows, or warm temperatures.

    There were parts that didn’t pan out close to what they were (landfall of the storm, namely) but there were some anomalies that made it absolutely unique:

    1. The second squall line in two days associated with a cold front that brought good rain and good winds.

    2. Wind gusts spiking randomly.

    3. Lowest pressure readings in many areas for September.

    4. Not only daily rainfall records, but all time monthly rainfall records fell. I’m insanely impressed with that.

    5. Even with how far north and west the storm moved, the trailing cold front managed to pack insane winds. I swear I remember numerous times watching storms make land fall in N. Vancouver Island and all we get is some breezes… The wind came at a good clip.

    I wholeheartedly eat my words; I called it too soon. I’m just disappointed in how far off many of the forecasts were in positioning of the storm. The ones I’m really disappointed in are the NWS for saying, during the 2:30pm time frame, that the storm was going to hit Washington State.

    I also have earned more respect for you, Mr. Nelsen, for actually saying “Whoa, we need to tone down the hype around here.” That was gutsy, especially with how the models were looking Saturday night/Sunday morning. Ultimately, YOU called it. It takes knowledge to realize that people are getting hyped up over an event that doesn’t happen and it takes guts to tell people to hold their horses as things aren’t always what they seem.

    This weekend, you have proven, yet again, why you’re the best meteorologist in this area. To that, I tip my hat to you.

    • JJ78259 says:

      I had fun reading all of the analysis and the accounts of wind damage and power outages great work

    • W7ENK says:

      Well said! I have a lot of catching up to do with all that hype — 252 comments waiting in my inbox. Should be some entertaining reading! 😆

  27. Linda says:

    Mark, you sure are appreciated………the updates are so good and I always look forward to reading them…..thanks! Linda

  28. schmit44 says:

    9/29/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:73 at Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft)
    Low: 60 at Rome(4049 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:39 at Rim(7050 ft)
    Low: 29 at HOWARD Mt Howard (8150 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 23 degrees
    LAKE OWHEE AND O (72/49 ) (2400 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    5.56″ at HEBOWX Mt. Hebo(3160ft)
    4.90″ at LITTLE MEADOWS(4000ft)
    4.86″ at DW0237 Lees Camp(699ft)
    4.78″ at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183ft)
    4.78″ at CEDAR(2220ft)
    4.33″ at RED MOUND(1753ft)
    4.30″ at SADDLE MOUNTAIN(3250ft)

  29. Ron woltjer says:

    Okay, so this storm may not have been all it could have been, still It’s been a fun couple of days and I’m looking forward to a many more storms over the next 6 months.

  30. But so much moisture in the soil for the end of September…can only mean a “second spring” in early-mid October as everything greens back up again.

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      Cold nights later next week may put a damper on that.

    • chiefWright (Marquam) says:

      For many plants, and especially trees that go dormant by cold nights, certainly. Grass and other hardy broadleafs that can cold germinate won’t care, and will be good to have them set roots even deeper to stabilize the soil before the steady fall rains hit. I put down winter fertilizer just before the storm on an already tall growth and I bet I could even get another cutting before hanging up the equipment if we get any decent drying in October.

  31. Mike (Orchards 255') says:

    Might have been a weaker storm than anticipated but what a fun ride for so early in the season!

