AMS Meeting Tonight!

UPDATE — OREGON AMS PIZZA SOCIAL THURSDAY EVENING = BE THERE!

The Oregon Chapter of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) is lining up some great weather meetings in January, February and March. After a very busy fall season, the Oregon AMS executive council decided to ease our way back into the new year with a fun and always entertaining no-host pizza social at Stark Street Pizza 9234 S.E. Stark Street Portland, tomorrow (Thursday, January 24th) at 7pm. For driving directions, see: http://starkstreetpizzaco.com/contact_info.html or Google the above address. There is no set topic at this FREE meeting. Please feel free to bring your family members, children, significant others, etc… to this laid-back gathering. Bring your favorite weather project, weather picture, book, technical paper, etc… to share with the group. We will have our laptop and LCD projector available. Bring anything you have on a USB thumb drive and we will load it up. If you are not a current Oregon AMS member, feel free to show up and see what we are all about? Maybe you will sign up? As many of you know, Stark Street Pizza is famous for some of the best pizza and libations in Portland. This is an all-ages gathering. We have the large back room reserved, so let’s fill it up. We understand this meeting is fairly short notice, but we hope you can still swing in for a great time!

We are looking forward to seeing you all this evening, January 24th at 7pm at Stark Street Pizza in Portland!

I won’t be able to make it since I’m working during that time, so have a drink and slice for me please…

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

34 Responses to AMS Meeting Tonight!

  1. Marcus says:

    12z euro don’t bother blah!!!!

    • Big change from 24hrs ago on the euro. BIG change. And the gfs is going down the same road. Gonna need a bunch of days off to go find sun if we go back into the dreaded inversion! :(

    • Ben T says:

      It’s getting to the point and actually already has gotten to the point where there is no point in looking at the models anymore for snow. It always seems to be 10 days and even when there’s like 3 days left it ends up falling through.

    • Brian in Bellingham says:

      What is odd is that the GFS is actually getting BETTER, not worse, though still not good enough. GFS is trending toward the old EURO, the EURO trending toward the old GFS.

      GFS is slowly shifting everything to the West. Again, not good enough, but heading in the right direction.

      But I am not optimistic.

    • Marcus says:

      I guess we shall see on the 18z I’m staying optimistic, but time is running out!

    • I’m ready to move on to spring and try again next year. I just don’t feel it happening this year.

    • JohnD says:

      Same thing every year it seems. Everywhere
      else BUT here is getting it. Very, very
      frustrating. But as long as we are still in
      the theoretical “winter weather window” all
      we can do is “grin and bear it”. When winter
      weather seems out of the question, sometimes
      focusing on (hoping for) an early spring
      helps. And also thinking about someday moving
      to a more inspiring climate.

      P.S. My in-laws live in Massachusetts. My
      weather frustrations are doubled! And
      furthermore, it is looking more and more
      likely that ALL of the current arctic weather
      currently setting up in Alaska is-once again-
      destined to slide east of the Rockies. You
      would think that through some miracle ONCE in
      a while we would get just a sliver. We are
      not asking for much you know.

    • W7ENK says:

      I’ve been told repeatedly that looking forward to a warm spring before the winter weather wishcasting window has fully closed is considered pessimistic, and therefore is not allowed. DO NOT, for ANY reason, in NO uncertain terms, EVER look forward to the potential for warm weather during January, February or even through the middle to end of March! NOT EVER!! Sit down stay bad NO!!! *fwap* Just, NO!!!!

    • EY (Oak Grove) says:

      I’d rather have 33 and rainy for a couple days straight than an inversion at this point. Honestly, this last inversion event utterly ruined inversions for me and it may take awhile for me to want another one.

      I’m just hoping for an average February… As in, average rainfall and average temps. It really bothers me that February is quickly becoming drier than March and is gunning for April. Plus, it seems if we get a mild and very dry February, we get a cold and wet March and April. Mild and dry February is crud… Mild and dry March and April means we can actually see good, comfy temps and lots of warm sunshine.

      Winter is over for me… It was a poor Winter and there’s very little time left for that to change and I really doubt it will. I just hope that “Bad Winter” isn’t followed with “Disgusting Spring and Terrible Summer.” I’m sick and tired of Fall being the only normal season.

    • W7ENK says:

      I can’t think of any realistic weather scenario I’d “rather have 33 degree rain” over. Perhaps a raging wildfire sweeping through my neighborhood, then I’d wish for 33 degree rain, but other than that I’m just not feeling your sentiment…

      Does your 33 degree rain come with crazy-scary lightning and thunder?

    • EY (Oak Grove) says:

      The way I see it is that at 33 and rainy, we’re ALL going to be on the edge of our seats, waiting with bated breath to see if it turns over. Worst case scenario is it doesn’t, best case is we get snow… Either way, it’s definitely more exciting than 35, dry, cloudy and just blah boring.

    • W7ENK says:

      Well, you do have a point, but I’d like an occasional payout for all my edge-of-my-seat, baited-breath waiting… more oftly than that of recent winters, at least.

  2. W7ENK says:

    Hey Mark? This post isn’t showing up on the main page, just FYI.

    • W7ENK says:

      No wait, it’s there, but for some reason it’s been bumped down three spots… that’s weird!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      AMS Meeting Tonight!
      This entry was posted on Wednesday, January 23rd, 2013 at 12:02 am and is filed under Weather.

    • W7ENK says:

      From FOX 12 Weather Blog — Wed, 1/23/2013 at 11:02 PM

      This entry was posted on Wednesday, January 23rd, 2013
      at 12:02 am

      Hmmm… anyone else see the discrepancy? Me thinks someone’s server is having time sync issues.

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Hahaah! Giving me a good laugh this AM, W7!
      There is no discrepancy!

    • W7ENK says:

      No, look closely. It says it was posted at 12:02AM 1/23, but it didn’t actually post until 11:02PM 1/23. I think Mark posted it at 11:02PM last night, but the time on the server stamped it at 23 hours earlier, which is why it’s out of order. This post wasn’t here all day yesterday, it just showed up last night/this morning, hence the title “AMS Meeting tonight!” There was no AMS meeting last night, it’s tonight, the 24th. Amirite?

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      Obviously Mr. Nelsen is having issues figuring out the scheduling of posts. I scheduled it for 12:02 am but on yesterday’s date! So it posted several posts down. Interesting, I suppose that’s a way to slip in a fake post when I screw up the forecast.

    • Ben T says:

      Maybe you should make one of us a moderator. I kid I kid Mark ;)

    • W7ENK says:

      I knew it!! Thanks for pinning it to the top, Mark. Now don’t forget to unpin it after your next post. :lol:

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Thanks Mark.
      I just saw it move into 2nd place, and was gonna notify W7 that I give up trying to figure this one out!

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      Now I’m laughing at myself, W7! Was traveling yesterday, and lost the flow. Got some good grins outta it though! Hahaah!

    • Lurkyloo says:

      Mark, you could SO play yourself off that way (ssshhh, I won’t tell anyone)! ;)

  3. W7ENK says:

    I hope to make it tonight, but I’m starting to feel like crap — woke up with a mild headache that’s only been on the increase in the hour I’ve been at work… No ambition to get out of bed, missed my bus by ~one minute and had to burn gasoline for the first time this week driving to the Park-N-Ride. Managed to catch the same bus I missed, but it didn’t help the headache any. :(

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

