Rainbow Pics

I think we received about 10 viewer pics showing rainbows this evening.  This one is my favorite from Darrick Williams in Salem, click on the image for a larger view:

photo_rainbow_darrickwilliams

31 Responses to Rainbow Pics

  1. chiefWright (Marquam) says:

    After the disappointing afternoon for stray albino watchers, anybody notice the regional radar this evening? I suspect we’re in the middle of migration, as I see lots of radar “blooms” popping up after sunset, many moving in a northward direction? I recall reading that these are really & truly birds in motion!

  2. Marcus says:

    I’m liking the +14-15c temps on the extended GFS ensembles:)

    • Marcus says:

      According to KGWs weather app the seven day forecast is as follows- 75,70,81,73,72,73,64:/ sat 81 would be nice:)

  3. W7ENK says:

    FWIW, from my perspective in Downtown Portland, cloud progression seems to be at least an hour behind where it was yesterday at this time. I don’t know if we can make up the difference at this point, being only March and peak heating occurs earlier than it does during the summer…

    We’ll see.

    • W7ENK says:

      There’s also a layer of high clouds that wasn’t there yesterday.

    • High Desert Mat says:

      God I wish I knew everything like Erik or at least thought I did. I love proving people wrong. What a disguised troll

    • W7ENK says:

      Jealous much?

      Let’s see, what I call an educated guess your blog boyfriend calls being “cautiously optimistic”. I’m just on the flip side of the coin. It’s called realism. I don’t create and subsequently propagate fantasy.

      GFY Mat.

    • Greg Carstens says:

      Yep! I got the goods today here in Southeast Tacoma. Two claps of thunder an then a nice dump of about a tenth of an inch of rain in under 15 minutes. I called a spotter report in to NWS Seattle and I think I woke the forecaster up from an early spring nap as they seemed to be quite surprised that the small cell over Tacoma managed to produce lightning and thunder. This was all right after 3:30 PM. I figured it would do something earlier as the skies got darker to my southwest before the noted time here.

      Overall for the day I had a high of 58 and a low 40 with 0.17 inches of rain. Not a bad weather day at all. I’ll take that anytime of the year actually.

  4. runrain says:

    Today has more of a convective look and feel to it.

    • W7ENK says:

      Really? I thought quite the contrary. It’s taking longer for the clouds to burn off today, and walking around Downtown during lunch, I thought the air felt like it had a chill to it that wasn’t there Noon-hour yesterday.

      I guess we’ll have to wait and see…?

    • Joshua in Lake Oswego says:

      Yesterday evening defnitely had ”that feel” to me as I was out on my deck. Today, it doesn’t, but it’s still early.

    • chris s says:

      Temps are running higher at pdx compared to this time yesterday. Dewpoints considerably higher, humidity considerably higher. I would say runrain is correct. Its way more humid feeling down here in salem than yesterday, and radar is filling in to the west as well. Just had a spotty real light shower in parts of west salem.

    • runrain says:

      Yes, less sun to start but the clouds look a bit more volatile and the air feels heavier. These are not scientific observations, just gut feels from a long time west side Oregonian!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      I feel it, runrain. The heavy air.
      Prepare for the STAMPEDE!

    • W7ENK says:

      Yeah, I know what you mean. But to me, Downtown at Noon didn’t feel as promising as it did yesterday, though I haven’t stepped outside since then.

      Maybe my feelers are off from a prolonged lack of action? WEATHER action, that is… :oops:

  5. pappoose in scappoose says:

    National Weather Service Portland or
    924 am PDT Thursday Mar 28 2013

    Short term…morning update…minimal changes made through the
    tonight period with the main concern revolving around thunderstorm potential later today. Still walking a fine line but have enough confidence to use isolated coverage verses probability wording. Vertical thermal structure from the sle sounding this morning very similar to yesterday but had a bit of warming centered around 600 to 500 mb. Looks like another day of 62 to 64 degree temperatures will be necessary to overcome that middle level cap…well within the range of the forecasted highs. Once again looks like prime time will begin around 5 PM and last through the early evening daylight hours. Kept the thunder placement the same (east of the coast range) but feel a weak onshore flow will likely keep most deep activity closer to the Cascades than the Coast Range. A dry midlevel layer associated with the warming aloft could bring better potential for gusty outflow but speeds should still be 35 miles per hour or less with most outflow gusts well below. Also dont have as much rotational shear so storms may be more pulse type today and shorter lived. As such…did not have enough
    confidence to include a specific hail mention but small hail still
    possible. /Jbonk

  6. W7ENK says:

    All I got last evening was about 10 or 15 minutes of light sprinkles, just enough to wet everything down and knock the pollen out of the air. No “torrential” rain, no hail, no lightning or thunder… One of these days, if I’m lucky?

    Hey, wouldn’t a Spring 1993 redux be wonderful though? Anyone happen to know where I can find climate data for PDX from 1993 that shows thunderstorm days and whatnot?

  7. ocpaul says:

    So this is what ‘The Dome’ looks like? Great pic!

  8. bgb41 says:

    3/27/2013 Oregon (All) Temperature Summary

    Warmest:
    High:69 at WH6KO-10 St Hele( 36 ft) & Troutdale (I-84(30 ft) & ECHO(683 ft)
    Low: 49 at CW8449 Charlesto(322 ft) & NEWPRT Cape Foul(1024 ft)

    Coldest:
    High:34 at HOWARD Mt Howard(8150 ft) & Mount Hood Meado(6601 ft)
    Low: 25 at NPOWDR (3212 ft ) & MAZAMA (4596 ft )

    Largest Diurnal Change: 35 degrees
    Ontario Municipa (67/32 ) (2188 ft )

    Heaviest Rainfall:
    0.46″ at QUAIL PRAIRIE LO(3183ft)

  9. Really nice. Very nice!

  10. Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

    Amazing picture… beautiful!

  11. pappoose in scappoose says:

    What a great shot!

  12. pappoose in scappoose says:

    Who’s on first?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

