A Very Wet May, But Summer Ahead

Last night’s soaking put us into a tie for 3rd place here in Portland.

MarkRain_PortlandToday

As of 4pm we’ve seen 4.68″ 4.71″  so far…strangely enough that’s the same total from May 2010 (I think I added wrong initially), that was a gruesome late spring!  Here are the top 5:

MarkRain_MayWettest

Even stranger, this May total is just a quarter-inch away from the entire February, March, & April combined total!  Those were some very dry months.

I think I mentioned 2-3 weeks ago that we’d see payback for all that dry weather and sunshine…

So what happens next?  It’s as if a switch is going to go off and we go dry again.  Get ready for a return to summer, and this time it’ll be “real” summer weather (next week) because it’ll be June.

Why a dramatic change?  The cool upper-level troughiness and moist westerly flow will be replaced by an upper level ridge either over us or just to the west (reminds me of late winter and most of spring).  As we head into summer this pattern is usually dry with just varying degrees of onshore flow or flat onshore/offshore gradients.  Take a look at the rise in 850mb temps over the next week on the 12z GFS:

tseries_850t_000-384_Portland

The 12z ECMWF is similar, although it appears the cold trough late next week is a big outlier (the blue line is the operational run):

tseries_850t_000-360_Portland

850mb temps peak out around +15 or so next Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday.  That should easily push us up into the low-mid 80s!  Our 7 Day is a little cooler because I’m a little gun-shy after some episodes earlier this spring.  Or maybe I’m just getting old and conservative with a cold-bias?  The new 18z GFS is even warmer with 6 days at +15 or warmer starting next Tuesday…Summer!

The ground is very wet right now, but should dry quickly the next 3-4 days with warmer temps.  I was out in my (overgrown) yard today…wow, lots of weeding, mowing and weed-whacking on the way.  But it sure is GREEN out there!  Can’t wait to get outside in the sunshine and warmer temps, even if it involves a lot of work.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

25 Responses to A Very Wet May, But Summer Ahead

  1. JJ97222 says:

    Another heavy down pour under the dome still looks like winter!

  2. W7ENK says:

    You should come back and visit Portland more often then, bring some of that beautiful weather with you… I wouldn’t mind a few days/nights with some karayzeee thunderstorms! :mrgreen:

    • W7ENK says:

      Yeah, that’s nice. “Network Error”, and then it places my comment NOT where intended… :facepalm:

    • JJ97222 says:

      Those Storms light up the sky like no where else pretty cool absolutely amazing. My family will be taken back by the first one that fires off that for sure.

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      STORMS – WHERE?? ^_^

    • JJ97222 says:

      San Antonio

    • W7ENK says:

      I was actually speaking in reference to @pdxgeologist and his storms down in Panama, but I’ll take any thunderstorms I can get, as long as they don’t bring tornadoes!

  3. pdxgeologist says:

    Just checking in from Panama. We’ve entered the “rainy season” (next 8 or 9 months) here, which means that we get karayzeee thunderstorms just about every day (and sometimes night). Couple days ago had a lightning strike just outside our office trailer – one of the loudest things I’ve ever heard/felt. We made it up to Portland for a week at the beginning of May (you remember… that beautiful week of 80s). Really miss the seasons up there. Enjoy summer Portland!!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Good to hear from you.

      I really like karayzeee thunderstorms.
      When thunder roars, head outdoors!

    • pdxgeologist says:

      Yep! We all like to sit out on the balcony and watch / listen (all of us except the dog, she just doesn’t get it).

  4. schmit44 says:

    June 2013 Weather contest entry form here. Entries close May 31
    http://tinyurl.com/june2013-contest.

  5. schmit44 says:

    5/29/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:73 at Medford Viaduct(1360 ft)
    Low: 55 at JUNIPR(359 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:31 at Mount Hood Meado(6601 ft)
    Low: 27 at Mount Hood Meado (6601 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 29 degrees
    PARKER MOUNTAIN (64/35 ) (5280 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    1.97″ at HEBOWX Mt. Hebo(3160ft)
    1.90″ at BLAZED ALDER(3650ft)

  6. Don’t know why I’m so intrigued by Fairbanks weather. But it was 82 there yesterday with 20+ hours of daylight.
    http://www.arh.noaa.gov/wmofcst.php?wmo=CDAK49PAFG&type=public

  7. Tyler Mode says:

    Pouring rain here again. 1.10″/hour with 0.78″ for the day

  8. JJ97222 says:

    Rain totals are going up another heavy shower with a clap of thunder under the dome it just won’t stop I can’t wait for a dry warm day. I will miss part of next week here as I am driving my company truck and stuff we will need while our goods are delivered to San Antonio. It will be 90 down there I will warm up with the humidity going. 2300 mile road trip then flying home Thursday.

    • W7ENK says:

      Thunder?? I’m sitting here with my windows open, I’ve heard no thunder, and I can’t be more than a mile from you… o_O

  9. boringoregon says:

    Ahhh, don’t say that w7enk!! Lol just tilling up my garden to so many clover weeds omg to many.

  10. Rick says:

    1ST I think

  11. W7ENK says:

    Probably won’t last all that long, unfortunately…

