Tuesday: Hot Day #1

Portland hit 90 today, possibly 91, we’ll see when the climate report comes out at 7:20pm here.  The high temps are a bit different across the metro area today.

PLOT_Highs_Metro

Often on east wind days Portland and Vancouver have the warmest temps, but the easterly flow was very weak today.  Drier air from the Gorge made it just about Troutdale and down into eastern Clark County but that was it.  I see dewpoints across the rest of the metro area are sweaty for September!  Up to 63-64 at PDX.  Yuck, not exactly the Midwest or Deep South, but not the nice 45 degree dewpoints one would expect with hot weather in September here.

That may change tomorrow since models show stronger easterly flow developing overnight and into tomorrow morning.  This should push the wind into Troutdale, Gresham, Camas, and Washougal.  It should also push the drier air a little farther into the metro area.  That plus a slightly warmer atmosphere makes me think PDX will probably jump to the 94-96 range.  We left our 94 degree forecast alone…close enough.  Try to stay cool!

For those of you looking forward to the next 6 months of gray and rain, we’ve got a taste of it coming early next week.  Models are in very good agreement that a cooler than normal period begins either Sunday or Monday.  It’s going to be quite a change to go from 95 degree highs to 65 or so!

Take a look at the 12z GFS and 12z ECMWF ensemble charts, notice the plunge in temps from Saturday to Monday and the very good agreement among the ensemble members:

tseries_850t_000-360_Portland tseries_850t_000-384_Portland

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

56 Responses to Tuesday: Hot Day #1

  1. cgavic says:

    97 degs in downtown sandy.

  2. pappoose in scappoose says:

    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE SEATTLE WA
    316 PM PDT WED SEP 11 2013

    SEATAC REACHED 90 SO FAR WHICH BREAKS THE RECORD OF 87 SET IN 2009.

  3. cgavic says:

    I LOVE this weather!
    It feels hot, slight east wind blowing. Mid-to upper 90’s (phoenix weather)

    The muggy weather is different.

    Someone told me today we were getting a little rain on sunday/monday, and then rain the next week after.

    I indicated that once the rain starts in here, I’m heading over to central Oregon.

  4. Josh "The Snowman" From Everett, WA says:

    Anyone else notice the 1030-1035 mb high pressure sitting between 150-155w throughout the extended?

    Maybe a harbinger of things to come in the approaching months?

    I know it’s early but the way patterns have stuck for months on end lately it does get my juices flowing.

    What say you guys? Mark?

  5. pappoose in scappoose says:

    National Weather Service Portland or
    222 PM PDT Wednesday Sep 11 2013

    Short term…at 20z a thermally-induced surface trough was centered between the north Willamette Valley and Clark County in SW Washington and the Cascade foothills. The kttd-kdls gradient peaked around 15z at -4.4 mb. As of 20z the gradient was -2.8 mb. The wind at kttd went from east 15-25 miles per hour at 15z to northwest 5-10 miles per hour at 20z. 12z NAM showed the thermal trough along the Cascades by 00z Thursday…which may end up
    being pretty close to reality. Still expecting a record high temperature at kpdx today. Khio needs 95 and ksle 96 to tie their records. As of 21z khio tied their record of 95.
    Models are in good agreement concerning the upper low approaching the coast starting Saturday night…swinging several damp disturbances north across the forecast area. The most unstable wave moves through on Sunday…bringing with it a threat for thunderstorms under favorable southeast flow aloft. Will maintain the thunderstorm threat from the Coast Range to the Cascades Sunday morning and afternoon since an already
    warm air mass will be in place over the area.

  6. runrain says:

    Cool, visible satellite picture!

  7. BoringOregon says:

    Can u feel that heat. It’s like 96 out !

  8. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Heat Advisory
    Statement as of 3:07 AM PDT on September 11, 2013

    … Heat advisory in effect from 11 am this morning to 9 PM PDT
    this evening for the greater Portland and Vancouver Metro areas…
    the central and southern Willamette Valley… the lower Columbia
    and Interstate 5 corridor of southwest Washington… and the South
    Washington and north and central Oregon Cascade foothill valleys…
    The National Weather Service in Portland has issued a heat
    advisory… which is in effect from 11 am this morning to 9 PM PDT
    this evening.
    * Timing: beginning after 11 am this morning and continuing
    through this afternoon and early evening until 9 PM.
    * Temperature: temperatures will reach the lower to mid 90s…
    approaching record high temperatures in several locations. Dew
    points will be in the upper 50s to near 60 degrees today…
    causing it to feel muggy and accentuating the the effects of the
    heat.

    You gonna burn!
    Don’t burn the top of your head today! Hahaah!

  9. runrain says:

    74 deg in Troutdale at 5am!

  10. archangelmichael2 says:

    I hope we get more frosts this winter.

  11. schmit44 says:

    9/10/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:107 at AGNESS2( 247 ft)
    Low: 69 at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:57 at NERRS MET SITE A(10 ft)
    Low: 31 at KIRK (4519 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 55 degrees
    PROVOLT SEED ORC (103/48 ) (1180 ft )
    ILLINOIS VALLEY (105/51) (1389 ft)
    Horse Ridge (US (86/32) (4160 ft)

  12. Jesse-Stevenson says:

    Mark Mark Mark….letting your bias against normal PNW weather show up in even your blog updates now huh? 😉

    A lot of people do like the kind of weather that is coming next week. It is part of what makes this home. Weather like this all year and we might as well be in Yuma.

    • archangelmichael2 says:

      Or Phoenix. :p I am glad I am not the only one that likes cooler fall weather. Are you like my alter ego from another world or something? 😉

      Today the dewpoint briefly touched 71F between 6 and 7pm and now is back to a more reasonable level of 64F (More reasonable but not anywhere near comfortable)

      The high was only 94F but with a heat index of 103F and taking the trash can back down the driveway it sure felt like it.

    • JJ78259 says:

      Or San Antonio, 40 days of 100 degrees + so far this summer y’all!

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Jesse Jesse Jesse…I sure did. I sure wouldn’t like this weather all year either, but I like extremes (hot, cold, wind, etc…), so I enjoy this weather too.

  13. BoringOregon says:

    Wow, a 30 degree temperature change !?! we are all going to need some, Shock therapy after that one. I heard, kgw say we might have a chance of, thunderstorms on sunday. Or is the, sea breeeez going to happen?

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      I don’t know, it appears convection may be done for the PDX metro until the cold cored stuff pops up in Fall.

  14. The “Mill Creek Outflow Wind” is blowing in The Dalles tonight, a good 10mph breeze it seems like, near our shopping district. We often get that when we lose the west wind, dewpoints plummet, and then the longer nights this time of year allow for lots of cool air drainage.

  15. runrain says:

    An interesting walk around Happy Valley near the park tonight. Alternating pockets of warm and cool air, almost instantaneously 6 to 8° temperature changes.

  16. Hal in Aims says:

    weak flow? debris coming out of the trees…..hitting the house…cones and small branches everywhere…just did the gutters yesterday…..sigh…

  17. runrain says:

    94 crossing Glenn Jackson at 5pm then abruptly down to 90 at the I84 interchange. And the temperature was up there too 🙂 🙂

  18. I went hiking up at Mt. Rainier and was pleasantly surprised by the east wind fairly early in the day up there (by 7 AM). It was very dry, and about the most clear I had ever seen it there.

  19. schmit44 says:

    *Tonights low will be the 22nd consecutive night above normal at PDX
    *We have had 29 nights since Aug 1 that haven’t fallen below 60 degrees.
    *27 of the past 28 nights have been above normal at PDX.

  20. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Gust of 40 on the rock today. Will be interesting to see what a stronger easterly flow brings tomorrow!

    http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/mesowest/getobext.php?wfo=pqr&sid=D6193&num=60&raw=0&banner=off

    • W7ENK says:

      FWIW, the air was quite dry on my ride home from Downtown Portland, I barely broke a sweat charging along the Springwater Corridor despite the 90+ degrees in the sunshine. Here at the house, as of 5pm I have 88 degrees with 30% RH and DP 54F and just a little bit of a NE-ly breeze.

    • Dave in SW PDX (235') says:

      Wow, what a difference a few miles make! Currently 87.4°/DP64 here at my place…

  21. Paul D says:

    I sure hope that sudden 95 to 65 change really happens! I’m hating this 90+ weather 😦

    • ocpaul says:

      Yeah, I’m tired of anything over 80. ‘Gray’ and rain sounds GREAT to me Mark. (especially if punctuated by sub-freezing with precip) Bring it, please.
      I will enjoy Wednesday as the death rattle of summer 2013

    • Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

      I am waiting for Saturday to bid adieu to this summer. Either way, the end is near and that makes this heat wave almost tolerable.

    • Sifton says:

      I just can’t, CAN’T, understand the 3 of you. (among others) To each their own yes, but rain,cold & gray I will never ever understand the pleasure in that………weird imho.

    • Jesse-Stevenson says:

      Then what on earth are you doing living here, Sifton? Are you a masochist?

    • Paul D says:

      Sifton: I didn’t say I liked cold, rainy and gray. I don’t like hot, and hot to me is above 80. I’d prefer below 70. If it were to quickly transition to 65 and sunny on Sunday, that would be just fine with me.

    • Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

      I do love dark, dreary, wet days, but I hate hot days even more. I can’t fathom why some people like being uncomfortable every time they go outside (or inside without AC like me), but as you said, to each their own.

    • chris s says:

      The wierd one would be you Sifton. Why people always want to have a climate way outside of the norm here is beyond me. Plenty of warm places around the country you can move to. 🙂

    • W7ENK says:

      I’m right there with you, Sifton. I don’t find this weather “uncomfortable” at all. Quite to the contrary, actually. I like it because it’s COMFORTABLE to go outside without having to layer up against the elements. You can work and play outside without getting soaking wet and freezing your @$$ off. You can walk, run, ride to work, to the store, to nowhere in particular just for fun without fear of compromising your immune system and getting sick. You can sit outside comfortably, lay in the grass and listen to the wind in the trees, birds, children playing and being happy. Flowers and gardens grow, the air smells nice, the sky is bright and blue! And the only compromise is maybe a small handful of days where the heat becomes too much and drives NORMAL folk indoors to cower in their dark, air conditioned little hidey-holes, but we haven’t had a single ONE of those days this summer, not yet. I didn’t even bother putting my A/C in my window this year, I haven’t needed it, and my energy bill has been remarkably low because of it.

      On the flip side, no one in their right mind would do any of these outdoor activities when it’s 55 degrees and pouring rain. It’s only these pasty-white, sun-hating, cave-dwelling anti-social vampire hermit folk that can’t handle the sunshine who hunker down indoors all year long, hiding from the sun and their neighbors, and would rather the rest of us suffer without the wonderful beauty that is Summer in the PNW. Face it, a sprinkling of 90 degree days in the summer months falls well within the realm of normal, whether you want to admit to that or not. A comparison to Yuma is simply a gross exaggeration and highly inappropriate. We don’t get 110+ temperatures for weeks on end, so get real.

      There’s a place better suited for these people, it’s way up in the North Land right along the Arctic coast. 55 degrees and dreary all summer long. And we all know we’ve got about 7 months of that coming here, it’s just right around the corner. That’s more than half the year, so sit tight and quit yer b!tchin… 😡

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      I don’t mind the warm weather, I just prefer cool, and can’t wait for stormy/extreme! Actually enjoy today’s weather, due to the record setting potential.

    • Sifton says:

      My sentiments exactly W7ENK!! Very nice wordsmithing……..

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      I’m with Papoose, I don’t actually LIKE it outside when it’s 90 degrees normally, unless I’m near a lake or river. But I enjoy the extremes of any weather. And it is very nice to stroll outside with shorts and a t-shirt instead of putting on a bunch of clothes.

    • Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

      W7, you can enjoy all of that when it’s 65 and sunny too. It doesn’t need to be 95. I admit that our summers are mostly pleasant here, but I loathe the hot days and nights. Yes, it is normal to have some hot days, but I don’t have to like it.

      I also am quite tan, can likely beat you at most sports, and will run circles around your Prius on my motorcycle. So yes, I enjoy the sun too. But, laying out, BBQ, basketball, motorcycle riding all suck when it is hot. Everything does. Thankfully, we only average 10 or so days above 90 each year.

      Fortunately for me and unfortunately for you, we live in an area with far more 55 and cloudy days than 90 and sunny.

    • W7ENK says:

      You’re absolutely right, Joshua. We do get far more days of 55 and gloomy vs. 90 and sunny. So why the complaining? I cherish these days. This is why I survive our seemingly endless months of cold, dark gloom — for the handfull of days just like this. They’re like solid gold!

      FWIW, I too am quite tan, the best I’ve had in several years. This is also the first summer in 4 years my hair has naturally bleached out from the sun, which I’ve missed. I fully admit I suck at sports, mostly because I never gave a sh!+ — though I used to be able to pitch an 86 mph fastball before I blew out my rotator cuff at age 11. I don’t own a Prius, nor will I ever. I don’t ride my bicycle to save the planet, I do it for my health, specifically to keep my heart healthy and my weight down. And your sentiments about how everything sucks when the weather is hot is simply your opinion, which quite obviously is not shared by the majority here.

      Besides, you just had 4 summers in a row of what I would consider (in MY opinion) relative suck, so buck up and stop whining, and let the rest of us enjoy this last little bit of what we wait so long and patiently for every year. If this really bothers you so much, take a train to Northern Canada and come back next week when this beautiful (again, my opinion) late summer weather is gone.

    • Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

      Fair enough. I don’t want to rain on anybody’s parade. The bottom line is that we are all on this blog because we have a fascination with, and a passion for weather. We all share that in common, so no need to argue with each other about our opinions. Enjoy the heat! Stay thirsty, my friend.

