A Few Maps for Tuesday Afternoon

I had the weekend and Monday off for some kid’s events so a bit delinquent on posting.    So I’m back in the saddle and looking carefully at the weather maps/models…I’ll post a few thoughts later.  I have some other office issues and a project I need to get done.

But for now, here are the latest 18z GFS and 12z ECMWF ensemble charts…very warm for early May:

 

tseries_850t_000-384_Portland

 

tseries_850t_000-360_Portland

And then the monthly ECMWF maps from Sunday night’s run:

500za_week1_bg_NA

500za_week2_bg_NA

500za_week3_bg_NA

500za_week4_bg_NA
  Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

13 Responses to A Few Maps for Tuesday Afternoon

  1. schmit44 says:

    4/30/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:71 at BROOKINGS( 79 ft)
    Low: 48 at BROOKINGS(79 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:21 at HOWARD Mt Howard(8150 ft)
    Low: 12 at Sand Creek (US 9 (4525 ft ) & ANTELOPE (6460 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 41 degrees
    Sand Creek (US 9 (53/12 ) (4525 ft )
    ANTELOPE (28/12) (6460 ft)

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.21″ at DW2245 Hillsboro(180ft)

  2. Lurkyloo says:

    Oh, my. Hello, Summer! We’ve missed you in a big way.
    Hello bbq. Hi there, shorts. Howdy pale-ass people showing too much skin!! Hi sunburn. Props to watering the garden. Hey now, it’s Otter Pop time!! WooHoo!

  3. Jesse-Stevenson says:

    A lot more ensemble spread on the EURO than the GFS. The EURO seems to be indicating the chance that the highest heights once again end up offshore, putting us into cool North or NW flow again by day 6 or 7.

    Regardless looks like a stellar next few days coming up. 🙂

  4. runrain says:

    Got my English peas all covered up. Gonna be a cold one tonight!

    • Peas should be OK with a light freeze, huh?
      My peas are being attacked by Yellow Crown sparrows. At first I thought they were kinda cute in the garden scratching around like little chickens. Then I see them going after my pea plants and eating the leaves! Had to throw on an emergency screen to save them. Damn wildlife! 😉

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Peas survive freezes in winter…I bet down to around 20 degrees at least because my cover crop has survived most years.

  5. Sifton says:

    Heck I thought you were on your vacation!

  6. JJ97222 says:

    Some like it hot! Then hotter!

  7. W7ENK says:

    Me likey!!! 😀

