Funnel Cloud Over Battle Ground?

Sure looks like it to me!  This pic is from John & Roxie in Battle Ground earlier this afternoon…any comments?

MarkPhotoFull_1

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

36 Responses to Funnel Cloud Over Battle Ground?

  1. Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

    I have seen a couple vortexes like this on youtube. Not the type that would touch the ground, exactly. But definitely a funnel.

  2. Jordan (Raleigh Hills 420' ) says:

    NWS has rain/snow in my forecast for Friday night and Saturday. nothing there yesterday and it’s not exactly in line with their listed snow levels in the text….but it has me thinking that maybe we will at least see some flakes in the air around here… at least i hope. looks cold through at least Tuesday. then maybe we will be get some nice warmth in here for the start of March!!

  3. Marcus says:

    00z euro no good if you wanted snow anytime soon I’m throwing in the towel on winter I’m usually very optimistic but this winter is different!!! Light rain, split flow ridge. Snow and cold is just 10 days out how many times this winter I’m done with it bring on warm weather and let’s play ball:))) go mariners!!!

  4. pgiorgio says:

    Impossible to know what is and isnt real anymore in pictures. After what my wife does with photoshop its really made me a skeptic of any pic. This doesnt look real to me, but who knows.

  5. Lynn says:

    I work on the legacy NW campus and my office window looks toward the Fremont bridge. I saw that cloud when it was a straight column and then started changing
    It was weird looking!
    Couldn’t get a good pic but u was really
    Shocked in thinking what could be hitting Vancouver! There was a definite black
    Layer of clouds with an odd top white layer where that column came from

  6. Ben T says:

    Battle Ground is where they had a tornado a couple years back right?

  7. alohabb says:

    Wow that fighter pilot screamed by! Wow that was loud.

    • alohabb says:

      F-16’s screaming over Washington County..weather is boring so I posted this instead

    • W7ENK says:

      F-16s? We don’t have any F-16s stationed in Oregon. Where’d they come from, and which way were they headed???

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Erik, we have F-16’s or 15’s (one of the two, I think) out here in the non-gravelly plains near the airport. I hear them every so often. Oregon Air Guard or something …

    • W7ENK says:

      Oregon Air National Guard flies hand-me-down F-15As out of both PANG and Kingsley. At any rate, they must be doing their night training again? I haven’t heard them… yet.

    • runrain says:

      Yes, the F-15 Eagles of the 142nd Fighter Group at PDX are conducting night training exercises now thru Friday.

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      We some F-16’s in Klamath Falls! Those things are super loud. It feels like my house is being blown up.

  8. Janears says:

    Does anybody see any real rotation on this? I don’t.

  9. W7ENK says:

    Right next to the hail shaft like that? No. Anyone that knows even the slightest little bit about thunderstorm structure would know, that’s definitely not in the right spot!

    Nice try, poor fakery.

    • *BoringOregon* says:

      I agree with you w7enk looks like a rain shaft. Ahhh it was so warm out around 3 to 4 pm that I just sat out side and enjoyed it such a nice day!!!

    • High desert Mat says:

      Does anyone else get tired of Erik’s know it all posts? Geez man, get a life or something.

    • W7ENK says:

      Anything constructive from you, Matty? Or are you making it your new mission to slam me every chance you get? Stick to giving obs, you’re much better at that than you are at trolling. And you say I need a life? Jeezus man, you’re going out of your way to pick fights on the internets! Way to go, keyboard warrior…

    • Timmy_Supercell (Klamath Falls @ 4200') says:

      The tornadoes that are “rain wrapped” must be near the rain core? I assume not every tornado/funnel has to be far away from the rain.

  10. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    I know a heavy shower sat over my station around 3 PM with 0.47″ falling today. This along with a peak rainfall rate of 1.02″.

  11. Nona says:

    Often I have seen this funnel cloud appearance when driving west on Hwy 34 to Corvallis in early afternoon hours from the I-5 exit during Spring months.

  12. Reminds me of some of those faked UFO pics.

  13. Tom (NE Portland) says:

    Doesn’t look like one to me.

  14. SeDrools says:

    Living in Ft.Sill outside Lawton, Ok. I have seen many tornado/funnel clouds. Usually they are at the end of the precipitation. I’m not an expert on cold funnels, but it just doesn’t seem right.

  15. Dave in South Salem (500') says:

    I’d say yes, a cold air vortex

  16. yeah, that grey “funnel” just looks off.

  17. bgb41 says:

    I don’t think so. Looks to me like it was taken inside a car.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

