Flurry Storm ’12 Update

2:20pm…

Well, the drive to work was a bit underwhelming from 1-2pm.  Looking at the radar I was hoping to at least see some good snow in the air.  But from Troutdale to Beaverton (east to west), I only saw a few light flurries and bare/dry ground the whole way, plus it was totally dry from downtown westward.    Flurries did just drop a dusting out in eastern Multnomah/Clark Counties east of I-205, but I just missed it.

I think my 10:30am update was a bit of a overforecast, it looks like very few of us even saw a dusting.  The one exception was the northwest part of Vancouver…take a look at the radar at around noon:

KPTV_Default

Notice the one yellow area (the only one that appeared today) was right over SR500 and Hazel Dell.  That’s the spot that actually saw some decent accumulation.  Here’s a closer view:

KPTV_Default2

You had to be within a couple of miles of that spot or farther north into Clark County to see anything other than a dusting.  Our SW Medical Center camera shows green grass and nothing even on the barkdust.  There’s little or nothing south of SR500 on I-5 or anywhere along I-205 south of the I-5 split. 

So yes, the worst of all possibilities has happened; it snowed at Steve Pierce’s house and almost nowhere else!  Here’s the “neener, neener, it snowed and my house and it’s just too bad it didn’t at yours!” picture to prove it from Steve!  The pic just shows a dusting, but I’ve seen reports of 1-2″ in the Salmon Creek area.

photo_stevepierce

Well, maybe next time for everyone else.

On another note, PDX officially recorded -SN (light snow) at the Noon observation; that means that’ll go down as the “first snowflake” at the Airport for the AMS contest from the Winter Weather Meeting.

Chief Meteorologist Mark Nelsen

88 Responses to Flurry Storm ’12 Update

  1. Snowstorm…….Late thursday friday morning. NEXT FRONT ARRIVES THURSDAY OR THURSDAY NIGHT. MODELS HAVE HIGH POPS
    ON THE COAST AND RANGE UP TO LIKELY OVER INLAND AREAS. WILL PROBABLY
    BOOST POPS FOR THIS SYSTEM. QPF IS NOT LIKELY TO AMOUNT TO MUCH.
    WITH COLD SURFACE TEMPERATURES AND LITTLE WIND…THERE IS LIKELY TO
    BE AT LEAST SOME LIGHT SNOW THURSDAY NIGHT AND FRIDAY MORNING. BURKE

  2. Ben T says:

    It’s nice having snow on the ground and it not melting right away. Anywho, any updates on the models?

  3. David Burnett says:

    Thanks, Mark!
    I was planning to ride from Gresham to Sandy via Lusted and Ten Eycke, but your snow ruined it.
    Well, maybe not. Perhaps I’m just to wimpy to bike in the snow.

  4. Jclack says:

    Occassional weather reporter… frequent lurker… thanks to all the posters who make this blog a must read just about daily… happy new year to all!

  5. Cap - HR says:

    We had about a half inch of snow down the Gorge, but its been below freezing all day, and that little bit of snow is now packed ice. It’s making for slick driving, and a driver has gone thru the guard rail and into the Columbia river down by Moiser. Let’s hope everyone made it out http://www.flashalert.net/news.html?id=1002

  6. Rich says:

    I realize this may not post till tomorrow since i have never posted before, but i want you all to know i appreciate all of your input on weather. I have followed this blog since the epic 2008. I hope everyone stays safe and has a happy new year! A toast to snow in PDX.

  7. JohnD says:

    We went to Seattle yesterday just for one night. 30’s and p. cloudy when we left. Coming back home to Portland on the train it began to snow significantly around Olympia or so. Absolutely scenic–I would estimate 1-3 inches. I was feeling optimistic but as the no snow for Portland weather gods would have it, it shut off like a curtain right at the edge of no. Vancouver. Really bizarre and frustrating. I swear I have no idea what it takes to get accumulating snow at sea level in Portland. A few flurries walking back from Union Station and 34′. I just hope–like all of us–that this is our year at SOME point!!!!!

  8. Marcus says:

    Anyone know what the ECMWF and GFS Ensembles showed as far as arctic potential

  9. Ben T says:

    Hey, was just wondering what everyone was doing on this fine New Year’s Eve Wintery-weathered evening(yes, I realize I said evening twice(so sue me haha!))

  10. W7ENK says:

    Extremely light snow and sleet falling in Milwaukie at the moment…

    • Take pictures, video, hand drawn sketches, make one of those action flip-books, draw graphic of it on MS Paint…. ummm

    • Lurkyloo says:

      What, did you move the dome to Yev’s after all? I was gonna offer to pay shipping. :)

    • W7ENK says:

      I tried Rob, but before I could get my camera out of my pocket and turn it on, it stopped sneeting, the sun came out and everything melted and evaporated away… :(

      Oh well, better luck next time. Just wait 10 days, right?

  11. cgavic says:

    Just a dusting in sandy at 1,100 ft.

  12. chris says:

    y’all should come to Columbia County for the snow!!!!

  13. Rick- north salmon creek says:

    Snowing STILL in north salmon creek area!!!! Nearly 2.5 inches on the ground, just measured. Going to be messy tomorrow AM with temps supposed to be 28 over night.

  14. Sifton says:

    Nothing really sticking but it’s been snowing light-medium for going on 5+ hours now.

  15. marcus says:

    Snow just ended here in La Center maybe a half inch to 3/4 ill take it had fun with the kids!

  16. Brad says:

    Snowing VERY light in Woodland, have about 1/2 inch… sticking to my porch and grass.. sadly its melting.. ):

  17. Tyler Mode in Battle Ground says:

    About an inch up here in Kelso but it had tapered off now.

  18. JJ97222 says:

    Nothing in Milwaukie a few stray flakes but the dome is holding, it is almost time for vodka tonics our last New Years here. The warmer dryer Texas climate should be interesting, kids are looking forward to the move after they get out school this summer. In Ground Pool is required on the property.

    Happy New Year All

  19. got about an inch here, still snowing.

  20. Davis says:

    Getting a light snow shower in Beaverton now. I hope the heavier stuff from up north makes it down here! Or maybe we’ll get some wrap-around from the east too!

  21. Daniel Hein says:

    Started on Prune Hill just after 1 p.m., up to nearly 3/4″ at 3:30 p.m., and coming down as hard as it has in the past two hours. Can’t believe it hasn’t reached Corbett yet.

  22. alohabb says:

    I think freezing temps are gonna be the real issue here. All the roads are getting wet with this faux snow, so its gonna be real slippery later!

  23. Longview - 400 ft says:

    2 inch total
    Light flakes still falling
    Currently 33.3 which is my high today.

  24. W7ENK says:

    Still nothing of any consequence in Downtown. I’m outta here in less than an hour. Once I get home, it can dump as much snow and ice as it wants! I’m hoping it wants to dump more than nothing… o_O

    In the meantime, just in case last night’s link to my 12/21/2012 timelapse video didn’t work (Facebook) for some people, here’s a better link from my G+ page:

    https://plus.google.com/photos/100884269675015162456/albums/posts/5828248502089976530

    Enjoy! :)

  25. East wind increasing as the low drops south about west of Newport or so. My dewpoint has abruptly crashed due to it back down to 27.

    Now it’s onto the east wind storm as I suspect TTD-DLS exceeds 10mb… I’m thinking due to all of the snow cover east side/Columbia Basin that the high will be stronger than models show and thus a stronger gradient.. Perhaps peaking 12mb. I can tell you this too, the east wind out there currently is a lot colder than yesterdays.

  26. swift says:

    THE 18Z GFS BRINGS BACK THE GOODIES. SNOWSTORM STARTING ON 1/9/13, THE EXACT DATE I GOT CIRCLED ON MY CALENDAR.

  27. alohabb says:

    If we get as cold as advertised its gonna be an icy mess tonight on the roads!

  28. Travis says:

    The snow that’s falling at the top of Cooper Mountain/Sexton Mountain area resembles what was called “snizzle” that fell in Wilsonville where I work.

    What is the difference exactly? Will this also be dubbed snizzle? My work place actually got a decent accumulation last year, more so then what I am hearing reported this event.

  29. shawnpippin says:

    The moisture is no longer moving from West to East but more North to South now, so that which was falling in Vancouver is now here in Cornelius and its coming down hard.

    • pappoose in scappoose says:

      I knew it would happen.
      Mark says it’s over, so it takes off again!
      Thanks Mark! Hahaah!

  30. dothgrin says:

    Thanks Mark! Your post actually helped the snow flurries to pick up in Aloha! We might get an hour of precip to make it at least festive.

  31. alohabb says:

    Snowing heavily in Cornelius now.

  32. Marc (East Vancouver) says:

    Heaviest snow of the day falling in East Vancouver. Sticking to everything. I was thinking it would be too dry for us in the east metro to get anything. Been snowing for the last 3 hours.

  33. Ben T says:

    According to the radar it looks like precipitation is about done in my area in Longview.

  34. Ryan says:

    Better than nothing!

  35. Marcus says:

    32° and still snowing in LA Center woo hoo But I think the moisture is just about done Here

  36. AlohaWeather says:

    Lightly Snowing in Aloha now :)

  37. Amber Gaerlan says:

    I am on 39th St and I-5 and I took a ruler out to my deck and we got 1/2 inch. Kids loved it.

  38. Ben T says:

    This sure is light snow; but at least we are seeing snow :)

  39. Christian says:

    got a trace here between 282 & Powell valley at Gresham, OR elevation 450ft

  40. David B. says:

    I’m still sticking to my (semi-scientific) forecast of an arctic blast in the latter half of January. I’d rather have the snow come then and stay for at least a few days then get my snow during a “here and gone” event like today will be (for those who got snow).

  41. I went out for lunch and it started snowing as we ate around 1 PM. It accumulated with a dusting from 181st Glisan to about Stark, but as I headed towards my house there wasn’t anything. Now it is snowing again with larger flakes. Kind of neat to see……

  42. Just enough to cover the (untraveled) roads and the grass in Gresham so far.

  43. W7ENK says:

    Hahaha! :lol:

    • W7ENK says:

      And I retract my previous statement about placing the Milwaukie dome on the West side over Yev’s house. I now know of a much more appropriate place to put it! :evil:

    • David B. says:

      The Dome has actually been over Seattle this month. Even Milwaukie has seen flakes on more days than we have.

    • W7ENK says:

      Actually, no. I’ve only seen 10 minutes of non-stick snowflakes in Milwaukie, whereas Seattle has already seen sticking snow this winter. At least many areas in and around Seattle did…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

