Elevations & Snow

I saw something interesting tonight on another station. A forecast for sticking snow above 800′. The official NWS forecast for tonight is 500-1000′. By the way, when we say "snow level", we mean the elevation to which snow will stick…it’s usually colder as you go up in elevation. So does that mean that one station or forecaster can more accurately predict how low the snow is going to go? Not really. In situations like tonight…where a solid stream of cold showers are moving inland (at over 30 mph!), and the low level wind is southerly…we tend to see a general snow level the same from the beaches all the way to the Cascades. You could argue that it’s about 1,000-1,500 at this moment while I write this close to midnight Friday night. And that’s what I forecast tonight. But when the wind isn’t too strong, a very heavy shower moves through and the melting snowflakes can bring the snow level lower than expected otherwise. Last night, coming over Sylvan at 11pm (780′ elev.), it changed to almost all snow in a tremendously heavy downpour. I almost panicked, thinking this would be the end of all of us and a surprise snowstorm. There was probably sticking snow to 1,000′ in that shower, but then it moves on by and the light southerly breeze warms things back up a few degrees. The point is that the snow level in situations like this could be 1,500′ one moment and 800′ the next. It’ll always drag lower when the precip really comes down hard. I have 1.5" on the ground at my home tonight at 1,000′, while I doubt there is any Skyline & Barnes in Portland. Mostly likely heavier showers moved through here as they ran into the Cascades (it’s a very wet place!). FOR THIS REASON, I usually stick to 1000′ increments, but sometimes 500′ if necessary, in my forecasting. Saying 250′ or 750′ or 800′ or anything along those lines that implies accuracy that we don’t really have. Just one opinion of course, but have a good weekend! Mark

4 Responses to Elevations & Snow

  1. Garry Kinney says:

    Interesting weather Friday night….had about two inches of snow at Vernonia. My elevation is 752 feet. Downtown Vernonia had a “dusting” which melted by midday. It was amazing what just going up the small hill to my house did….reminds me of driving up to Government camp. Often there is no snow until you round that last turn and arrive at Ski Bowl. The rain suddenly changes to snow in just that short elevation rise.

  2. Paul in Beaverton/Tigard says:

    Great idea with the blog!!!! Finally a medium to which we can all vent and lend our praise!! I’m on a little hill here next to Bull Mtn at, what Google Earth says, 310 feet. Had a great rain event here!! 🙂 Mark I had a question regarding the NWS. Normally I gather that they are relatively conservative in their forecasting of snow in the area. I was pretty surprised when I went to bed on wednesday night (11/30) with the NWS calling for 2-6 inches. Was that call mostly based on how wet the storm was or on the web bulb effect and ones vulnerablilty to the gorge winds? And I have always paid close attention to air temps in the gorge and basin and it just didn’t seem like the air was as cold as it usually is when we see our little snow events here. Is it me or is the NWS relying too much on model guidence rather than good old fashioned history and science??? Anyway… I always put my money on you cuz, well, you’re the best we’ve had since Jim Little!!!!! 🙂

  3. Kirk Mattila says:

    Hey Mark thanks for this weather blog I will be reading it frequently. I hope you have time to keep up with this I appreciate your thoughts, we had 3 inches of snow at our house last night. We live at 1000 feet outside of Camas, I love it when it snows it makes me feel like a kid again. Thanks

  4. RIAN MULEBACK says:

    STICKING TO THE 500 FOOT AND 1000 FOOT SNOW LEVELS IS A GOOD IDEA IN MY OPINION. TOO MANY PEOPLE WOULD GET SHOOK UP IF YOU TRIED TO GUESS THE EXACT SNOW LEVEL DOWN TO THE FOOT. TRYING TO BE TOO EXACT IN WEATHER COULD GET A FORECASTER INTO A STICKY SITUATION. I TOO HAD SOME SNOW AT MY HOUSE IN A HEAVY DOWN POUR, BUT IT DIDN`T STICK AND THE TEMP DID RISE AFTER THE SHOWER PASSED THROUGH. YOUR WEATHER BLOGS ARE AN EXCELLENT IDEA. I AM GLAD THAT YOU CAME UP WITH IT. THANX.