High Winds In the Gorge

Corbett just recorded a gust to 75 mph, which ties the highest of the winter and the strongest in a few years.  I’m sure no one is up there, but that means Vista House is up in the 100+ mph range now too.  A wild night in the Gorge setting you folks up for freezing rain tomorrow!

screenID005

 

79 Responses to High Winds In the Gorge

  1. Traci says:

    Freezing rain in Gresham tomorrow and if so, what time????

  2. For your information:
    Troutdale Elementary School: G 60mph

  3. flurball says:

    Inversions like this KPTV needs to put a “tower sensor” at Mills End Park instead of Counsil Crest Park

  4. New peak gust for me 44.2 mph @ 8:29 PM.
    32.2, dewpoint 16

  5. Brad says:

    KTPV tower temps, surface temps and QPF timing do not seem to support a widespread ZR event. Localized pockets in the west hills and east side seem to be your best bet.

    • Mark Nelsen says:

      The cold air is below 1,500′, so tower temps should stay warm through the night.

    • Brad says:

      As of 7 pm it’s almost 36F at 1400 ft., 31F at about 1000 ft. That’s a pretty shallow layer with the influx of Pacific air already working inland. Is the thinking that Gorge outflow is just enough to keep the lowest layers at/below freezing until mid-morning? Not seeing it.

    • Brad says:

      DPs are currently low to mid 20s so there is that….

    • Ryan says:

      Yea it’ll be cold enough until noonish I think, because the later the moisture arrives, the later the offshore flow ends and the south wind kicks in, right? Especially with no morning sun to warm things quicker.

    • Brad says:

      ..and just as I say that 8 pm tower temps show cooling at T2 and T3…so I guess we’ll see.

  6. Ryan says:

    Is Eugene getting anything right now? Radar shows pink all around the area.

  7. Mat the Salmon Killer says:

    Finally a turn of events. While I had all the snow in Dec it looks like I am going to miss out on everything this go around. I used to love the east wind out of the gorge in east Portland where I used to live. And the zr. Im jealous. Not gonna lie. Probably won’t be much there this go around but not done for the year im sure. Mark or rob, any kind of forecast for Redmond from you would be greatly appreciated. 24′ right now and dropping fast but fear there will be no moisture. A quick thought please?

  8. fishinpox02 says:

    I just spread ice melt around the apt complex….freezing rain threat officially negated

  9. M says:

    Are we still on for ZR in the morning? Any updates?

  10. Rusty (165th Beaverton 259') says:

    Bouncing between 33 and 34 here. Should be a safe drive to work at 6 am, though, just speculation.

  11. Lorraine says:

    Hi Mark – my daughters go to Corbett and my 4th grader is very interested in knowing how you predict the weather. I know you also have a child that goes there – do you ever do any weather presentations for the kids there?

  12. Carla Jones says:

    I live in springdale and I think the wind is stronger tonight than it has been for the last three days.

  13. Andrew (Beaverton...Murray Bldv....250 feet) says:

    Already seeing moisture move in off the coast….

  14. Fake cold, leading to fake wintry precip PDX to add insult to injury. It was nice up at government camp this wknd for sure, I had a great time. But that wasn’t winter, no matter how cold it was down below. Let’s get some decent winter back here for February.

  15. Marcus says:

    Currently @kmsp tempuature is 2Fwow that’s where our arctic air went!:(

  16. JJJ97222 says:

    75 and sunny all day in Austin tomorrow my inversion ended Monday in San Antinio for me!

  17. W7ENK says:

    It’s over, folks. :(

    KATU just played their “EMERGENCY BREAKING WEATHER ALERT WARNING EMERGENCY!!!” card again. Every time they’ve “issued” one of these things in the two years since they began this ridiculous program, they’ve successfully jinxed it, and nothing happened.

  18. TruckinAint4Sissies says:

    Well, this outta be fun, I roll thru HoodRiver at ~1100 (hrs). All I know is that it was the coldest morning we’ve had yet in Spokane [IMG]http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj112/Daniel_Madrid/IMAG1179.jpg[/IMG] same time 3 years ago it was -15°.

  19. runrain says:

    Very light wind here in Happy Valley, strangely.

  20. Ben T says:

    I sure wish an Arctic blast shows up. Give it another two weeks!

    • David B. says:

      Me too, but I’m getting increasingly pessimistic about there being one this year.

      I will do my part, though: I am about to make train reservations for a trip to Portland early next month. That should help ensure some sort of exciting weather, maybe a huge ice storm that brings trees down across the tracks and shuts down Amtrak.

  21. karlbonner1982 says:

    I’m so SICK of this fake cold and gloom END THIS INVERSION NOW!!!

  22. —– East Wind Storm Update —-
    6 PM TTD-DLS -10.9mb almost -11mb really impressive..

  23. Ben T says:

    I wonder how many people think freezing rain actually means snow. The average person.

  24. IceCold says:

    and 2nd

  25. I bet you to it, Mark by a few minutes :) … Thanks for the update regardless…..

    If this continues the NWS is going to have to issue a High Wind Warning for the Gorge(75mph gust criteria now met) and a Wind Advisory east of I-205 into Gresham-Troutdale-Fairview-Wood Village.

  26. IceCold says:

    1st

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

