Record Breaking Heat Today

Most of the final numbers are in and it was a big record-breaker today.  We forecast 94 here at FOX12; it hit 95 officially in Portland.

PLOT_Highs_Metro

Look at those 98 degree temps in Troutdale and Scappoose!  Wow…that’s really hot.

MarkRecordHighTempsMetro

It’s extremely safe to say that today was the hottest day of summer for much of the metro area, although PDX hit 97 back on June 30th.  I should also point out Hillsboro and Vancouver are both at their high temp at 5pm, so it could rise another degree.

Good news if you don’t like it this hot (who does?), nice push of cooler marine air is pushing into the gaps in the Coast Range and western Willamette Valley.  Eugene, Corvallis, and Kelso are already down around 80 degrees.  As a result, we lowered tomorrow’s forecast down into the upper 80s…a 6-10 degree temperature drop should be much better!

All models still in agreement with a major change occurring for next week.  We’ll go from well above average temps to well below average.  Showers could arrive as soon as Sunday afternoon.  In fact we are in a favorable position for thunderstorms as the first moisture arrive…something to keep an eye on.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

48 Responses to Record Breaking Heat Today

  1. Josh "The Snowman" From Everett, WA says:

    I like the evolving changes and pattern shift we are seeing for the next 14 days. Looks like a good start to the fall. Also looks like northern and central Alaska, including the Yukon, will be starting to cool down this coming week!!!

    Looks a little splitty for the next week or so but I can see things getting more consolidated and I see strong lows starting to become more consistent in the gulf of Alaska.

    Also, I have been looking at analogs, and I’ve noticed when Hawaii has monsoonal moisture late summer, we tend to have better winter setups…just sayin.

  2. Hey where’s the new blog entry? Mark just said he had posted a new blog on TV a minute ago!

  3. High Desert Mat says:

    I live in Redmond, and I for one am ready for fall. Been a long hot and dry summer over here. But I know as soon as I start shivering I’ll want summer back. Lol

    • kdi says:

      I agree. I live outside of Maupin. Add 6 degrees to your highs in Redmond and 9 to your lows and that’s what we’ve had all summer. I will not miss summer. The most relentless summer I remember. 98-102 every day. Lows in the low-mid 60’s. Awful

  4. Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

    21 degrees cooler than yesterday at this time!!! Don’t think upper 80s are happening. T minus 2 or 3 more days until fall weather.

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      National Weather Service Denver/Boulder Colorado
      941 am MDT Thursday Sep 12 2013

      Update…major flooding/flash flooding event underway at this
      time with biblical rainfall amounts reported in many areas in/near
      the foothills. Precipitable water values in excess of an inch and
      a quarter on GPS sensors certainly support lots more rain today
      and tonight. 13z hrrr run has another 1-3 inches of rain
      predicted in the foothills through 04z so things are not looking
      good. Will extend the area of the Flash Flood Watch to include
      zone 43 and also extend it in time through 12z tomorrow morning.

  5. Paul D says:

    Really cloudy out here in Hillsboro this morning – yippee! Will it top out in the upper 80’s? Hope not!!

  6. TrinityVancouver says:

    Fall cannot get here soon enough.

  7. schmit44 says:

    9/11/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:104 at MERLIN SEED ORCH(1144 ft)
    Low: 74 at DW6099 Damascus(748 ft) & DW9403 Corbett(1001 ft) & DW3605 Corbett(1755 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:60 at Port Orford(0 ft) & Newport(30 ft)
    Low: 32 at FOSTER FLAT (5000 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 58 degrees
    FOSTER FLAT (90/32 ) (5000 ft )

  8. AdamInAumsville says:

    LOL.What just happened? It spins!

  9. archangelmichael2 says:

    Anybody know the driest RH it has ever been recorded up in Portland

  10. vinnybob says:

    I left for the coast today and recorded the temps as I drove. When I left Beaverton at 2 PM the temp in my driveway said 98. As I kept driving these are the temps.
    Timber junc. 96
    Quartz Creek 88
    Saddle Mt. exit 84
    Exit to 101 North 70
    Entering Seaside 68
    North Seaside 66
    Final destination Warrenton, Or. 63 at 3:30 PM
    I drove with the air cond. on full blast to almost putting on the heater. Quite the difference.

  11. At LEAST 99 at DLS today. Not the hottest day of the summer but close enough.

    Two years ago we hit 102 on this date, which was not only the hottest day of the summer but also the latest 100 on record.

    It’s possible we could hit 100 tomorrow IF we don’t get any of that marine influence coming through the Gorge before 4-5pm tomorrow afternoon.

    • archangelmichael2 says:

      Do people in The Dalles area generally have AC unlike Portland?

    • Do most Portlanders STILL not have A/C? I lived without it in Eugene…but that’s because I was in old and cheap-ass apartments. I’d say 80-90% of the newer homes there have A/C

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I bet a lot of them have it only because heat pumps (for heating) are so popular. If you have a heat pump it reverses for air conditioning in summer. Even if I lived IN Portland, I wouldn’t get anything other than a room (sleeping) air conditioner. There’s no way it’s worth spending many thousands of $$$ in this climate.

  12. runrain says:

    I just read that Oregon had the national high temperature today and also the national low-temperature. 102° in Medford for the high, and 22° in Silver Lake for the low.

  13. Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

    Reached 96.9° for my high temp today, max heat index was 100° at 4:30PM. Currently 89° with a dew point of 66°… it’s sticky out there!

  14. Josh "The Snowman" From Everett, WA says:

    Anyone seen Dave from Troutdale here lately. Me needs some NOLA diamond.

    • Dave_in_Troutdale says:

      Snowman,

      It’s Dave_in_Troutdale! KIO W the NOLA D! LOL!!!

      Hell, I like you Snowman, you can f my sister!!!

      Anyhow, time to give your big bro a call here in Okinawa. Looks like we may have a Super Typhoon heading are way again, or at least giving us a close call.

  15. Josh "The Snowman" From Everett, WA says:

    This just screams record cold for this winter. I’m thinking some Halloween snow this year.

    Who’s in?

  16. pappoose in scappoose says:

    That really is hot, Mark. But I really like it! Fun to break records!

    Hopefully we can break some low temps soon!

  17. Jeff Raetz says:

    98 here in oak grove. Heat index is 103

    • archangelmichael2 says:

      I hate heat indexes. Wish it were a dry heat with humidity down to 25 percent. I have seen our RH down in the teens I think either 2004 or 2005.

