Weather Conference In Nashville

I’m in Nashville these next 4 days (through Friday) at the American Meteorological Society annual Broadcaster’s Conference.  Today was a long day with a 3:30am wakeup call to heard to the airport after going to bed around 1am…Whew!

I’ve been blessed with a great job that has allowed me to do many things I wouldn’t have done otherwise, like attend these yearly conferences in a different city each time.  Last year was Boston, this year Nashville, rumor says Lake Tahoe next year.  Anyway, I try to do things and/or eat things that I wouldn’t normally experience in Portland.  So this evening my wife and I went to Caney Fork restaurant, near the Grand Old Opry.

photo (1)

First time I’ve ever eaten those fried green tomatoes in the pic.  Then I had catfish, hush puppies, and some sort of fried cornbread with powdered sugar on it.  All finished off with a piece of key lime pie.  I think I’ve now covered the basics of southern food; it seems to involve a lot of frying?  That was the one common theme I found.  The weather here is sweaty…high temp around 90 under hazy sun and a dewpoint around 70.

Speaking of warm weather, our warmup is still on the way in the Pacific Northwest.  The 12z GFS and ECMWF both pushed the upper level ridge directly over us Monday-Wednesday next week.  The 12z run of the GFS was the hottest I’ve seen in my entire career here.  The ECMWF was a bit more reasonable.  I noticed there is still a large amount of spread in solutions for early next week, so we may have just some normal hot weather (88-95), or we may get some sort of temperature spike up around 100.  The jury is definitely still out.  Here are the ensemble charts from the 18z GFS and 12z ECMWF:

tseries_850t_000-360_Portland

tseries_850t_000-384_Portland

Either way, our warmest and driest stretch of weather so far this season is on the way starting Friday.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

30 Responses to Weather Conference In Nashville

  1. PaulO says:

    06Z GFS following 00Z trend. 108 Tuesday? New all time record???? Glad I am going away for 2 weeks Friday.

  2. schmit44 says:

    6/27/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:87 at AGENCY VALLEY DA(3307 ft) & Rome(4049 ft)
    Low: 63 at Rye Valley(I-84(2230 ft) & JUNIPR(359 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:46 at Timberline Lodge(7001 ft)
    Low: 38 at Timberline Lodge (7001 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 33 degrees
    Rome (87/54 ) (4049 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.98″ at K7ZQU-7 Santiam(4790ft)
    0.94″ at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183ft)
    0.71″ at RED MOUND(1753ft)
    0.63″ at AA7OA Astoria(240ft)

  3. schmit44 says:

    **HEATWAVE CONTEST FOR THIS UPCOMING WEEK IN PDX***
    Enter your high/low temperature forecast’s for the next week for PDX with your name.
    I will announce the winner of July 4th of this contest. The deadline to enter this contest is midnight tomorrow night (Thursday Night)
    The heatwave period spans this Friday to next Thursday.
    http://www.directpaintsaleswa.com/JULY2013_HEATWAVE/add.php

  4. MasterNate says:

    WOW! That 00z GFS is Wicked!! I hope that changes soon.
    http://wxweb.meteostar.com/sample/sample.shtml?text=KPDX

    • Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

      Me too. So much for the cool down mid-week if this verifies. 107! I hope the ensembles are more reasonable than the operational.

  5. BoringOregon says:

    Wow, did you even know they can do a, deep fried snickers bar !?!?
    Glad I got all my grass cut today. Would hate to be doing yard work in that heat !!

  6. Steph says:

    That fried cornbread sounds amazing. I hope it was as good as the fried pita bread!

  7. Jenna says:

    I have a pic on my fb page…just not sure how to post it anywhere else…I admit…I am a computer retard:)

  8. Jenna says:

    I know its late but there was a funnel cloud off School Jackson road and 26 yesterday around 530ish…have a pic but don’t know how to post it…sorry:)

  9. JJ78259 says:

    Great day in San Antonio yesterday 100 degrees and blue sky all day long. The pool felt great after work. The evenings are so nice and warm. Heading to Memphis and taking some clients to Nashville tomorrow night, Mark have fun in Nashville grab some barbecue!

    • Sifton says:

      Even as much as I love the sun/heat 95-100+ day after day would be a bit much for me. I’ll take my pool in the N.W. 4-5 months outta the year anytime. Enjoy the oven all the wildlife that thrive there…………

    • runrain says:

      And the trees, and the mountains, and… Oh, wait…

    • runrain says:

      The people are real nice, though, and the Riverwalk is awesome. Interestingly, San Antonio bills itself as the 8th largest city in the US. In reality, Portland is actually larger based on metro area.

    • JJ78259 says:

      We have trees and really high over passes on the clover leafs. They love their concrete highways they are very well detailed and painted. No Portland graffiti. The city is very clean I mean spotless kind of weird to see. My daughters are getting used to the lizards and big bugs. The birds are munching on the cicadas this year, so all in all we are having a great time. I love the heat my wife is loving the evenings there is always a nice breeze going. We can see the city lights from our patio so I guess you would call it hill country, not mountains. The people here are very nice and out going and the native texans are very proud to be here! It is great to be able to cover my Texas Oil and Gas accounts without major plane rides or hotel stays. It used to take me all day to get to Memphis Company headquarters now just 90 min so I will be with family a lot more!

  10. schmit44 says:

    6/25/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:75 at MEDFORD(1339 ft) & DW9612 Umapine(797 ft) & Celilo, East of(225 ft)
    Low: 61 at JUNIPR(359 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:42 at Rim(7050 ft) & Timberline Lodge(7001 ft)
    Low: 36 at Timberline Lodge (7001 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 21 degrees
    Pendleton /McKay (72/51 ) (1100 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    1.65″ at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183ft)
    1.62″ at RED MOUND(1753ft)
    1.49″ at CW8892 Sweet Hom(574ft)
    1.30″ at DALY LAKE(3600ft)

  11. AdamInAumsville says:

    00Z GFS is mighty toasty…

  12. runrain says:

    119° forecast for Phoenix on Friday. 129° forecast for Death Valley on Saturday and Sunday. Amazing stuff!

  13. pappoose in scappoose says:

    NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PORTLAND OR
    904 PM PDT TUE JUN 25 2013

    UPDATE…BUSY AFTERNOON AND EARLY EVENING AS SUN BREAKS TOOK FULL ADVANTAGE OF LOW LEVEL SPEED SHEAR AND ABOVE AVERAGE DEW POINTS FOR THE AREA. THIS COMBINATION RESULTED IN MODESTLY DEEP CONVECTION UNDER DECENT LOW AND MID LEVEL INSTABILITY. RECEIVED ABOUT A HANDFUL OF LIGHTNING STRIKES WHEN A FEW INITIAL UPDRAFTS PROVED STRONG
    ENOUGH TO GIVE CHARGING TO THE DEEP CUMULUS AS SURFACE PARCELS REACHED ABOVE 25 KFT WITH TEMPERATURES AROUND -35C A COUPLE THOUSAND
    FEET HIGHER PER THE 00Z SALEM SOUNDING. DOPPLER DATA INDICATED SEVERAL MESOCYCLONES DEVELOPED ACROSS THE REGION WITH MOST LOCATED EAST OF I-5 AND NORTH OF EUGENE. ALSO RECEIVED A REPORT OF A TORNADO TOUCHING DOWN ROUGHLY 10 MILES NORTHWEST OF VERNONIA NEAR THE COMMUNITY OF BIRKENFELD. PUBLIC SUPPLIED INFORMATION AND PHOTOS
    REVEALED VERY MINOR HOUSE DAMAGE ALONG WITH A TREE ON THE SMALL SIDE SNAPPED OFF PERHAPS A COUPLE OF FEET UP THE TRUNK. CANNOT VERIFY IT
    WAS A TORNADO BASED ON THE PROVIDED INFORMATION AND PICTURES…BUT THE ENVIRONMENT GAVE POTENTIAL FOR FUNNEL CLOUD DEVELOPMENT.

  14. Ummm….isn’t that in the recipe book for heart disease and obesity?
    They also love their cherry Coke down south!

  15. Phil in Beaverton says:

    Please tell me that it won’t be humid along with the coming heat.

  16. runrain says:

    The Grand Ole Opery Hotel is cool. Huge! Enjoy your visit!
    We have some dark clouds right now but no thunder.

  17. The Dalles has had 0.80″ of rainfall since midnight….this may be the wettest June day on record at DLS in 65 years of records.

    BTW, the DLS weather station is ‘celebrating’ its 65th birthday on July 1 this year!

  18. Muxpux (Castle Rock 175') says:

    Had some lightning and thunder with that cell that just passed over castle rock

